We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in old town Zurich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Platzhirsch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Platzhirsch to your Saves list
Hotel Platzhirsch
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Spitalgasse 3, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 42 Zurich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Willits, ca usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay in old town Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I love this hotel. It is located one block from the river, in the heart of old town Zurich, on a cobblestone street that allows foot traffic only. It is surrounded by small shops, restaurants, and art galleries. If you are a walker, you will enjoy this great neighborhood.
The hotel its self is charming, and clean. I I travel alone, so it is important for me to find a place to stay where I feel safe and welcome. There is a small bar downstairs, with outdoor seating when the is warm. Very nice for meeting people and also people watching.
The staff is especially why I return. They are professional and helpful. Also genuine and very easy to converse with.
I include a few pics taken during my stay in Dec. One view of the hotel and one view taken from my balcony on the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
51
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We experienced a clean, nicely designed room on the top floor (featuring a sloping ceiling to fit the roof contour, and a small turret-shaped extension to the room). Everything was provided - amenities, towels, bathrobes, even a welcome apple. The reception desk was well manned whenever we needed it. Breakfast was of good quality and included a proper coffee or tea, artisenal breads, cereals, quality sparkling juices, and a selection of cheeses and cold meats. Wifi worked well. Only complaint is some noise from the street on a Friday night, although it was much reduced by simply closing the window and neither of us had difficulty sleeping. Situated in a lovely area. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked the hotel for one night, cool hotel. Room was small but well designed with all the needed amenities. Price was good. Location was fantastic in the middle of everything, restaurants and shops. The breakfast was much better than all the bigger hotels. The hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were meeting in Zurich after some extended business trips and needed a nice place to stay for the night. Luckily, we both arrived early enough that we were able to enjoy the hotel and the Swiss nightlife. The hotel is a wonderful little B&B that resides over the bar itself. It actually took us a bit to find the place because the parking lot was guarded and the hotel itself is not very apparent from the street – it just looks like a very nice streetside bar/café. If you are driving a car there, you should take this into account and prepare yourself for a bit of searching. We ended up parking in a pay lot down the street and then we walked up to find the hotel. There was no formal “check-in” – we eventually asked the bartender and he informed us that our room was ready and gave us our key. He also said we could park in the parking lot behind the hotel – so we retrieved the car and enjoyed the free parking. This relatively cumbersome process of finding the hotel may sound bad, but, actually it kind of added to its charm and we thoroughly enjoyed the neighborhood and looking around at the shops while we looked for the hotel. Granted, it was summertime, so a cold wintery day may not have been as much fun.

Once inside, we found a very nice, cozy room waiting for us overlooking the shops and bustle of the city. The room was very pleasant, although we do admit that the lack of air conditioning made a summer night’s stay a bit warmer than we are used to. The location of the hotel is superb and extremely convenient as it’s right in the middle of all the shops and center of Zurich. It is a beautiful city and we enjoyed it immensely. We would, however, give fair warning – we were there on the Swiss National Day holiday and there were a lot of fireworks going on through the night. This was fun for a while, but the nature of the city and the way the buildings are constructed make it like an echo chamber – the fireworks became louder and louder as the night rolled on. We ate at a wonderful restaurant and sat outside, but the raucous from the celebratory fireworks reached volume levels that far exceeded “background noise” and made it almost impossible to hold a conversation.

After dinner and browsing the wildly eclectic and interesting shops in the area, we made our way back to the hotel and sat in the bar and had a couple drinks. The bartenders were wonderfully fun and we chatted with them about the local area and their various drinks.

The following morning, breakfast was served in the bar area and we were offered eggs to order, a very nice selection of croissant, rolls, and cheese; and some of the best yogurt/fruit/muesli we have had. All in all, this is a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it for a nice evening in Zurich. It was relatively inexpensive for the area, but you should be forewarned that this is relative – there is nothing inexpensive about Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Zurich is expensive. Fact. And this hotel was considerably cheaper than the average so on that note i wasn't expecting to much. I was happy that they had Ipad 1s to borrow (for the entire stay) and was happy with our plain but large room. It had an awful view but hey it came with a fridge filled with drinks, TV and a large bed (changed every day). The staff were very helpful. I had forwarded a europe sim card to this address and it arrived on the day I was leaving! Nevertheless the staff told me i had a package and I was glad they helped me reconnect with mobile data. The breakfast is standard continental: Small but nice. And although we didnt make use of the bar downstairs it would have been nice to use. The hotel is in a great location..about 10-15 mins walk from the station with many shops around. The staff spoke excellent english. Thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Platzhirsch has a great central location close to heaps of restaurants, transport, shopping and attractions. The location is right in the heart of Niederdorf, but with no traffic noise and a 2-minute walk to the tram at Rudolf-Brun-Brücke or 5-minutes from Zurich Main Station.

The lobby bar with cute décor is a great place to meet friends or for informal business meetings. Breakfast provides a wide selection of (continental) options, topped off with fresh coffee and friendly service.

Rooms are clean and modern, with adequate space: some have light-filled alcoves and balconies. The free mini-bar (no alcohol) where a Coke or water isn’t another chance to be gouged of Swiss Francs is a nice and welcome touch.

A two-week stay here for business was a great choice, and the Platzhirsch will definitely be on the radar for my next trip to Zürich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Platzhirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platzhirsch

Address: Spitalgasse 3, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Platzhirsch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in a historic landmark and stylish surrounding. Right in the city center, in the middle of the historic quarter called "Niederdorf", situated in a house built in the year 1879 in neoclassical style, our 24 rooms with Swiss Made design provide a perfect home base for your leisure or business trips to Zurich. The main train station, the lake side area and the world famous "Bahnhofstrasse" are only a few foot steps away. Access to Zurich's public transport system can be found in the immediate surrounding. Mark you territory become a PLATZHIRSCH! Translated into English the German word "Platzhirsch" means "the leading stag". The meaning is equivalent to a top dog or old bull. Our aim is to create a personal and individual rest area in a vibrating world city where you can feel at home and leave the world outside. Furthermore we assure you free WiFi as well as offer you iPads free of charge to stay connected with the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Platzhirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Platzhirsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.