We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of less attractive hotels I've ever stayed at” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 Enjoy 3 !
Ranked #23 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Paris, France
Top Contributor
660 reviews 660 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“One of less attractive hotels I've ever stayed at”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well, M Gallery room has a bed, a shower and a desk, so probably qualifies as a hotel but frankly it is one of less attractive hotels I've ever stayed at (and I do spend some 200 nights/year on the road). While I usually agree with latin maxime de gustibus non est disputandum, in this case it looks like the decoration, furniture and overal design were made by three worst ranked architectes - total lack of style, oldish and uncomfortable furniture and overall design not in line with a hotel located downtown Zurich. Rooms are small, but then for one night it is enough but there is not a single electricity socket next to the desk (not to mention that they are all barely usable, of old local type, not accepting modern appliances).
In a nutshell, there is nothing wrong with this hotel, apart from the fact that you really do not want to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    541
    131
    26
    20
See reviews for
131
569
165
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is short walk from train station.If you go to info office in train station they will show you on map how to get there.Room clean and bed very comfortable We were lucky to have upgrade and free wifi which was great.Checkin and checkout very efficient.Sunday breakfast was wonderful.You could have breakfast til 2.30pm.Champagne and very good selection of food.Drinks at bar were served with small quiche .Only had breakfast there and went out for evening meal.Went to Marriott not far from hotel to Echo restaurant which was very expensive but food and experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor. I shall certainly forward your compliments to my team. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Санкт-петербург, Россия
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Hotel really has a charm of Chalet, rooms of high quality and well sound insulation. Breakfast was very good. Location is convinient 10 minutes to Bahnhofstrasse. Personnel was very efficient. Parking for reasonable price, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed a memorable stay with us and I will gladly forward your compliments to my team. Thank you for having taken the time to review us. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were looking for moderate price to explore the city, and here it is. Good location - truly 10 minutes to the central station. Nice and comfortable room. Funny, stylish old elevators. Quick chech-in. Free farmers apple juice in lobby was nice point. Smokers could go to inner yard:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Gruezi & thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Positives
Helpful check in
Friendly assistançe for tram and map location given
Very clean
Good in room ameneties including kettle
Quiet
Good location

Negatives
Breakfast buffet way over priced for the average quality
Room service food also overpriced but friendly service and helpful throughout
Room smallish and no bath tub

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
First of all, thank you for your honest feedback, which is really appreciated and helps us to improve our quality of service. For future reference I'd like to inform you that we do have rooms with bathtubs, just indicate this with your reservation. As for the breakfast, we do have several options starting with an express breakfast for CHF 11.-. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Quite well located, walking distance to main train station and a bit more to main commercial street. Tourist typical places and restaurants at walkign distance (but not in same street). Good rate price value.
Staff very friendly. Rooms quite good (I've been 6 weeks each time on different one), few of them impresive, only once was smaller (but still space for desk and armchair).
Breakfast very good (but not cheap, 32 CHF for buffet).
All hotel has a nice decoration, in a warn, confortable and traditional style (forget about cold steel and fashion design)
Missing a swiming pool or fitness to be perfect choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing us on tripadvisor. I'll certainly forward your compliments to my team. Coming from a regular guest, it is the best reward for our daily efforts. Thank you for having taken the time to do so. Sincerely, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my wife experienced a few problems while staying at the Continental Zurich. The phone in the room was mute. Then, the Nespresso machine was not working properly. There was a thick layer of dust on the back of the magnifying mirror, as well as on the top of the bedside radio.
On the bright side, the breakfast buffet was great and the staff was attentive and made efforts to please us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am very sorry for the technical issues and the dust in your room; please accept my sinere apologies. I'll certainly look into the matter with my housekeeper and my engineer. Best regards, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zurich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#30 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. from the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired décor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality…understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;