We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PAY 2 ENJOY 3 !
Ranked #21 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are new to Zurich, stay here as its very handy to the main station(shops underneath and COOP supermarket opposite) (go out back exit). It was a bit pricey but I was there during a convention time and it is Switzerland after all. I m a Swiss regular and this hotel has all the regular Swiss effficiency and style. Reception area is large but cosy and I never saw any waiting during my stay (it was full). They have a quirkey homestyle free apple juice dispenser by the lift which is appreciated. I upgraded to a superior room which was huge stylish and swiss themed. Free WI-FI worked very well. Nexpresso coffee machine and comp toblerone great. TV big and many ENG lang programs. Clean and quiet room . I appreciatted the 2 welcome drinks as an Accor silver member(yes Ive been given 1 by some accor hotels(WIEN JOSEFHOF) even when room is booked for 2 people. Lounge , Breakfast and bar area comfortable and spacey. Staff helpful and efficient.. We were very impressed. OH BTW nice walk down by the river in front of hotel and strange to see the change from the Bad old needle park days..If you are a tourist go to Sprungli on the Bahanhofstr. for chocolates and to eat Swiss food try Zeughauskeller where you will also see Wilhelm Tells crossbow

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Kawa47-sama,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am more than happy to share your excellent review with my team!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    515
    125
    24
    19
See reviews for
124
534
158
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight in Zurich in the Continental as part of our journey by train from London to Vienna. It is a very convenient walk from the station to the hotel and back next morning. The staff are very helpful.

We spent the afternoon walking around old town Zurich and down to the lake and enjoyed our brief stay in Zurich in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's a quick stroll from the main station (Zurich HB). Our first time in Zurich and my wife and 5 yrs old daughter loved the walk from station to hotel. Plenty of eateries nearby. Rooms were nice, clean, comfortable bed, good closet space, stocked up essentials and mini bar and decent sized. Helpful English speaking Reception staff, receptive to feedback and willing to go out of their way in making your stay comfortable. There was a slight delay in check-in and we're offered free drinks in their bar which was nice, not that we had time for it :). Morning breakfast was good with plenty of options, and they were quick in accommodating my daughters need. We loved the morning walk to the Zurcih HB right after breakfast, anything closer and you wouldn't enjoy; anything farther and you'ld use tram in which case a missed opportunity to enjoy a morning walk in awesome Zurich weather. In all probability, would book there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the M Gallery for 4 nights. We had a King Superior room. The room was large wit ha comfortable bed and nice sitting area. There were a few good TV channels in English (BBC's ITV's CNBC etc...) The bathroom could be a little bigger in compared to the size of the room. Really only one person can use bathroom at a time. This would not really be a problem if they had a desk area with a mirror so one person could use as a vanity while the other is showering. They gave it a feel of a Swiss chalet on the inside, and in the rooms, but the hotel is very modern looking from the street. This is not a big deal at all, just a little quirky. There is not much on the street for dining and entertainment, but the tram is right there to take you here you need to go.
The breakfast was done well, and the food was good and fresh. The service was attentive and the staff very friendly.

The location is ideal. It is not in the heart of the old district, but there is a tram right in front of the hotel that can get you there in minutes. It is also walking distance to the train station - although a hill from train station, so if you are just arriving with your luggage, take the tram.

Overall, it was a nice stay and really no major complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel Continental is close to Zurich HB, the central railway station. Within five minutes from the hotel there are tram and bus stops as well as water taxi stops. This made it easy to see most of Zurich. The reception staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Our room on the 5th floor (in what seemed as an annexe) was roughly 15 ft x 15 ft. The bed was very comfortable and they left a couple of bottles of water (free) when they cleaned the room. The coffee packages they provided made excellent coffee. The bathroom was great.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast which was included in our rate. Lucky for us since the breakfast costs 32 CHF (roughly $32)! It is one of the best spreads I have seen with various kinds of whole and cut fruit, eggs (omelets made to order), juices, meats etc., etc. The service in the breakfast area was exceptional.

Then why 4 stars and not 5? The day we were to leave Zurich, my wife fell in the room and it turned out to be a fracture in the hip area. We decided to return to the States the next day and had to extend our stay at the hotel. Our rate went up by 33%! The next morning after breakfast, the manager in the breakfast room asked me how I wanted to pay for the breakfast! Any amount of our explaining that the receptionist who booked the room had told us breakfast was included made any difference . Not wanting to make scene I said we will talk to the reception manager. The receptionist was more polite but still insisted on the charges. Finally his supervisor stepped in and said there will be no charge after all. We thought this was handled very poorly for an otherwise first class hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the main station, on tram route if you wish, and still managed to be quiet, comfortable, and welcoming. Food was good, room was clean and beds comfortable. Only thing turn shower select anti-clock! Clockwise overhead spray will wake you with a cold start! Reception staff very helpful with assistance in finding way around Zurich. Hotel runs a good training programme so don't be worried if Trainee serves you they did a great job.

Room Tip: If it bothers you go higher and to rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#26 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. from the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired décor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality…understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.