We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, homely delightful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Quirky, homely delightful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great location an easy 10 min pretty flat walk from the main train station. Unique style and very Swiss and professional staff, everything as it should be. Nice free local swiss apple juice in the lobby. Amazing breakfasts, huge variety and excellent quality. A nice change from chain hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
What a delightful review, thank you for posting it. I am very happy you enjoyed our The Grand breakfast buffet, which is really something we put a lot of thought an effort into it. I'll gladly forward your compliments to my team. Thank you and best regards, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    621
    156
    27
    20
See reviews for
147
650
178
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

In the words of the great Michael McDonald: They keep forgettin'…about your basic needs. Again and again.

For example checking in. We arrived at 2.20pm and knew we were 40 minutes early but hoped we could get our room since we traveled by train for a few hours. They told us that our room would hopefully be ready in half an hour and a few minutes after 3pm I walked over to the front desk to ask if it was ready. No it was not. And they assured me that they would inform us as soon it was.

50 minutes more went by and I walked over once again and this time I could hear on the girl's voice that she's forgotten about us 'cause now suddenly, at that very moment, it was ready. As it surely had been for a while. Well, stuff happens, no worries. But not the best start.

Up to the room and everything about it was fine, except we wanted to order foam pillows for the neck since they had those on the "pillow menu" and we've been sleeping on terrible pillows at The Ramada in Engelberg for 3 nights. Called housekeeping, no answer. Called the front desk and they confirmed they would send te pillows up. Went out on the town for a while, no pillows when we came back. Called down again and they would fix it immediately.

Now late in the evening and still no pillows and as we went out with our dog for the last walk we asked at the front desk again and this time new pillows were in our room when we came back. Unfortunately it was not neck pillows. We chose not to call them again that night.

The next day we told them about the pillows again and this time they came by with a neck pillow but only one. Well, we were leaving the day after so we didn't care to bother about the issue anymore.

When we booked the hotel we did it mainly because they allowed dogs and because of the proximity to the central station. So we knew the area wasn't particularly nice and yes, it was really grey and boring on a busy street. But other nicer areas are not far, so this was no biggie, but if we visit Zürich again we will check for other hotels. First and foremost because of the location actually. Cause the forgettin'-business could really happen anywhere and I'm guessing we really were just very unlucky this time. But I can't give them more than a 3 out of 5 counting in all aspects. Over and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
First of all I would like to express my sincere apologies for the chain reaction of misshaps regarding your pillow request. I will certainly look into the matter with my front office team as well as my housekeeping team in order to improve this nonfunctional miscommunication. For your inconveniences I am really sorry and hope you accept my sincere apology. Best regards, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice hotel close to the main railway station, main shopping street and center. Excellent service and hospitality. I would recommend for anybody who is looking for quiet, comfortable hotel close to Zurich downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback on tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon, sincerely, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our travel agent and they didn't let us down! A bit expensive, as we expected in Switzerland , but worth it. The staff were excellent, the room was small but lovely, the breakfast brilliant. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you had a memorable stay with us and I will gladly forward your compliments to my team. Best regards, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were with a post-River-Cruise group in May, 2013 and stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel staff did a great job organizing and delivery our luggage. And hotel accommodation was good. Because we were a large group of guests, we were divided by 3 time slots for breakfast that was reasonable. However, the buffet staff allowed us exactly only 50 minutes to eat (they even came to inform us that our time was up.) That was not a good impression for many of us. Overall, it was a good hotel for travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. While I understand your point regarding the breakfast time slots, it is the only way we can manage to serve breakfast to all of our guests. We are a small boutique hotel with limited space, as you experienced yourself and to seperate guests from others is just not in our spirit of hospitality. For your inconveniences I extend my sincere apologies. Sincerely, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed with a large tour group. We found this to be a warm, friendly, beautiful hotel. We prefer small boutique style hotels and this fit the bill - some in our group were disappointed as they prefer the large hotels with big spaces and large rooms We loved the well appointed rooms and the fact that they felt warm and intimate. The breakfast room is very warm and cozy - the food is outstanding and the service superb. I would love to know what brand of coffee they serve (I forgot to ask the food Mgr. - Peter - I call him Peter the Great. He is Great in stature and service) The china is lovely as are tables and the setting. The 'living room' just outside the breakfast area is also a lovely venue to talk or just relax.
Our room was 'small' by US standards but we found it more that adequate and very cozy.
The bed was outstanding, the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
They also have a wonderful patio/garden area between the 2 wings of the Hotel - a hidden treasure for sure -
The hotel is a short walk from the train station and old town - we never felt unsafe walking to or from here - day or night.
I would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for having taken the time to write about your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed memorable moments with us and I will make sure to forward your compliments to Peter and his team. By the way: we serve Nespresso coffee (because George Clooney can't be wrong :-) Looking forward to your next visit, best regards from Zurich, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived into Zuerich HB and easierly made our way to this hotel by walking (even with two large suitcases - four wheel versions). Upon arrival our room wasnt ready, however the welcome reception we received from Caroline was extremely warm and apologetic. We simply relaxed in the foyer on comfortable sofas, sipping away on refreshing apple juice and caught up on the free WiFi. Our room was very spacious with great amenities. After two weeks in Europe we received our first turn down service, which was a pleasant surprise. The menu in the restaurant was a little limited but the friendly and attentive service by the young waiteress certainly made up for it. Overall a very pleasant stay. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. I am most delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly forward your compliments to Caroline and the restaurant team. We look forward to welcome you back, best regards, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Zurich
#11 Family Hotel in Zurich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#30 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. From the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. Drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired decor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality...Understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.