We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Location in Zurich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 Enjoy 3 !
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Location in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Compared to many hotels we priced in Zurich, this one was a relative bargain. It is an easy walk (less than 10 minutes) from the train station so you don't need to take a taxi, and the trainride from the airport is also quite short. The hotel is not on the Limmat River but is only about a 3 to 4 minute walk away and much less expensive than the waterfront lodgings. Our king room was very spacious, very comfy and very clean...nice shower! We experienced no noise from traffic and had a great night's sleep. Check-in was quick and easy and the desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. You can walk around Zurich's historic center easily from this location. Be sure to walk up to Lindenhof park where you will have a great view of the city and also take advantage of some great people-watching. We can heartily recommend the food at Cafe Odeon too. We did not expect it to be very good but were pleasantly surprised to be served a delicious meal by a friendly waiter. A short but very pleasant stay in Zurich!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I hope you had a safe trip back home from Zurich and I am delighted to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in lovely Zurich. It is important for us to receive a feedback from our guest. A positive review is always very motivating for the whole team. We try our best every day to make your stay as memorable as possible and I am glad that we sucdeeded. I hope that we will welcome you back in Zurich and in our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Imke Rohde - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    539
    131
    25
    20
See reviews for
131
564
165
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is very central 7 minutes from the main train station. Single rooms are small, but space is perfectly used. You have a wet bar, coffe making arrangements and a working desk, the bed is installed in such a way that it is not in the way of your normal space (working, dressing). The room is unconventional and small (very small for a 4 star) but I liked it. Bathroom is ok.

Staff is so-so. Noone speaks Swiss German and some even do not speak German. Their elevators were in maintenance, so I had to take the stairs (one elevator was usable, but very, very, very, very, very,very dirty). The room was not ready as I arrived and I arrived after check-in start.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback on tripadvisor. For your inconveniences regarding the elevators I apologize again, unfortunately renovation work is rarely done without some dirt & dust, but our housekeeping team is on hand to make it as convenient as possible. Of course I have also noted your remark regarding the lack of "Schwyzerdüütsch" and I do apologize you happened to stay with us during the summer period where we have more exchange trainees on hand. I hope that the international "Röschtigrabe" won't keep you from your next stay with us. Sincerely, Monica Vögeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very well located, near historic center and just 5 minutes on foot from train station. Rooms full of space, comfortable beds, impecable service. Even the rooms facing the street are quiet due to very good windows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I am delighted to read about your memorable stay with us. Thank you for writing about your wonderful experience on tripadvisor, I'll make sure my team receives your compliments. Best regards from Zurich, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are looking for a charming, swiss style and well located, Continental Hotel is your place. Near the station and the main commercial street, with a good size room and comfortable bed, old design style nice bathroom and I recommend to have breakfast there: good quality food and variety.
Staff could be more attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your room and our Grand breakfast. At the same time I apologize for your inconveniences regarding our staffs attention. Please be assured that I will take appropriate measures. Thank you for your honesty and I look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my honeymoon, this turned out to be best hotel (out of 4 hotels in different cities) where we stayed in Switzerland. We have booked Urban Swiss Superior King room at this hotel. Room was nice and spacious, though not well lit. Bed was comfortable and big. Coffee maker was good with multiple choices offered in coffee flavors. Shampoo, conditioner etc in the bathroom were Chopard brand, which my wife found quite impressive. However, bathtub did not have a curtain and they only have half glass door. They also offered complimentary chocolates on our first night there. They also had complimentary apple juice in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Anshul, I hope you had spent a memorable honeymoon in Switzerland and I am very happy to hear, that you liked us the most. The coffee maker and the Ipod station are provided in all of our Kingsize Superior rooms and I am glad that you enjoyed this service. We are always pleased and honored when Honeymooners book our hotel and I hope we will see you and your wife again for your anniversary. All the best to you, Imke Rohde - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were greeted warmly and profusely as we staggered in the door after a 10 hour journey to arrive at this hotel which is an easy 5 minute walk from the main station. I wanted to get a taxi but would have been foolish to do so. Our room was a Standard King and the room was quite large and comfortable, lots of timber finishes which made it even cosier. Large shower stall and generous replenishment of shampoo, soaps, body lotion each day. Bed and pillows were super comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was superb, lovely bircher muesli, eggs/omelette to order, cheeses, fruit, along with bacon, sausages, baked beans, meat & salmon plates, along with freshly baked apple pie! The only establishment I've been in that has Villeroy and Bosch for serve ware!!! Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. A little removed from the old town on both sides of the Limmat River, but only by a 5-10 minute walk. Consider this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest, I am delighted that you took your time to share your experiences. I really appreciate your compliments and will definteley share them with the whole team at Hotel Continental. We always try our best to offer you an excellent service and your feedback is the best reward we could get. I hope you had a safe trip back home and we can welcome you again soon. Best regards, Imke Rohde - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zurich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. from the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired décor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality…understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.