We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 Enjoy 3 !
Ranked #23 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was a well-placed and well appointed hotel that thought of all the little things that make a trip pleasant. The location was excellent an the bed was very comfy. The room was small, but adequate. Everything was immaculate and the staff was quite accommodating. The breakfast was delightful and plentiful. I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    524
    126
    25
    20
See reviews for
130
552
162
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for exploring Zurich on foot or by tram. It's a really easy walk from the train station which is easily accessible from the airport to save on pricey taxis. Room was really spacious with lovely touches such as coffee machine and chocolate on the pillow! Excellent experience on check in too. Breakfast was very expensive so we didn't have that, although probably the going rate for Zurich.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so we left our bags and went to do some sightseeing. We returned at 7 pm and had to wait as they weren't sure our room was ready yet!!
We eventually got in there and the room was tiny, not enough room for us to open both our suitcases at the same time!
Couldn't charge our phones or ipads as the plugs are very unusual and there were no adaptors available, the european ones we had didn't fit.
We were exhausted and were in bed at 8.30 and at 9.30 a knock on the door woke us to offer turn down service, not very happy as we had a 24 hr flight the next day. What's with turn down at that time of night?
However the tiny room was quite nice and the bed was very comfy.
The hotel isn't in the best position , a bit out of the way. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Europe which included 2 nights at the Hotel Continental. The hotel is in a great location to see the sights of Zurich. The rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller. The staff was friendly and helpful. We tried to use the courtyard for a bottle of wine one evening and were promptly told to get out as it wasn't wine from the hotel. Not very neighbourly at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had a very stately single room, which was very clean.

However, the hotel was a tad away from the main tourists spots and a bit of a hike from the train station (walkable, but it's a bit of a trek).

Only one elevator was working while I stayed here, and the repairs to the second elevator were somewhat of a disturbance both in terms of noise and inconvenience (but the repairs were being done mid-day, so it's not like they woke me up).

The front desk staff was fairly good but the staff's ability varied considerably from one to another.

My only real complaint is that while they were willing to store my suitcase before check-in, once I was able to formally check-in and request my luggage, it took a rather long time for the bellman to deliver it.

Also, the electrical outlets were very fancy. However, the ornamental design precluded me from plugging in my US power converter, so I wasn't able to charge any of my electronic devices while staying in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. from the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired décor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality…understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.