We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seehof to your Saves list
Hotel Seehof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seehofstrasse 11, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Seefeld)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week on business. The location is ideal. A two minute walk to the lake, and about five minutes from the Stadelhofen station and Bellevue tram stop. There is a supermarket in the Stadelhofen station too.

My room was small but comfortable, modern furnishings and clean. Double bed, decent sized bathroom with a good shower, desk, tv and fridge. The minibar in the room is free, with beer, coke, and a couple of snacks. Wifi was also free. The room had a balcony too. There was building work in the courtyard but I couldn't hear it with the window closed, and there was no noise while I was sleeping.

Breakfast was lovely, continental style with croissants, cheese, meat etc. On arriving for breakfast you are asked what drink you'd like. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Esmeralda W

Thank you for your friendly comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.
Your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    52
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
36
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at the Seehof for 4 night first week of December. Our check in went as expected, since we arrived before noon. So we went for lunch and then back to to get our key. Our room was on the 4th floor (Room 402) facing the back of the hotel. We had no noise for all 4 nights. The room was much bigger than I expected. The breakfast was again more than I expected. We had eggs/bacon/ham plus all the fixing each morning. Service was prompt. The other bonus, free mini bar in your room. Never had that before. The front desk staff was very helpful with recomendation on restaurants and directions. If you are traveling via train from the airport get off at the Stradelhof station, 1 past the main Zurich HB station. Then you have a 6 minute walk to the hotel, and I mean 6 minutes with your luggage. The only draw back and they are making the change, for English speaking guests, there is no English TV Channel, so no CNN or BBC, however they say those changes are coming in January 2014. So in ending, great location, great room(4th floor back), excellent breakfast and very friendly and helpful front desk staff. I would go again.

Room Tip: If after reading other reviews you are concerned about noise, ask for room 402 you will not be dissa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear NParkTraveler

Thank you for your honourable comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we fulfilled your expectations.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.
Your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Seehof for a few days in late November. We found the hotel to be conveniently located and the staff exceptional. The room was basic with simply a bed and a clean bathroom. We ended up switching rooms due to a problem with the TV and the vent in the bathroom. This was handled quickly and efficently. The second room had a shower rather than a tub which was more convenient for us as the tub was a bit awkward to get into and out of. The complimentary mini bar was basically a few drinks and snacks but came in handy. Breakfast was included in our rate and we found it filling--good scrambled eggs and bacon with breads, cheeses, meats yogurts and great coffee. The staff was very helpful in booking tours, making dinner reservations and giving directions. If you want luxury stay elsewhere but if you want a convenient location and helpful personnel this hotel is for you. We liked the complimentary wifi and enjoyed the short walk to Old Town and the train and overall had a comfortable stay. We would stay here again if we are in Zurich.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear 3littlebirds

Thank you for your nice comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.
Your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Seehof for a single night in November. Arrived late and left early but the service was good, at check in and checkout, answered questions re transport and local dining and was very positive! Rooms are simple but good, nothing really missing and the breakfast was nice. Dined at a nearby restaurant and had a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Phill C

Thank you for your nice comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.
Your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Although the staff was excellent and the breakfast perfect ( the European meat and cheese breakfast with eggs and bacon on the side), the noise from the street was too much. Reading the reviews I knew there was some noise so I contacted the hotel to put us in the quietest room. This was the top floor street facing since the rear garden had construction happening,but it didn't matter. We could not sleep through the night as there was a club nearby with drunk people leaving til 4 am. Even being mid October, it was unseasonably warm so we needed to have the windows open for some air...big mistake. For a restful night's sleep I would suggest another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
We hope you will find a hotel in a quiet area for your next visit in Zurich.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable, service was good, location was central and it was easy to get around, and the breakfasts were good. The main reason I would hesitate to stay here again was the noise from outside. Never heard a thing from any of the other guest rooms, but our room was on the second floor facing the street and there were a lot of loud people out in the street very late at night. Although it was early October, our room seemed uncomfortably warm and we really needed to at least crack the windows, and even though we wear earplugs we were woken by the noise every single night. Also heard loud noises outside early in the morning - not sure what it was (construction?) but it was quite a racket on some mornings.

I hate to give it such a low rating, but the noise was a big issue for us. The Zurich Film Festival was going on while we were there, and I don't know if that was why there were so many loud people out late in this neighborhood - perhaps it's normally quieter. I doubt we will try it again, though. :( Also note that there is no AC and we were too hot in October - seems like it would be miserable in warmer months.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors or that don't face the street might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Usually the street is pretty calm especially for this central location. But just for your information: the outside constructions in the courtyard from the building opposite the hotel are finished.

Best regards,
your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lassie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Das Zimmer ist kahl; nichts gemütliches!
Very basic - not a room to enjoy spending any time in .
Nachts sehr laut und unbequemes Bett - very loud during night and uncomfy bed.
Frühstück nichts Besonderes; breakfast - average.
Gute Lage ; good location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Just for your information; the outside constructions in the courtyard from the building opposite the hotel are finished. And another good news coming January we will change all beds in the hotel.
Maybe you give us a chance to prove that we can do better.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Seehof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Address: Seehofstrasse 11, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prime example of slick modernity, Hotel Seehof is only a few minutes’ walk from Zurich’s historical old town, the famous Bahnhofstrasse and the eye-popping Opera. Visitors are instantly put at ease by the composed atmosphere of simple elegance and warm functionality. The 20 guestrooms are elegantly thought-through and aim to provide guests with a cool, clear environment in which they can fully unwind. Both leisure and business travellers feel perfectly at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seehof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.