We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and clean luke a Marriot should be.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zurich Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zurich Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Zurich Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #30 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great and clean luke a Marriot should be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It's clean organized, big room nice service with all what you would expect if a Marriot. But it has no character you could place it any where in Europe and it would fit.
The room numbering system mixes me up with the north wing and main building thing. Finding conference rooms needs a map.
Over all had no major problems

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    356
    133
    31
    12
See reviews for
171
316
61
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent hotel. Great location! The staff is super nice and friendly. It has a wonderful Thai Restaurant, with a good price fixed menu, an excellent coconut soup and the waiter is very friendly. The room is very confortable and the bathroom is big. It has a nice Bar in the Lobby, and also a Swiss Restaurant. My husband and Our family stays frequently in Marriott, we dont always have the luck to find such friendly staff in the front desk, now we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel consists of a tall Main building and a much shorter North Wing on the other side of the back street, interconnected via a suspended enclosed walkway.
There also are two parking garages: A in the Main Building, B in the Wing.
I was driving and I used Garage A.
From the Garage there is a lift to the front of the building, where you have just a few meters (covered but not enclosed) to the main hotel entrance.
I had a room in the Main building facing the other wing.
Insulation from external noise was good and I was not disturbed at all at my floor "30".
The numbering of the floors is unusual, since there is a large gap in the Main building.
So the buttons in the lift do not correspond to a actual storey level: they are rather a part of the overall room numbering scheme.

The room was of adequate size and appeared renovated in most parts.
There was a large comfortable king bed, a small armchair with an ottoman of different style, a small rectangular table, a desk, a 5 wheel chair.

The mini-bar was full of drinks and snacks.
There was the expected electronic safe and the door had a safety latch.

Most things in the room appeared recently renovated and in a perfect maintenance state but there were exceptions: the less than wonderful armchair with its completely different ottoman, the small flat TV, the mini-bar door and especially the basic and extremely worn 5 wheel chair which was very low and uncomfortable, without the expected height adjustment.
I complained about the chair and a proper one was quickly delivered despite being a Sunday evening; congratulations to the Marriott team !

The 26" TV had all the international channels you can dream of and beyond.

At the desk there were 2 Swiss sockets (compatible with 2-pin European plugs), 1 euro Shuko, 1 UK; other Swiss sockets could be found over the night-stands and the mini-bar, so no problem for charging many different devices at once.

The room appeared very well cleaned.

The ceiling of the bathroom was a bit low; there was a beautiful large walk-in shower but the (handheld) shower head was rather small.
Air extraction/ventilation was a bit slow and steam accumulated while taking a shower.

The room service menu was rich enough, delivery very quick and professional, the food was good.
Breakfast in the restaurant on the first floor of the main building was satisfactory with all the expected items, including some pastries, various sliced fruits and yoghurts, including packaged ones.

Overall this Marriott is a very good choice with excellent service, extremely professional team, recently renovated rooms (apart from a few accessories).

Location is OK, a short walk from the central railway station where the central shopping streets begin, easy to reach by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I don't usually stay at Marriott's but this one came up as the only 5* hotel in Zürich on some website, which is absolutely not true (this is a 4* max).

The location could be worst but it's definitely not the best at all. The service was not of a (supposedly) 5* level at all and it was extremely noisy. They were hosting a party and we were on an upper floor but you could still hear lots of noise.

If you're in Zürich for business and have to stay around this area, fine but otherwise i don't recommend it at all.

The highlight? The parking, much appreciated as we went there by car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

excellent hotel. great location. very expensive but its zurich. nothing more to say but can only recommend to everyone. I live in Vienna and am patriot, but zurich is very very beautiful. i don't recommend staying in cheap hotel. make it count

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night.
Hotel was good in general but a bit disappointing for a 5 stars hotel especially in Zurich.
The staff was very courteous.
Got a king room that was very clean and quite spacious (european standards).
The hotel is very close to the train station and city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

whenever I'm in Zurich I stay at Marriott, I booked a grand superior room.
Last time i was in this hotel they promissed me of an upgrade in my next stay , so this time while checking in I asked for the upgrade, the managaer couldnt do the upgrade becasue it was fully booked. Yet he compensated me with many other free stuff, like free parking and free breakfast.
the hotel staff are very helpfull and understanding, the location is perfect and the rooms are perfectly equipped.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are with great view grand superior and executive rooms have access to the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zurich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Marriott Hotel

Address: Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Zurich
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zurich Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zurich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Zurich
Marriott zürich
zürich Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zurich Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.