We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good Marriott service and lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zurich Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zurich Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zurich Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #20 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good location, good Marriott service and lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent one night here on our way out of Switzerland. The hotel is located not far from the train station, on the river and within walking distance of the old distract. Staff if very friendly and helpful, and the lounge has a good variety of snacks and light dishes. The hotel is clean and the rooms comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river and the old section; all the lit steeples are very pretty at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    347
    128
    29
    11
See reviews for
155
299
61
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

(I was Gold member in Marriott Rewards program when I stayed at this hotel)

During our recent Switzerland trip we visited several cities and decided to spend last day in Zurich - and we were flying out of Zurich airport. Although there were many hotels to choose from, prices for downtown properties were similar and quite expensive, so this hotel was booked on points (I think going price at the time of booking was ~CHF 400).

Hotel itself is a disgrace to Zurich skyline (it is visible from most places, even from the lake). The building itself looks like it was built in 70s somewhere in the second tier US city and then transferred to Zurich intact. Location however is quite good with short leisure walk to train station and about ~20 minutes walking distance along the river to the lake.

This hotel has underground parking but not wanting to pay CHF 40/day we disposed off the car before checking in.

Our room was ready when we arrived around 6pm so we were promptly checked in. There was an executive lounge on the ground floor, where hot food is served in the evenings, and hot breakfast in the morning. There was reasonable choice of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages to choose from. Lounge however suffers from the people abusing one guest privilege - at times it was full with extended families sometimes of 4-6 people including children. Executive lounge has one Apple desktop with printer for use by guests (if not available there was also business centre by reception).

We were given quite standard room. There was king size bed, writing desk with the chair, sitting area with easy chairs and journal table. Bathroom was quite small with shower cubicle, no bath, toilet, and washbasin with the mirror. Toiletries were of usual Marriott kind. We requested rollaway bed however when we checked in, it was not in the room and it took staff about 30 minutes to bring one in. To give you an indication about room size, after rollaway was in, there was almost no floor space left.

Internet was free for us as Marriott Gold members - was fast and reliable.

We did not visit either restaurant or Gym as we stayed one night only.

Bottom line - an overpriced middle of the road typical Marriott (if you ever been to any of the US marriotts at convention centres you will know the feeling). I would not recommend to stay there as a paying customer, but if you can get enough points for a free night it may be a viable option.

If anyone has any questions related to this hotel I will be glad to answer (if I know the answer) - just ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It's clean organized, big room nice service with all what you would expect if a Marriot. But it has no character you could place it any where in Europe and it would fit.
The room numbering system mixes me up with the north wing and main building thing. Finding conference rooms needs a map.
Over all had no major problems

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent hotel. Great location! The staff is super nice and friendly. It has a wonderful Thai Restaurant, with a good price fixed menu, an excellent coconut soup and the waiter is very friendly. The room is very confortable and the bathroom is big. It has a nice Bar in the Lobby, and also a Swiss Restaurant. My husband and Our family stays frequently in Marriott, we dont always have the luck to find such friendly staff in the front desk, now we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel consists of a tall Main building and a much shorter North Wing on the other side of the back street, interconnected via a suspended enclosed walkway.
There also are two parking garages: A in the Main Building, B in the Wing.
I was driving and I used Garage A.
From the Garage there is a lift to the front of the building, where you have just a few meters (covered but not enclosed) to the main hotel entrance.
I had a room in the Main building facing the other wing.
Insulation from external noise was good and I was not disturbed at all at my floor "30".
The numbering of the floors is unusual, since there is a large gap in the Main building.
So the buttons in the lift do not correspond to a actual storey level: they are rather a part of the overall room numbering scheme.

The room was of adequate size and appeared renovated in most parts.
There was a large comfortable king bed, a small armchair with an ottoman of different style, a small rectangular table, a desk, a 5 wheel chair.

The mini-bar was full of drinks and snacks.
There was the expected electronic safe and the door had a safety latch.

Most things in the room appeared recently renovated and in a perfect maintenance state but there were exceptions: the less than wonderful armchair with its completely different ottoman, the small flat TV, the mini-bar door and especially the basic and extremely worn 5 wheel chair which was very low and uncomfortable, without the expected height adjustment.
I complained about the chair and a proper one was quickly delivered despite being a Sunday evening; congratulations to the Marriott team !

The 26" TV had all the international channels you can dream of and beyond.

At the desk there were 2 Swiss sockets (compatible with 2-pin European plugs), 1 euro Shuko, 1 UK; other Swiss sockets could be found over the night-stands and the mini-bar, so no problem for charging many different devices at once.

The room appeared very well cleaned.

The ceiling of the bathroom was a bit low; there was a beautiful large walk-in shower but the (handheld) shower head was rather small.
Air extraction/ventilation was a bit slow and steam accumulated while taking a shower.

The room service menu was rich enough, delivery very quick and professional, the food was good.
Breakfast in the restaurant on the first floor of the main building was satisfactory with all the expected items, including some pastries, various sliced fruits and yoghurts, including packaged ones.

Overall this Marriott is a very good choice with excellent service, extremely professional team, recently renovated rooms (apart from a few accessories).

Location is OK, a short walk from the central railway station where the central shopping streets begin, easy to reach by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I don't usually stay at Marriott's but this one came up as the only 5* hotel in Zürich on some website, which is absolutely not true (this is a 4* max).

The location could be worst but it's definitely not the best at all. The service was not of a (supposedly) 5* level at all and it was extremely noisy. They were hosting a party and we were on an upper floor but you could still hear lots of noise.

If you're in Zürich for business and have to stay around this area, fine but otherwise i don't recommend it at all.

The highlight? The parking, much appreciated as we went there by car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

excellent hotel. great location. very expensive but its zurich. nothing more to say but can only recommend to everyone. I live in Vienna and am patriot, but zurich is very very beautiful. i don't recommend staying in cheap hotel. make it count

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zurich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Marriott Hotel

Address: Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zurich Marriott Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Zurich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Zurich
Marriott zürich
zürich Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zurich Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.