We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baur au Lac to your Saves list
Baur au Lac
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 127 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marbella, Spain
1 review
“Par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a hotel of the highest calibre, the staff were extremely polite & helpful & the service was outstanding. We dined in the Pavillion restaurant. The food was delicate & full of flavour as was the food we found in the bistro the next day. Rooms were of a good size,extremely comfortable, quiet & well thought out with every attention to detail. We are hoteliers so are extremely critical but we were hard pushed to fault it. A job well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Janey Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Baur au Lac experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, we were happy to read that you were satisfied with our service, the food at both of the restaurants and the comfort and luxury of the guest rooms.
Hearing such kind words from hoteliers makes us very proud. Rest assured that we will share your comments with the entire Baur au Lac team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    38
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
55
102
26
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I'd wanted to stay here for years, but never felt I could justify the price. Finally decided to splurge for our anniversary trip, and am so glad we did. This property is everything one wants a hotel to be: terrific location, knowledgeable concierges(hat tip especially, to Marius), wonderful breakfasts(we didn't eat any other meals there), quiet, comfortable bed(well, it IS Switzerland, after all!) beautiful room with fireplace, outstanding bathroom, and I could go on…the fact that a bottle of lovely champagne magically appeared on the day of our anniversary didn't hurt,either ;-)

Room Tip: the junior suite was just the perfect size; be sure to ask for higher floor for view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear bigtimegypsy,

Thank you for having taken the time to write such a kind review of your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

It makes us proud and happy to welcome guests with special occasions. It is a privilege to be part of such a personal celebration. We are thankful to read that we were able to meet your expectations with the service of our concierge, the comfort of your accommodation, the atmosphere of the restaurant Pavillon as well as the central location.

We would be pleased to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincereley,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a hard one, like the "Curate's egg", this is "Good in parts".
The Swiss are renowned for their politeness, cleanliness, correctness, honesty and for watching the bottom line, essential in any business. Zurich is a major world city, even though it has a small population. Amazingly, hotels in Zurich are well below modern standards, because they are old, outdated and badly in need of upgrading and modernization. This is the problem with the Baur au Lac.
The best location on the lake, gorgeous entrance & foyer, but the rooms, although large are dowdy and very ancient. The staff are, as you would expect in Switzerland, outstanding. Put together, the prices reflect past glory, not today's value reality. But the next tier down suffer even more. Zurich badly needs a modern hotel, if Baur au Lac was renovated inside, I dare say it would be world beater, but it is not now, so the value is not there.
Hard to rate, really "Average" because of value and decor, but Excellent in location and staffing. So I compromise and give it a "Very good", because the alternatives are worse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Gourmand34671,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your sincere impressions of the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor. We feel delighted to learn, that you appreciated our central location and the level of service delivered by our employees.

Regarding the décor and size of the rooms, rest assured that since the Baur au Lac was built in 1844, the 120 rooms have been modernised at regular intervals. Our aim is to keep the traditional character while staying ahead of the demands of the international clientele.

We are very sorry, that you felt uncomfortable with the style of your room and we would like to show you different room types during your next visit hoping to meet your expectations for future visits. Moreover, we are grateful to share with you, that for next year we will continue to soft renovate the last remaining handful of rooms and a lobby make over is planned.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Zurich and the Baur au Lac in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetikon Am See
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We were at the Baur au lac on the occasion of a ball, so experienced only F&B. The food was less than average, but what's really worrying is that they brought my husband a dessert plate (knowing well about his allergies to nuts!). When I looked at the plate with among others a chocolate cake and crushed nuts on it, I told my husband to better double check. The maître d' came back from the kitchen a moment later with the same plate saying it was alright for him to eat as there were no nuts on or in the food. Thankfully, we convinced my husband not to eat any of it because it was obvious that there were nuts on as well as in the cake. Sure enough a few minutes later the maitre d' comes back to say just that. I find it unacceptable that in a five star place, they do not take allergies seriously and while I appreciate the stress they're under, this is simply life threatening!! There is no excuse for an incident like this!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear chantalm 1208

We were deeply disturbed to learn about your recent food and beverage experience at our hotel.
Allergies and all other sorts of product intolerance have our top attention and caution every day. Knowing that especially nut allergy brings serious consequences along, we sincerely apologise for this incident. We have taken action to train all employees who have guest contact and especially coached the maître d’ crew to avoid a situation like this in the future.

We hope we can convince you of a faultless performance during your next visit and remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice, spotless rooms.
Comfortable bed, bathroom & shower were great.
The fitness centre is small with limited equipment & it's a shame there is no pool.
Reception staff was very helpful & friendly.
Perfect location for shopping & sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Margaret S,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to review the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with our location, the rooms, interiors and our employees.

You mentioned however, that our fitness centre is too small. May we ask which additional work out machines you would have expected? Please feel free to send us your suggestions to info@bauraulac.ch.

Once more, thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

In the meantime we hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Kind regards

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It is quite an achievement to keep the standard I was told about by my grandparents and be able now to tell my own grandchildren the same. On the other hand a critical mind of a repeat guest also observes changes, redecorations and the slacks in service (if there were any).
After many visits; you have never let us down in our expectations. The friendly reception and easy communication with all the helpful staff is what counts. Impeccable five star performance; rooms, beds, bathrooms and this time particularly, I have to praise the kitchen for an outstanding dinner in the Pavillion restaurant. In no other hotel can my wife and I be so sure that comfort and best of service will be guaranteed from the moment we enter. Is it dull? Maybe a little but not the food and the views and the charm of the city round the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Paddais,

Thank you very much for sharing your views about the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to learn that your family has been staying with us over many generations and are extremely delighted about your wonderful comments.

Encouraging feedback like yours continue to motivate our staff to offer the best service to each and every one.

With great pleasure we can inform you that the Pavillon restaurant and Laurent Eperon have just received their first star by GUIDE MICHELIN.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was stay to the hotel last weekend. The service, the personnel and the rooms was fantastic. I try also the restaurant and was in a top level, food and service outstanding. Continue the great job. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ilfecon,

Thank you very much for writing about your “Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have passed an enjoyable time with us and that especially our service, rooms and food was to your liking.
Your kind words have already been shared with the entire Baur au Lac team and will motivate us to meet your expectations during your next stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Address: Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baur au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.