We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star luxury in Zurich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baur au Lac

Save Saved
You added Baur au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baur au Lac
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Five star luxury in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel epitomizes the legendary Swiss attention to detail and refined hospitality. It is the kind of experience which has one struggling to find a possible fault with anything and yet realize that the experience is truly faultless. As close to perfection as it can possibly get! Don't take my word for it, experience it for yourselves!

Room Tip: We were vey happy with Junior Suite 231 which overlooks the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear issibni

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to meet your expectations.

We have shared your feedback with the team members, for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay at the Baur au Lac in Zurich and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    31
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
42
81
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Ferme
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having been to Zurich on numerous occasions I have never hesitated in booking a room at the Baur au Lac. The place oozes charm, opulence and sophistication and is a delight, worth of a repeat visit. The breakfast is incredible, with views over the lake, it is a thoroughly enjoyable start to the day albeit very expensive - my only tip would be; don't order from the breakfast menu; the scrambled eggs are good but not worth selling a kidney for. If you time, take a tour of the area in the beautiful Rolls Royce that is usually parked outside; a perfect way to conclude a stay in one of the greats.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Château du P

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts and for your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations. It makes us particularly proud that you are recommending the Baur au Lac for a repeat visit. Rest assured that your thoughtful words have been passed on to our staff and we hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next stay.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We liked the location right next to the lake and the fact that it is close to more or less everything one needs in downtown. Room was absolutely clean, renovated and had a comfortable size, separate walk-in closet and a well sized bathroom with daylight. Minibar and Wireless were included in the rate, staff was friendly and attentive (special thanks to the elderly Swiss doorman, excellent).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr max_weber1984

Thank you very much for having chosen the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations regarding the location and the room. Your feedback have been pass on to our team, who were delighted to know they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac on a future occasion.

Your sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a lovely surprise. We booked it for one night after we flew into Switzerland and before we headed off on our road trip to Liechtenstein. The front of house staff were friendly and attentive. They learnt that we were on honeymoon and upgraded us to a lake view suite. The room was spacious and well appointed and the mini bar was complimentary. We were tired and a bit jet lagged and so ordered room service which was amazing. Great food of a standard you don't expect from room service. In the morning the garage attendants were quick to retrieve our car and offered us a choice of still or sparkling water to be placed in the car for the drive. It's the little things. We were so impressed we rebooked for another night at the conclusion of our road trip and our experience on the second night matched the first. A great hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Tyson S

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful review about your stay at the Baur au Lac on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to meet your expectation during both of your stays.

Your kind words about our attentive staff and the delicious room service meal make us very proud. Rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our entire team.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great service, stunning room and 2 mins walk to the lake.
I love the decorations in the hotels room, very stylish and the bathroom is also groovy with a big bathtub.

Delicious breakfast and great service!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Flyer789,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and that you especially appreciated the interior design of the hotel room as well as our breakfast and service.
Be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An exquisite place to stay in Zürich! This is Grand Hotel!
The rooms are splendidly appointed with wonderful pieces of antique furniture.

Most comfortable beds invite for a good nights sleep.

Attentive and competent service throughout the Hotel!

Rive Gauche Bar is a great place for a nightcap.

Room Tip: Room 401 is nicely appointed and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Wolfgang H

Thank you very much for choosing the Baur au Lac for your accommodation in Zurich and for sharing your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that you particularly appreciated the interior design of the hotel room as well as our services and nightcap at the Rive Gauche Bar. Your very kind words have been passed on to the staff and we hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

We appreciate your nice comments and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is simply amazing! Perfect location (1 block from the main street, 3 blocks from the opera house), silent and really comfy rooms, incredible breakfast and discrete and very efficient service. I was gonna be in town for 2 days because it was my first stop for my wedding anniversary celebration, but what started as a stop over ended up as a gorgeous appetizer for our 15th honeymoon! The concierge was efficient even before I arrived, arranging a warm welcome at the airport at ou request and suggesting great restaurants and evening events. We chose an event at the opera house, and the concierge had our tickets and (a very conveniently located) restaurant reservation. The evening was perfect, and I am sure that the location and warmth of this hotel makes Zurich even more pleasant! Stay here if you have a chance - and allow them to spoil you a little bit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Aline F

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your stay at the Baur au Lac.

We really appreciate that you took the time to express your views in such a detailed way and are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Especially your kind words about our discrete and efficient service make us very proud.

Please rest assured that we have already shared your encouraging words with the entire Baur au Lac team. We sincerely hope to have the chance to meet your expectations again in the near future.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back very soon.

Your sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Address: Talstrasse 1, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#14 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baur au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.