We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zurich Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Zurich Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Zurich Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Clean modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This is a tall, multi-story chain hotel located along the Limmat river 15 minutes walk (with rolling luggage) from the central train station. You can also get there by tram #11 or #14 Stampfenbachplatz stop. These trams can also take you to the city center within minutes.
Room and bathroom are decent sized, clean, modern with air conditioning. Good weekend rates but does not include breakfast. Check-in and out is efficient. Consider staying if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    379
    136
    32
    13
See reviews for
176
332
65
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zoids
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed here for a night and two days in Zurich before returning home after a week long holiday in Switzerland. I was very nicely surprised with the standard of this hotel. The interiors, facilities and service are all very 5 star. The bedroom was great with two double beds, multi channel TV and a very nice bathroom. The staff were very friendly and advised on best bars & restaurants for us to try. Hotel bar very modern with polite and fast service. Location of hotel was perfect. A short 5 minute walk through the park or along the river from the old town and the central railway station. Overall given the price I paid I really don't think we could have done better than this hotel. Thanks to all at the Zurich Marriot. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed two nights at this hotel, reserved for the standard room but got upgraded to corner suite room. We loved the view of Zurich from our room.

This is only hotel we stayed in Zurich so I can't compare with other hotels but by looking at it, this was one of few tall buildings in Zurich from the train station.

Room was spacious and very clean, their free chocolates were very good :-)
They have an exec lounge but it was on the first floor (somewhat odd location) but breakfast and dinner snacks were all very good.

Location is about 10~15 minutes walk from the main train station, it wasn't very far but still at night, I wished that it was more close to train station (main downtown).

Overall, my wife and I, we enjoyed the hotel, because of their excellent service and our room. The building itself was little old but well maintained, I don't mind staying this hotel again but next time, I would like to try hotels more close to the lake.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

The Marriott Zürich is my hotel of choice when visiting this area. It is not cheap, but offers good value by Swiss standards, it is quiet, friendly, close to the main railway station and the restaurants serve excellent meals.
One tip if arriving by train - take the new exit down the stairs at the far end of the platforms - follow signs to Sihlquai and trams 4/13 - walk down Sihlquai and over the two river bridges - this cuts out the chaos of the station’s main concourse and is less than 10 minutes walk to the hotel.
And that's one thing that you have to remember about this hotel - you do need to take a short walk to city and transportation and there's no convenient tram stop.
The welcome at Reception is always friendly and the service efficient. Despite the size of the hotel, I have rarely been kept waiting.
The hotel consists of the main 19-storey Tower and the "North Wing" which is a separate building across the road and connected by a covered walkway. The main drawback of the North Wing is getting there – this involves taking the lift from the main reception to the 4th of floor of the Tower, then across the walkway and another lift to the room. It is a pity this block doesn’t have its own direct entrance which could also provide convenient access to a couple of tram routes.
The rooms in the Tower were refurbished a few years back. However apart from a “clean-up” the main visible signs are slightly more modern furnishings and a large flat screen television (the North Wing still has very old-fashioned sets).
Comparing rooms between the Tower and the North Wing, rooms in the Tower have several large windows and are consequently very much lighter; the down-side is that with the sun on that volume of glass during the day means that the rooms get really hot and you need to keep the air-conditioning running.
I find it odd that when they refurbished the bathrooms in the Tower, only walk-in showers were provided and there is no bath tub. These are not even power-showers and the water temperature can change from ice cold to boiling in a few seconds.
The other retrograde step from the refurbishment is that the swimming pool and jacuzzi are no more; such facilities can reasonably be expected from a hotel of this category and I suspect that profit on other uses of the floor space took priority.
The rooms are spacious and the beds are, as with most Marriotts, really comfortable. There is a room safe provided; this is located in the space immediately above the mini-bar, so anything left in there for several hours will get quite warm. No bath robe is provided (although they will send one up on request); again this is something I would expect from this category of hotel.
A moan about the mini-bars! These are the old fashioned type with no automatic sensors. That is good from the perspective that you can store your own items in the fridge. On the downside. I regularly seem to have mini-bar items appear on my bill and I think it is because it may take a day or two before the stock is thoroughly checked and you may get charged for what a previous occupant has consumed; having said that there is never any argument about refunding the charges. The other moan is that items are not just in the fridge but scattered in baskets and shelves throughout the room; don’t think anything on the side is complementary! This means that a lot of space which could be used by the guest is taken up by these items.
Evening turn-down service can be a bit erratic; sometimes the room and bathroom get freshened and on other days this consists little more than folding down a corner of the duvet and providing a chocolate.
There is a good Executive Lounge serving breakfast, hot and cold drinks throughout the day and snacks and wine in the evening. Occasionally it can get crowded but usually there are plenty of free tables. A minor niggle is the coffee machine –this has been “hit and miss” for some considerable time; I am not sure whether the machine is not fit for purpose or the staff don’t know how to use it properly. Drinks can be too strong or very weak and the milk supply erratic. This really should be a problem that a hotel can resolve either with their supplier or their staff (or both).
There are a choice of two restaurants, one serving Thai food and the other a more traditional Swiss menu. The Thai Restaurant (White Elephant) has a wide range of dishes from mild to very hot, and a good selection of fresh seafood. The soups are excellent. It would be nice if they served prawn crackers when you sit down (equivalent to the bread in the Swiss restaurant); having nothing until your starter arrives seems poor for a good-quality restaurant; likewise a chocolate or similar with the bill would be a nice touch. The Swiss Restaurant (Echo) scores on both of these points. You get excellent hot and crusty bread with herb butters when you sit down. Try the steak on a hot stone to cook to your own liking if you want a real treat. And then wait for the sound effects with the bill! Excellent quality and service in both restaurants but expect to pay SFr 75-100 per person – which for this type of Swiss restaurant in a hotel is not that bad. Room service menu provides options from both Thai and Swiss menus plus the usual burgers, etc. I have always found food served promptly and is always warm and well presented.
All in all, I think you get what you pay for here – a good quality hotel within walking distance of the station and shops with good, friendly Swiss hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I would like to preface this review by stating that I am a frequent traveler of Marriott hotels in the US.

I stayed here during a recent vacation to Zurich in August. The hotel is in decent shape, clean, and has all the amenities you would expect from a Marriott. My only wish was that the rooms were a little more updated. Not to worry, everything was very clean even though it was older. The hotel is located on the river about 1/2 mile from the main shopping area. It is also a few blocks away from the trolley station. We walked to and from the sights in the old city and the main shopping area. Depending on your level of tolerance for walking, this may be too far for some people. For us it was just fine to walk 1 mile or more from our hotel.

Other info about misc fees:
Parking in the hotel garage is expensive so be prepared to pay if you have a rental car with you. I believe it was around $40 (give of take a few dollars) per night which can add up fast. Another painful items is the wireless internet which is about $35 per day. You can get free internet access in the business center.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel for people staying in Zurich who are looking for all the modern conveniences of a large name brand chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Nestled in the center of Zurich is this centrally located business hotel, the Mariott. It is just a short 10 minute walk from Zurich’s main train station (which also has a direct line to the airport) or a 5 minute cab ride. Unknowing how close it was to the train station, we paid 20CHF for the taxi to hotel, but did not make the same mistake upon our departure.
We booked our hotel using Marriott points, so the room was essentially free. If you are looking to stay here, I would definitely recommend web shopping over paying a rack rate. If you are penny pinching, Zurich may not be the city for you as it can be quite expensive.

Upon our arrival to the hotel, we noticed the smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby. (This will no longer be a problem because as of July 1st, it is illegal to smoke inside public buildings),but were quickly distracted from this as we were greeted by the friendly, business like desk clerks who checked us in and answered our questions about the area.
The room was spotless (as was the hotel) , spacious and comfortable with a view of the river and the adjacent park. Among the amenities in the room were a hair dryer, work desk with both dial up or wireless internet connection (for a fee), toiletries, wet bar, coffee maker with both tea and coffee, a/c and satellite TV. The bed was very comfortable with foam pillows (feather pillows were available upon request). The bathroom had a shower with adjustable stream. We found the shower floor to be a problem because it was a granite type surface which when wet, was extremely slippery. We would have liked to have seen some non-slip surface or a bar to help hold onto to prevent slipping.
There were two restaurants and a bar (none of which we visited). If you want an American style breakfast, expect to pay upwards of $20 per person. A lower cost option is to purchase fruit at the Coop grocery store located across from the train station and/or bring cereal bars or instant oatmeal which can be made using the coffee maker to heat water. The market also has a hot steam table/snack bar with several hot items ready to eat. In our case, we were given a pass to the “Executive Lounge” which we were told had a light breakfast. It featured eggs, bacon, hash browns, breads, yoghurt, fruit, meats, cheeses and cereals all free of charge with the pass. Throughout the day it also provided complementary beverages, wine, beer, snacks and in the evening hot appetizers. This was a great bonus as it saved us significantly by not having to purchase all of our meals.
A few negatives were that when walking to the hotel, you need to access pedestrian foot tunnel under the traffic bridge since the hotel is located on a busy street. Additionally, though there was ice available “upon request” it would have been nice to have a machine on the floor for the guests to access.

We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again should our travels bring us to Zurich again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed 4 days at the Zurich Marriott in early June. The rooms were large, the beds were great. Great service, great rooms, services. Very Clean.

Located an easy 10-min walk from the main train station (don't walk w/ suitcaes!), so easy to get anywhere in the region. Also close to the main shopping street, but almost everything was priced way above our budget.

The concierge staff was great.

The Swiss restaurant at the hotel was good, but horribly over-priced. There are many local restaurants nearby with more reasonable food. The train station had several.


The only suggestion for improvement we would have, is for the staff to be less formal, less stiff, relax a little, for the guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zurich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Marriott Hotel

Address: Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zurich Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zurich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Zurich
Marriott zürich
zürich Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zurich Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.