We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and bees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zurich Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Zurich Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Zurich Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #74 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smelly and bees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 1 night last Saturday. when we came into the room we were greeted by a strong smell of new wood or furniture. (Renovations completed!) When I tried to open a window I could not and had to ask reception for help. They sent up a maintenance man to release the security lock off the window. When I looked outside I saw 5 beehives out on a roof covered by grass and wild flowers, just outside the window on floor 25. Go figure. It was really the 5th floor. Apparently they cultivate bees and harvest their honey. Beware. The parking garage is very tight. Pay attention when moving around it. You will have to walk a while to get food if you prefer to get it outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors to get the views and stay clear of the bees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottZurich, Guest Relations Manager at Zurich Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear buybuy58,

Thank you very much for your review of the Zurich Marriott Hotel.

Please rest assured the smell of the newly renovated rooms has been investigated and eliminated.
Our bees do indeed craft our honey and the honey of the Gin N°42, which will be served in our Bar & Lounge. Valet parking is available 24 hours for all our guest for your convenience.
Within 10 minutes walking, you are at the major highlights of Zurich, the Old Town, Main Train station, Bahnhofstrasse, Grossmünster and Paradeplatz and various restaurants to enjoy.

Thank you once again for your comments

With kind regards

Markus Anhuth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a perfect location for sightseeing, being close to restaurants, tram & bus links & the main railway station is not far away. The staff were super efficient, friendly & spoke perfect English. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, well up to Marriott standard, & our newly renovated rooms were spacious & comfortable with working air-con in April! Parking was expensive, but possible under the hotel, which was a necessity for us. My only complaint was the lack of free WiFi, even in the public areas. We are Marriott card holders, but having booked through a third party, it was still not available to us anywhere in the hotel. This was a small, but disappointing flaw to our stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottZurich, Guest Relations Manager at Zurich Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Claire J,

Thank you for your lovely review and highlighting the service as well as our great location.

We do currently offer free Wi-Fi in all public areas and there are certain room rates that do have internet included. Further all Marriott Rewards Members who book directly via Marriott have the Wi-Fi included, so please feel free to contact us directly if we may beof assitance for your next reservation in Zurich.

With sunny regards

M. Anhuth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Marriott is in a good location for seeing the city. It was easy to take a train from the airport and then walk the few blocks taking the sidewalks next to the park or the river. I had a newly renovated room, the beds and lines comfortable and clean. My only complaint was the plugs. As the room was newly renovated the electrical outlets were abundant (good) however they were so recessed that my European adapters became stuck in them and I had to have maintenance remove with pliers. The front desk people were great. I never timed it right to speak to the concierge, but had the good fortune of havig Klaus (front desk) take time to answer questions, give suggestions, mark our map, plus he cheerful and was always happy to share info on his town. If you're fortunate to have access to the executive lounge I found it quite good for breakfast and the evening cocktail hour was a nice reprieve after a day of site seeing. The staff in the lounge was great at keeping things neat and tidy and food items full.
Again, I thought the location was good. Very close to the train station and other public transportation. It was walkable to old town, the shopping area and the lake, I never took a cab, although they were quite available if needed.
I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottZurich, Guest Relations Manager at Zurich Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear konorth,

The time you invested in writing a review about the Zurich Marriott Hotel is highly appreciated and we were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Zurich Marriott Hotel and that you specifically enjoyed the personalized service our hosts provided! We were pleased to read from your comments that you enjoyed the excellent, central location of our property.

Should your travels bring you back to Zurich, it would be an honor to welcome you back to the Zurich Marriott Hotel. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

With warmest regards

M. Anhuth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in last week of March. As Marriott member it was a a easy pick. Location is great, close to city centre and railway station. Staff, courteous and warm, checking was smooth. We were offered a room for early checkin, albeit not what we asked for. Problem was with hotel condition, they had some renovation going on and it looked bit messy.We were offered room in the building at the rear with very inconvenient access. Rooms although nice, were not upto Marriott standard. Barring staff attitude and service, which was really good, Overall an average Marriott experience.

Room Tip: Look for rooms overlooking limmat river in mail building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottZurich, Guest Relations Manager at Zurich Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Deepak S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via Tripadvisor, following your recent stay at the Zurich Marriott Hotel.

It was most gratifying to learn, that during your stay you enjoyed our hotel’s facilities and services, though we were distressed to understand from your rating and comments that you were disappointed that our main building was under renovation. We are delighted to inform you that all renovations have finished and we are very excited of this major transition of guest rooms. We would be delighted to welcome you back to one of the new Marriott rooms during your next visit in Zurich.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back at the Zurich Marriott Hotel in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

M. Anhuth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Zurich Marriott is located within walking distance of old town, the major shopping district and the lake (although the lake is close to 30 minutes walk.) The front desk and lobby staff are some of the best I have seen. Very helpful, pleasant, knowledgeable, accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottZurich, Guest Relations Manager at Zurich Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear marinamabpk,

Thank you for your “fabulous” review of the Zurich Marriott Hotel.

We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed the service you received throughout your stay. We shall certainly share your comments with all our hosts from Front Office.

Please do let us know if you are planning to come back to Zurich. We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Zurich Marriott Hotel.

Warm regards,
S.Oprea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel throughout the US and globally for work and for holiday. I stay at a mix of both business and luxury hotels. For the purposes of this review, I am rating it relative to other hotels in the business category (Marriott, Westin, Hyatt).

Overall, the newly remodeled rooms have made a significant difference. The room was very clean and the new look made the rooms feel much more contemporary. Some of the choices were solid (new shower), others like the lack of closet doors felt a little budget.

Food in the lounge was better than most Marriott hotels. I normally just grab something quick in the lounge and then head out for a proper breakfast. Here, I found the offerings sufficient for a full breakfast.

The hotel is a quick seven minute walk to the train station. It sits in a bit of an odd area, without a ton of neighboring restaurants. I would either plan to eat in the hotel (OK food) or eat nearby the train station/banhofstrasse area.

I think the hotel is a solid, if not unremarkable, choice for business trips to Zurich.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottZurich, Guest Relations Manager at Zurich Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear YGlobalTraveller,

Thank you very much for your very generous comments following your recent stay at Zurich Marriott Hotel.

We are very pleased indeed to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and that you particularly liked our walk in rain shower and the offerings in the Executive Lounge.

We do hope you will get the change to come back again soon.

Best regards,
S.Oprea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our first time in Zurich and our experience there was great. We stayed at the Marriott, which is conveniently located within walking distance to old town. Our room, 2908, had an amazing view of the river and the old town. The hotel has a small but complete fitness Center, where you can also enjoy the sauna after a long day of sight seeing. We really enjoyed that. We had access to the lounge, where we had our breakfasts and small bites in the evening. The food was good and varied. The staff were very friendly. We will definitely stay here again in the future and highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottZurich, Guest Relations Manager at Zurich Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dolores R,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Zurich Marriott Hotel. We are delighted to hear that we offered you a memorable experience during your first time in Zurich.

It is such a great pleasure that you enjoyed our facilities, including the 24 hours Fitness Center, the sauna and the offerings in the Executive Lounge.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to the Zurich Marriott Hotel.

Best regards,
S.Oprea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zurich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Marriott Hotel

Address: Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zurich Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel brilliantly with a stay at the Zurich Marriott Hotel, where guests are welcomed with impressive designs, high-tech amenities and recently renovated guest rooms. Maintaining a bold presence in Zurich along the banks of the River Limmat, the hotel's city center location near the train station makes it an ideal destination for blending work and play as guests can easily access the downtown business district as well as top attractions. Offering intuitive service, guests enjoy complimentary Internet access in public areas, on-site restaurants and a 24-hour fitness center. Smartly designed to ensure travelers have everything needed for a remarkable, eco-friendly stay, guest rooms and suites of this ISO 14001 hotel feature 24-hour room service and wireless connectivity for up to 6 devices. An ideal setting for hosting inspirational Zurich meetings and social events, the hotel's event space includes natural lighting, professional catering and event management services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Zurich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Zurich
Marriott zürich
zürich Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zurich Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.