We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effortless excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baur au Lac

Save Saved
You added Baur au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baur au Lac
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Effortless excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Every aspect of our stay at Baur al Lac was superb. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel we were their most important guests, greeting us with genuine smiles, and offering help and information, and doing it all with courtesy and tact. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Every staff member we encountered was knowledgeable, solicitous and genuinely charming.

The hotel exudes luxury in the Grand European manner. Our room was glamorous and well appointed, and satisfied every need for a business couple. The king sized bed was comfortable, and the large bathroom contained a separate shower, bath, and bidet.

We can recommend all the dining options. We especially enjoyed the all white terrace area facing the private park opposite the Zurichsee for pre or post dinner drinks. The main restaurant, Le Pavillon, extends from the terrace into an inviting room with pastel colours and a profusion of flowers. Its menu is outstanding, with a nicely balanced international offering complemented by excellent wines. Unusually, the hotel restaurant was superior to most restaurants we sampled in Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear DiOz10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent ‘Baur au Lac experience’ with us.

We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations regarding staff and details as well as the location of the hotel. We have passed on your very kind words to our staff. Your recommendation about our terrace facing the park is much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    30
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
37
76
18
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful service, ideal location, where one is really treated like a guest. Nothing is too much trouble. Despite the old school charm, the rooms are modern, well-equipped and the bathrooms are really thoughtfully designed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jennie S,

Thank you very much for sharing your insightful comments about your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We are thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and especially appreciated our service, as well as our bathrooms.
We have shared your feedback with the team members, for whom it will be a tremendous source of motivation.
It is great to hear that our effort to keep up the traditional style while constantly updating our product seems to be highly esteemed.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

That's really what you pay for staying here. This is a pretty hotel with some old school charm: multiple doormen who all remember your name and greet you as you walk in or out, no electronic key cards but traditional keys on key holders that you hand to the concierge on your way out of the hotel, decor is predominantly classic throughout - with the exception of the outside terrace and the light and airy breakfast room. Apropos breakfast: let's continue with breakfast. Sadly, it is just OK. And if it is not included in your hotel room charge, it is a small fortune (yikes!!) and thus so not worth it! We have had better breakfasts at boutique hotels and other four star hotels. Please take a stroll and go to nearby lovely cafés and enjoy a more authentic Swiss breakfast for a fraction of the price. The service is as you should expect it attentive, pleasant and prompt. The automatic jalousies (shutters) block out any light into the room and help you fall into a sumptuous, deep sleep on the very comfortable beds. There is no spa. The gym is an OK size with two treadmills overlooking the lake. The hotel has the best location in Zurich and if you have money to spare you can cruise around town with one of the hotels three Rolls Royces. Overall, this place is for people who carry gold coins as spare change and go shopping in the Fur shop next door. We still had a fantastically relaxing and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: as for a room looking out to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear alex o,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a fantastically relaxing and comfortable stay with us. Your kind words about the central location and the prompt and attentive service are very much appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Gorgeous, well maintained hotel. A bit on the stuffy side, but lovely rooms and public areas. Very well located.

My one criticism is the bath tub/shower combo was a bust. Water everywhere and I could barely step into the tub without straining myself and I'm a middle aged long legged person. Anyone with short legs or mobility problems would have a tough time with this set up.

Yes I would stay there again.

Room Tip: beware of the tricky bath/shower combo. It could be dicey getting in/out for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear noname36,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Baur au Lac and for having taken the time share your thoughts on tripadvisor. Your feedback is extremely important to us and allows us to continually monitor and improve our product and services.

We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with the bath tub situation in your room. All of our rooms slightly vary in size an style and almost all of them have separate shower and bath tub. We are convinced that during your next visit we will find a suitable bath room configuration for you.

We hope to have the opportunity the welcome you back on a future occasion and give us again the possibility to convince you from our service and product.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Doublessly a top hotel, great location (close to lake and the famous "Bahnhofstrasse"), attentive staff (they remember your name) and addicted to details. The atmosphere is classic and exclusive. The entry hall is wonderful, e.g. for taking coffee with a business contact or talking with friends.

However the rooms are expensive, partially overpriced, e.g. a standard double room city-side 870 CHF (plus breakfast 50 CHF resp. 70 CHF full buffet) as you hear the street noise even when windows are closed, and the A/C on low level is as well not really quiet.

If money doesn't matter, we recommend a lake-side Junior Suite (or Suite) - then you have probably the best option in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Culturetraveller12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent ‘Baur au Lac experience’ with us.

We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations regarding staff and details as well as the location of the hotel. Your recommendation about the newly refurbish deluxe junior suite facing the lake side is much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my second stay at my favourite hotel Baur au Lac in Zurich.
This is for sure one of the best hotels on continental Europe if not in the world.
You can breath the time of history and almost feel how you have travelled back in time, back to a time of unsurpassed elegance and sophistication.
This is the hotel where Empress Sissi of Austria stayed for a whole summer in 1867 with her entourage. This is the hotel where new and old elegance meet in an outmost excellent tranquil environment. The rooms are delightfully furnished, particularly the suites.
Rive gauche bar & restaurant is an absolute delight for wine and dine.
Baur au Lac with its central location on Talstrasse 1 , is within walking distance to popular places such as Banhofstrasse with its many luxury shops.
Baur au Lac is clearly a classic 5 star hotel which has stand the test of time, one of the best hotels in the world.

HSH Prince Leopold Donchield Zu Leone II, Sierra Leone

Room Tip: Lake side suites or river side suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear LeopoldZuleone,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are delighted that especially the central location, the interior design of the suites and the meals and wine at our restaurant Rive Gauche were to your liking. Being considered as one of the best hotels of the world makes us very proud. It is great to hear that our effort to keep up the traditional style while constantly updating our product seems to be highly esteemed.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

There's good, there's excellent, and there's amazing. The Baur au Lac is firmly in the amazing category. Now the bill is amazing too, but we've been hit with amazing bills in a number of establishments over the years and have never encountered such genuinely warm and cordial service from everyone on the staff, including the lady who picks up the laundry and the young man who turns the revolving door for you. Bed utterly comfortable, linen exquisite, room service punctual even when the hotel is full, bathrooms to top standard, location on the lake and one block from the high end of the high end shopping street ideal. Restaurant top-drawer. Our one complaint is the AC is definitely limited, but this is apparently due to Swiss laws related to energy conservation and so it is the way it is. Free wi-fi too, a nice touch...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear WashingtonTraveler21,

Thank you very much for sharing your insightful comments about your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We are thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and especially appreciated our service, the location of the hotel and the restaurant. Your kind words about the genuine warmth of our staff make us very proud.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Address: Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#19 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baur au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.