We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, until they find out you booked through Priceline !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zurich Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Zurich Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Zurich Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly, until they find out you booked through Priceline !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booked this hotel through Priceline for 50% off the retail rate for a night stay. When I called the hotel and tried to reconfirm the booking with Reservation Dept, Ms. Kate Finn told me that they do not entertain the requests by customers if they book the room through Priceline. She was friendly until she heard the word "Priceline". Wow, I did not know that winning a bid could mean being discriminated.

I also just realized that the Hotel Management does not even respond in this website at all when I tried to email them regarding the reservation.

My stay will be on 16 June 2012 and I will update the review again. This is just a warning for people who win the bid through Priceline.

The Hotel does not have email address either on the website.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    376
    136
    32
    13
See reviews for
176
331
64
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott for 2 nights in April and we simply loved it.
First of all the hotel staff was excellent. Very helpful ,polite and always smiling.
The location was perfect.You could walk down the river and arrive on foot in the old town or go shopping in just 10 minutes.
As far as the rooms are concerned I could say that we got exactly what we asked for.A spacious comfortable room with a picturesque view.
Breakfast was more than adequate served in a perfectly decorated restaurant.Our compliments to the decorator.
All in all we will definitelly stay there the next time we visit Zurich.

Room Tip: A room just opposite the elevator and a little bit on the right
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

First of all, this is a very nice hotel, 10 minutes walking distance from the train station and the old town. It is easy to find, you won't be looking for it on a map or walking around.

Now, this is an expensive hotel even for Switzerland. For that kind of money, I expect everything to be perfect. Indeed, most of it was close enough to perfection.

The staff was friendly and spoke a variety of languages. My room was big and clean. I could easily move around even with a king size bed, a big flat screen TV, a desk and a leather seat in the room. There were also several cupboards and an iron board worth mentioning. The temperature of the shower was easy to set up and the pressure was good (I hate feeling like water is leaking over me).

I got an Executive package which grants access to a restricted area. This is basically a lounge similar to the ones in airports (I mean free drinks and food 24/7, not "full of exhausted people who need a shower”!). I had my breakfast there and it was great both in selection and taste. I got two servings of their delicious scrambled eggs!

However, as one says, the devil is in the detail. Here are the ones that got a "star" off their score.

As I came into the lobby, a strong smell of cigar made me think there was a cigar enthusiasts club meeting there. I was not going to spend any time in here anyway but it really surprised me. It wasn't present anymore later in the evening.

When I entered the room, I froze, not because of how nice it was, but because of the temperature! The weather was dull that day so I didn't get why the AC was to the max (literally, according to the control pane).

Feeling somewhat thirsty, I looked for some bottled water that would have been left for me to enjoy. Well, there were some ... at a price of 8 CHF a piece! Really? I spent over 360 USD for one night and I'm supposed to shed that much for some water? Unfortunately for them, that's not what I've been used to by competitors. Anyway, at least the sticker is obvious so you won't open one before noticing the price. (Btw, tap water is really good.)

The last part took place in the bathroom. After enjoying the shower, I found myself in the funny situation where I couldn't see myself in the mirror (because of that great hot shower mentioned above). Not that bad, agreed, but the point is that there is no way to make it go away. The vent holes in the ceiling didn't do the job. I just got my favorite hairstyle in front of another mirror in the room thinking I was lucky not to by a woman wanting to put on some make up. When I left the room for check out maybe 10 minutes later, the mirror was still not "functional".

I can also mention that the hotel didn't go beyond the usual soap / shampoo / lotion set (no cotton swabs or shoe polish).

There it is, I was overall very satisfied with my experience at the Marriott, only was I hoping for perfect and I "only" got very good. Enjoy Zurich!

Room Tip: The floors count 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 / 24 - 25 - 26 - etc (1 to 3 are lobby, breakfast and meeting rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Marriot for 4 nights. It is in an excellent location opposite the Limmat river and very close to the town; restaurants, shops and rail way station. The service is fantastic as is the room service and hotel room but that all comes at a price. The prices for the room service and restaurant food is very expensive, a short walk into town will allow you to buy a meal for half the price. Most people staying were there for business. Only 20 minutes from the airport. A great hotel and location if you can afford it! I did read on the internet there was a pool..BUT unfortunately there is NO POOL!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A great hotel within a 10 minute walk from the Zurich HB train station. Faultless check in and very helpful desk staff. Room was large, clean and comfy, only downside was facing away from Zurich city, but still an impressive view. Complimentary toiletries as befits any quality hotel.
Recently renovated restaurant/breakfast room, very tatsteful with a Swiss theme. Huge choice for breakfast with pretty much everyone catered for, help yourself as much as you like.
We ate here in the eCHo restaurant on the Saturday night, 3 courses for CHF69 with free wine, great meal, great service.
Needed to book in for our flights online and the desk staff give you 10 mins free wifi in order to do so, this is very useful and saves you having to buy an hours worth of wifi.
All in all a great weekend, very enjoyable visit to Zurich and will definately stay here again

Room Tip: This was our 4th visit and everytime we forget to ask for a room with a view of Zurich, maybe next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Zurich is filled with beautiful old traditional buildings, and the Marriott isn't one of them. It's a modern high-rise. No historic charm, but just about everything else is great. We spent about $300 U.S. a night here in June. Switzerland is very expensive, and that price isn't bad for what we got. The staff was tremendously helpful. We had a high room with a great view. Many European hotels aren't air conditioned, but this one is and it worked well. The room was quiet, comfortable and large, and the bathroom was fine although it had only a shower, not a tub. TV was good. Plenty of storage space. The restaurants were fine. The hotel is not located at City Center and not near the lake, but it's on the river and it's a relatively easy walk to the train station and to public transit. If we returned to Zurich today, I'd be hard-pressed to stay anywhere else. There are actually two Marriott buildings, connected by a walkway over a street. Be sure to request a room in the older, high-rise building of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is fine, however everything is paid extra, they even charge the internet 9.5 Francs for 30mins. A real shock is that I paid 180 Francs for 10mins phone call to a landline to Serbia. I paid this without comment, but vowed never to stay in this hotel again, because it's certainly not worth what they charge for the stay. Breakafast is just Ok, but the waiters at breakfast are very helpful and unintrusive. Checkin took more than 25mins, although we were the only guests checking in.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zurich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Marriott Hotel

Address: Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Zurich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zurich Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zurich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Zurich
Marriott zürich
zürich Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zurich Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.