We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Dolder Grand to your Saves list
The Dolder Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Verona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing property and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was in Zurich for a couple of days on a business trip and I stayed at The Dolder Grand. I knew of the hotel but it was my first time there. The property definitely lives up to its name it's really grand. The location is right outside the center of the city, a few minutes by car, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle downtown, and it boasts amazing view of the lake. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and I loved their bathroom amenities, their scent is fabulous. Breakfast restaurant makes you start the day with the right foot and I especially liked the Lobby Bar, great place to meet but also to unwind.
The most important feature of the property though is its staff. They are all so welcoming, smiling and helpful regardless the department they are work in. I was looked after and they made me feel they really cared for me. It's what I enjoy the most when I'm travelling, it makes my lit much easies, especially if it's a business trip.
No need to say that i look forward to returning to the hotel, soon, I hope.

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa wing are really quiet with amazing view, I recommend a junior suite which is the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for your positive review here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and assure you that we will forward your encouraging words to our staff, as they highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

If you come back during the winter months, the Lobby area offers a wonderful English Afternoon Tea Service during the weekends. Along with a variety of teas that you can choose from we also have mini-sandwiches, scones, and sweets as well as a harpist player to set the mood.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back again soon. In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    54
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
57
209
40
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

If you want the ultimate in Swiss Luxury and the best professional, the highest standard of cleanliness, most perfect modern and complete gym and spa experience, look no further.
Best service, best concierge, best massages, best yoga class, and great bar too

Room Tip: Stay in the OLD section if you like modern convince like a TV in your bathroom Mirror- yes really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I didnt stay at Dolder but went for a Day Spa. They dont offer a ticket just to Enter the Spa but you need to buy a 380CHF Voucher which you can redeem in treatments. The Spa treatments were amazing. I had a massage and a facial and you could tell that they know what they are doing (but that was all i could get with 380CHF).
The Wellness and Relaxation area was very nice too. With Sauna, Hamman and ice room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The best Ladies' Spa I have ever seen. Hope for Gentlemen it's the same :)
Aroma hammam, sauna, a cold bath and 2 aroma jacuzzis (for relaxation and revitalisation) - they are indescribable, absolutely fantastic!
After a long day of meetings - oh, it was such a pleasure to spend 2 hours in this area.
And outdoor jacuzzis with the panoramic view over Zurich - just amazing!
Spacious and luxury rooms, delicious food and drinks in restaurants and bars, very friendly and smiling staff and not that formal what often happens in 5* hotels.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to all types of travellers - either for a romantic escape or for business reasons. You'll stay not far from the city centre (and hotel has a free shuttle service) and at the same time you avoid the noise of a big city and all crowds of tourists.
Panoramic views, greenness and fresh air and excellent service - all what makes Switzerland so famous!

Room Tip: Junior Suite in Golf Wing - fantastic view on a 9-hole golf course, very quite and spacious, bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our product and services especially that of the Dolder Grand Spa. I can assure you that the Gentlemen’s Spa is just as wonderful as the Ladies Spa. After a long day of meetings, I would definitely recommend next time to try one of our unique treatments from the Dolder Collection, The Meditation Walk. This 45-minute walk towards the mirrored cupola room accompanied by relaxing music will help you ease yourself after a long and tiring day.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand on another occasion. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This place is amazing. Views of the city are exquisite. Amenities are everywhere you look. The restaurant outside overlooks the hillside and makes you feel like your at your own palace. The spa requires a whole separate review. It's the size of other European hotels. Beyond mind blowing

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had never been to Zurich so we used Tripadvisor to pick out our hotel and WOW, this hotel is truly stunning and lives up to all the high expectations.

Service is truly great, the views are lovely, the room we had was fabulous with a great balcony and a view of the city.

The ONLY drawback to this property is that it is a couple of miles from downtown. If you consider that a drawback, which we didn't. We were in town over the Swiss National Day and our location on the hill was great to watch the fireworks after we finished dinner.

Really cannot say enough great things about the property. Ask for a room on a high floor looking over the lake, it's worth it!

The rooms are exceptionally quiet due to the doors being at least 5 inches thick. I have never seen anything like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor in the main building overlooking the lake and mountains. Wow, what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous. It looks like a castle surrounded by nature in one of the most beautiful areas of Zurich. Beautiful view of the lake and city. Who wants to spend a beautiful holiday would recommend a stay at the Dolder.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 176 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolder Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.