We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel in Zurich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baur au Lac

Save Saved
You added Baur au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baur au Lac
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I treated my staff to a Christmas dinner here. As my colleagues came from other country offices, a number of our guys/gals stayed here and without exception all were extremely pleased. The quality of the food in their Michelin restaurant was as expected, exceptional. A colleague had reccomended and he was quite correct.....a heartry and well fed thanks was in order...

Rooms are great, location great, service impeccible (if an olde worldy european style - I had jeans and a jacket/shirt and had some difficulty persuading the Manager to allow me to enter the restaurant as i was 'inappropriately' dressed. In any event he relented and I promised to abide by their rules on my next visit) Overall excellent. I have had a number of companies in Switzerland over the years and many stays/visits and this is probably the best hotel in Zurich. Not for families, unless old european royalty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear l r,

Thank you very much for sharing your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor and for recommending our hotel.

With great pleasure we learn that you and your colleagues were all extremely pleased with the service at the Baur au Lac and the choice of our fine dining restaurant Pavillon for the annual Christmas dinner.

Your kind words have been passed on to all our employees. Especially our Executive Chef, Laurent Eperon, is thrilled to learn that the efforts of this team contributed to your great satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you and your colleagues back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    30
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
37
76
18
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staying at the Baur au Lac is like driving an old Bentley - a perfectly tuned classic which benefits from all the experience of decades of good living. The staff are really exceptional and deliver a flawless service to their guests. The location is superb and the outside bar/restaurant is a tremendously classy place to dine and pass the evening hours. The rooms are extremely comfortable (despite a surprisingly noisy air conditioning system - Bentley would not tolerate that). What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Charlie1001,

Thank you very much for choosing the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

Your thoughtful comparison of the Baur au Lac with a perfectly tuned classic automobile has brightened the day of our entire team. We are all extremely pleased to have met your expectations and were able to deliver accordingly.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying in Baur Au Lac now for many years every time we visit Zurich. It is our home away from home.They always take an extra effort to accommodate us in the same room that we have become so used to.The concierge is so kind and fun.And I love their breakfast :) With Baur Au Lac you know you are going the get the best service each time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear BC O,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.

We were absolutely delighted to receive your feedback and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your April stay with us. Furthermore we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the loyalty over the past years.

Rest assured that your encouraging words have been shared with all our employees. Our staff is already looking forward to your next visit and we all hope to have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next stay at the Baur au Lac.

It is always a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I had the extreme pleasure of spending a day and a night in Zurich in between travel locations on our 10th wedding anniversary celebration. The hotel is absolutely without fault although such 'faultless' attention to detail does come at a jaw dropping price! We were lucky enough to have been kindly upgraded to a sumptuously appointed suite and marveled at the art and the comfortable bed. The location is absolutely perfect for both business and shopping. The service is attentive but not invasive and nothing was too much trouble.
The restaurant at breakfast has to be one of the classiest, most welcoming settings we've ever seen--the orchids and in fact, all of the flowers were breathtaking.
My only nit-pic, is that the price for breakfast is ridiculously over the top --especially since you are already paying top dollar for the accommodations--it does seem a bit greedy to not provide breakfast with the price of the room.
Having said that, we thoroughly enjoyed our very short visit and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: River view, but any suite will be spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear DeemarieSingapore,

Thank you very much for sharing your views about your recent stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you and your husband had a great time in Zurich and enjoyed your visit at the Baur au Lac.

Your kind words about the location, service and the restaurant Pavillon are very much appreciated. Your annotation regarding the pricing of the breakfast has also been acknowledged.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back on a later occasion.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel during the festival that is held every three years in the city. Given the enormous chaos that accompanies these events, the hotel was a quiet oasis literally a few feet from the center of the action. The staff is extremely friendly and well trained and our hotel room was exceptionally well appointed. We also ate at the Rive Gauche restaurant which was quite good. A perfect place to stay in Zurich and we recommned it without qualification.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear tennisplayer1,

Thank you very much for recommending our property and sharing your „Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor.

We are delighted, that you have chosen the Baur au Lac for your visit in Zurich and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. In addition, we are glad that we were able to keep some of our usual calm atmosphere despite the festive activities throughout the entire city centre.

Your kind remarks about our employees make us very proud. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Exvellent location, great service, beautiful setting, food is great and you get free wi-fi too.
all this comes at a price but very well worth it. very classic hotel, but rooms are very up to date with a nice ambience and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear gmvermont,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Your kind remarks about the location, service and food have been shared with the entire Baur au Lac team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Every aspect of our stay at Baur al Lac was superb. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel we were their most important guests, greeting us with genuine smiles, and offering help and information, and doing it all with courtesy and tact. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Every staff member we encountered was knowledgeable, solicitous and genuinely charming.

The hotel exudes luxury in the Grand European manner. Our room was glamorous and well appointed, and satisfied every need for a business couple. The king sized bed was comfortable, and the large bathroom contained a separate shower, bath, and bidet.

We can recommend all the dining options. We especially enjoyed the all white terrace area facing the private park opposite the Zurichsee for pre or post dinner drinks. The main restaurant, Le Pavillon, extends from the terrace into an inviting room with pastel colours and a profusion of flowers. Its menu is outstanding, with a nicely balanced international offering complemented by excellent wines. Unusually, the hotel restaurant was superior to most restaurants we sampled in Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear DiOz10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent ‘Baur au Lac experience’ with us.

We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations regarding staff and details as well as the location of the hotel. We have passed on your very kind words to our staff. Your recommendation about our terrace facing the park is much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Address: Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baur au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.