We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Dolder Grand to your Saves list
The Dolder Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been to the Dolder Grand last December (2012), during a trip with my parents and boyfriend, for four days. We had really great rooms, with an amazing view to the snowy scenery, that extended from the room to the bathroom.
The room was ample, modern, and very technological (you could control the curtains, tv positioning, lights and even the "do not disturb" sign from the remote). Also, the bathroom was huge, with a bath tube that overviewed the scenery and a separate shower that had multiple choices of water cycles (like a spa).
Other than that, the staff was very helpful, the common areas are nice and cosy and the food is good. Since it was my graduation, I have also tested their hair salon, and was very pleased with the result.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Dolder Grand last December and for passing on your positive comment.

As we have fond memories of the last winter and its snowy scenery, we are delighted to hear that your experience was a memorable one and that you reward not only our dedication and service culture but also the features and appearance of our rooms. Please be assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my staff and the Hairstyling team, as they highly motivate us to continue into the same direction.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Dolder Grand on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    48
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
56
187
37
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent Hotel,Excellent Art, Superb Rooms and Service,this is in short the Dolder Grand ,probably one of the best in zurich.
The best part about this hotel is that you just do not feel you are in a big city when staying here.
\The area around the hotel is superb for walking and just relaxing with the views.mine was a very nice spa junior suite, very well appointed.
The art itself in this hotel is so uplifting and the restaurants are good too.
would love to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a wonderful way to relax. The hotel is impeccable - rooms are super quiet and really well set up to promote relaxation. The art collection is wonderful. The restaurant has its own well-deserved Michelin Stars and is a "must go" (the Lobster with strawberries and beets was the single best item on our entire 3 week trip). It is near a wonderful forest area for walking. The spa rooms, pool and treatments are well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited the Dolder Grand in April, since it was a late spring there was still snow on the ground as we arrived but the hotel still strikes an imposing and impressive first impression. The staff are very friendly, the restaurants are great, the spa is amazing (albeit a little like being in another world as you walk along the architectural glass walkway between the old building and new spa building). The breakfast was fantastic, all à la carte and fresh, without a dry, picked-over, buffet in sight! The pool and fitness areas are awesome and sitting in the hot outdoor pool with snow all around if a pretty memorable experience. I would happily go back for another short (or long) break to the Dolder as even a couple of days is enough to revitalise.

Room Tip: The spa building rooms feel a little bigger than the original building rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed in the Dolder Zürich last weekend and have to say that it was excellent from arrival to departure. Staff was so helpful and friendly and service was exceptional. The room (suite 1305) was special, nicely decorated with everything with you need. Wifi was for free in the whole Hotel. The bathroom was great as well with fabulous amenities. Had a lovely dinner, food was amazing, I ordered a Wagyu Beef fillet and it was out of this world.
Breakfast was also amazing and tasty. Spend some time at the spa which was relaxing, beautiful and clean.
Will definitely return one day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Dolder Grand and for writing so favorably about us.

It is great to read that your experience was a memorable one and that you reward not only our dedication and service culture but also the features and appearance of our rooms. Furthermore, we are happy that you found relaxation and recuperation for body and mind in our Dolder Grand Spa and appreciate your compliments on the served culinary delights.

We eagerly look forward to your next stay with us. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

For five days my husband and I stayed in The Dolder Grand and from the moment we checked in we felt genuinely welcome. The gentleman who helped us at the front desk guided us personally to our room and explained everything we needed to know about the high tech features concerning the lights, audio, video, wifi and heating. Our room and bathroom were luxurious and very clean with a nice atmosphere. The whole atmosphere in the hotel was one of great harmony. Breakfast is a real treat to start the day with.The architect who designed the new building bracing the old one did an awesome job. The art throughout the whole hotel is magnificent and creates a lot of surprising scenes. A great compliment for the spa with it's beautiful swimming pool and in- and outside whirl pools, very nice hosts and all the luxury you wish for. One thing we could not very much appreciate: one of the evenings we had dinner in the 'Garden restaurant", the other than the 2 Michelin-stars one. Quality of the diner was moderate and when we were still having diner, the personnel already fixed the tables for breakfast. Not very romantic. Except from this, all our senses were pampered during our stay, so I will end this review with a warm recommendation for this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Spa Wing Lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and your most gratifying review and recommendation on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that your experience was a memorable one and that you reward not only our dedication and enriching service culture but also the atmosphere and (interior) design of our hotel. Furthermore, we are happy that you enjoyed our Dolder Grand Spa and appreciate your hint at our remarkable art collection. Regarding your visit at our Garden Restaurant, we apologize for the unpleasant situation and assure you that we have discussed both critical aspects with the employees and supervisors concerned.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Dolder Grand in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotel I have ever seen. The service is perfect, the food is amazing, don't miss the Michelin star restaurant. The spa is something that I cannot describe, you must visit, but they don't accept kids.

Room Tip: Ask for the city view, and you will see the Zurich lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Dolder Grand and passing on your positive opinion.

We are pleased to read that your experience was a memorable one and that you reward not only our dedication and service culture but also our two Michelin stars awarded The Restaurant. Furthermore, we are happy that you found relaxation and recuperation for body and mind in our Dolder Grand Spa and appreciate your understanding for the prescribed minimum age of 12 years for children.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#1 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 176 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolder Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.