We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Widder Hotel

Save Saved
You added Widder Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Widder Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Tring
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Marvellous contemporary hotel with very attentive staff and fantastic food (breakfast).

Only hope that people wont be disappointed if it dosent become their "best ever".

You couldnt get a more central location, but was also very quiet.

As with everything in Zurich it was very expensive but ultimately worth it as you can see where the money has been spent. The quality of every single thing was absolutely first class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
66
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful experience. The room was beautiful! New, clean, modern and every convenience. Centrally located but quiet and relaxing. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and attentive. The mini bar is gratis. Each night they brought a fruit or chocote snack. The first day they brought us a welcoming bottle of wine and apricots and nuts. we arrived early on Monday morning from the U.S. and they accommodated us by 9:00 am. We had a little breakfast in the hotel and by the time we were done our room was ready. This is the most wonderful hotel I have stayed in and would definitely go back and will! Our room had huge windows that opened to the brick streets so even on a rainy day we enjoyed looking out and taking in the quaint area. Absolutely superb!

Room Tip: It ws all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are regular guests there and rooms and service are difficult to beat. For those not used the church bells can be loud in the morning - but that's about it in terms of potential challenges. Great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
574 helpful votes 574 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Twenty years ago the Widder was converted from nine different townhouses into a modern hotel. The result is an establishment that looks small but is actually large. You wouldn't think so when you first enter it, but the Widder has several bars and restaurants, meeting rooms, a library, business centre, gym, even a museum. (Alas, no pool or spa, but you can't have everything!)

We were upgraded to a suite that's as large as our London pied-a-terre. Modern chairs and sofas sit alongside antique armoires; the walls are panelled in dark wood (mahogany?). The bathroom is modern with plenty of room for two people. Both the sitting room and bedroom have air conditioning, an absolute godsend when the temperature hit the high 80s F. Everything in the mini-bar was included in the price of the room. (In hindsight, we should have taken the Toblerone before we left!) I could of course complain about the king bed that's actually two single beds pushed together, and the too-soft pillows. But these are a feature of nearly every hotel in Switzerland, so it seems fair just to accept them.

The Widder isn't on the river or lake, so you don't get much of a view. But it is in the middle of Zurich's picturesque Old Town. We enjoyed strolling around during the warm summer evenings, before and after dinner. You could easily walk to a restaurant, but we chose to stay in the hotel for all of our meals, which we ate outdoors in the courtyard. It meant that we never experienced the hotel's famous bar or its other restaurants, but I'm sure they're wonderful when the weather turns cold.

The conversion has stood the test of time. It looks like it was done yesterday, and it will probably still look great in twenty years. The Swiss know how to create things that last! Everything about this hotel feels substantial; nothing is flimsy or cheap, so there's no need to update the interiors every 18 months. Now THAT's living the "green" ethos.

If we return to Zurich, it'll be a toss-up between the Widder and the Storchen, where we also stayed. (See my separate review.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Widder is a wonderful boutique hotel with all of the latest amenities. It is centrally situated in the heart of Zurich where everything including the infamous Banhofstrassee world famous street is only steps away from the hotel. At the wider you will find a very accommodating and friendly staff ready to serve your every beacon call. I would however caution anyone with disabilities to be certain of their choice when choosing the wider because it is not disability friendly. The floors have ridges in their design which protrude up about 2 inches out of the floor and could trip someone with a walking challenge! Also, the king bed is not a true king but two beds put together with a hump in the middle, so much for intimacy with your loved one! That being said however, I was very impressed with the design, the staff and the food and would have given it a five save for the above mentioned concerns! The widder hotel is a nice find.

Room Tip: Make sure when renting a suite that you do not allow them to put you in A07 because it is on the bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

One of the best hotels I stayed in. And I stayed in hundreds of hotels in my live.

Quite ordinary looking from the outside but outstanding design inside. Every room is different. Modern design mixed with traditional swiss style. Very stylish.

Our room had dark wood paneling on the wall and ceiling, furniture was glass and metal. Bang and Olufsen audio.

Great service too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Once you find the hotel, you will be pleasantly greeted by the kind and professional staff. The room we had was at the very back of the hotel with a nice view of the street outside, the room itself was open and spacious, the work desk could be separated from the bedroom by a curtain which is perfect for when my husband gets up early to work. We had a nice living room area in the room, tv, stereo, closet space, everything was really nice. The attention to detail is impeccable. The breakfast room is bright with a glass roof, unique and wonderful again. The Widder Bar is a must experience especially if you like your scotch! I highly recommend experiencing this hotel! If I find my photos I will add them later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Widder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widder Hotel

Also Known As:
Widder Hotel zürich
Address: Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Widder Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Widder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Widder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.