We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of less attractive hotels I've ever stayed at” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only On: 10% discount
Ranked #36 of 132 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,267 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“One of less attractive hotels I've ever stayed at”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well, M Gallery room has a bed, a shower and a desk, so probably qualifies as a hotel but frankly it is one of less attractive hotels I've ever stayed at (and I do spend some 200 nights/year on the road). While I usually agree with latin maxime de gustibus non est disputandum, in this case it looks like the decoration, furniture and overal design were made by three worst ranked architectes - total lack of style, oldish and uncomfortable furniture and overall design not in line with a hotel located downtown Zurich. Rooms are small, but then for one night it is enough but there is not a single electricity socket next to the desk (not to mention that they are all barely usable, of old local type, not accepting modern appliances).
In a nutshell, there is nothing wrong with this hotel, apart from the fact that you really do not want to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is short walk from train station.If you go to info office in train station they will show you on map how to get there.Room clean and bed very comfortable We were lucky to have upgrade and free wifi which was great.Checkin and checkout very efficient.Sunday breakfast was wonderful.You could have breakfast til 2.30pm.Champagne and very good selection of food.Drinks at bar were served with small quiche .Only had breakfast there and went out for evening meal.Went to Marriott not far from hotel to Echo restaurant which was very expensive but food and experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank travelloverover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor. I shall certainly forward your compliments to my team. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Санкт-петербург, Россия
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Hotel really has a charm of Chalet, rooms of high quality and well sound insulation. Breakfast was very good. Location is convinient 10 minutes to Bahnhofstrasse. Personnel was very efficient. Parking for reasonable price, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank koralla35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed a memorable stay with us and I will gladly forward your compliments to my team. Thank you for having taken the time to review us. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for moderate price to explore the city, and here it is. Good location - truly 10 minutes to the central station. Nice and comfortable room. Funny, stylish old elevators. Quick chech-in. Free farmers apple juice in lobby was nice point. Smokers could go to inner yard:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Gruezi & thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Positives
Helpful check in
Friendly assistançe for tram and map location given
Very clean
Good in room ameneties including kettle
Quiet
Good location

Negatives
Breakfast buffet way over priced for the average quality
Room service food also overpriced but friendly service and helpful throughout
Room smallish and no bath tub

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunE45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
First of all, thank you for your honest feedback, which is really appreciated and helps us to improve our quality of service. For future reference I'd like to inform you that we do have rooms with bathtubs, just indicate this with your reservation. As for the breakfast, we do have several options starting with an express breakfast for CHF 11.-. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Quite well located, walking distance to main train station and a bit more to main commercial street. Tourist typical places and restaurants at walkign distance (but not in same street). Good rate price value.
Staff very friendly. Rooms quite good (I've been 6 weeks each time on different one), few of them impresive, only once was smaller (but still space for desk and armchair).
Breakfast very good (but not cheap, 32 CHF for buffet).
All hotel has a nice decoration, in a warn, confortable and traditional style (forget about cold steel and fashion design)
Missing a swiming pool or fitness to be perfect choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV2013_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing us on tripadvisor. I'll certainly forward your compliments to my team. Coming from a regular guest, it is the best reward for our daily efforts. Thank you for having taken the time to do so. Sincerely, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my wife experienced a few problems while staying at the Continental Zurich. The phone in the room was mute. Then, the Nespresso machine was not working properly. There was a thick layer of dust on the back of the magnifying mirror, as well as on the top of the bedside radio.
On the bright side, the breakfast buffet was great and the staff was attentive and made efforts to please us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarioRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am very sorry for the technical issues and the dust in your room; please accept my sinere apologies. I'll certainly look into the matter with my housekeeper and my engineer. Best regards, Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#27 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#63 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#35 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Zurich
#40 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#10 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#32 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing