We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Zurich Has to Offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zurich Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Zurich Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Zurich Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Zurich Has to Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is an amazing hotel, even by Marriott standards. It is a short walk from the train station, even with roller luggage. It is a beautiful hotel, with amazingly friendly staff. Join the Executive Lounge. It offers breakfast and dinner meals, as well as drink 24 hours a day. With the price of food in Zurich, it is a bargain. The truffle turndown chocolate was delicious, and we looked forward to it every evening. The hotel is centrally located in Zurich, and within walking distance to many downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Select an upper floor for the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    379
    136
    32
    13
See reviews for
176
332
65
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Zurich is expensive. The questions is whether you pay a ton for a mediocre hotel or a ton and a half for a decent hotel room. I would choose the later. The Marriott is ok, but it is a bit dreary. My room was old and in need of an update. The rug was hideous and that comes from a guy with no taste whatsoever.

The exercise room has decent equipment and a great view out the windows, but the room itself I think had a painted floor. It was an afterthought.

The people providing service in almost every case were excellent.

The club lounge is worth the price of upgrading so that you can get it. It is right off the lobby so it is rarely quiet, but they have nice drinks and food. The train station is a 7 minute walk away. You know you are in Switzerland when the front desk tells you that something is a 7 minute walk. I made it once in about 6. I figured I messed up so I tried walking slower. Then it was in about 8 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I went on business to Zurich and had to spend one night in Zurich. Marriott offered a reasonable price for an executive room in a very expensive city and I decided to stay there. The location of the hotel is okay, it is not Bahnhofstrasse, nor is it the old town, but some 15 minutes walk from there. Not too bad. I had been to Zurich many times and a kind of expected it. Some rooms overlook the city, some face another building on the other side of the hotel. I got the second time.
The room was OK, but just OK. Low ceiling, spartan interior, in other words "just business, nothing personal". Toiletries were also average. Noisy ventilation was a problem, I had to switch it off. I guess in the summer this could be an issue.
Hotel service was also average, I did not use bar or a restaurant (except for breakfast), breakfast was also average (or even below average compared to other Zurich hotels, and believe me, I stayed in many hotels in Zurich and Switzerland in general). All in all - another faceless business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The location is about 5 minutes by walk to the main shopping street or main station of zurich. You can reach the old town by walking about 7 to 10 minutes. Old town has a great feel and some good places to eat.
The property is great and service standards also very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

stayed in club level... view was amaizng ... club lounge is really nice... all day drinks and refreshments....
very helpful staff ....
perfect location...
Highly recommended

Room Tip: corner rooms perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stay at this hotel every two months. The staff is friendly, the location ideal and the rooms comfortable. Because of this, it feels a bit like whining, but ... what's with the elevators? They can take - and I have timed this - up to 12 minutes to get to the lobby in the morning. It becomes a standing joke with other guests as there's time to get to know one another!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The central location of this pleasant Marriott property makes it easy for you to enjoy the city and enjoy surrounding areas. Zurich, is vibrant, international, and expensive. You will want to plan your activities carefully, as cost are about four times more expensive than most things in the United States, so plan you trip well.

The Marriott allows you to shop, dine, and sightsee easily. The local transportation ranges from bus, trolley, and of course walking,

The concierge at the hotel can make arrangements for you to be picked up/dropped off for a fee. The staff speaks many languages and the hotel has convention facilities for large groups.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zurich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Marriott Hotel

Address: Neumuehlequai 42, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zurich Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zurich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Zurich
Marriott zürich
zürich Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zurich Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.