We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Classy, Sylish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Widder Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Widder Hotel to your Saves list
Widder Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Dubai
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Classy, Sylish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

“An oasis of tranquility, where luxury and style are matched by the warmness of the welcome.” We couldn’t agree more. My wife and I spent a total of four nights at the Widder in early June. We stayed here as part of a tour package (so I’m not certain of the rate), but online prices looked like our Superior Double Room was probably between 650 and 800 Swiss Francs ($694 or 525 Euros to $854 to 646 Euros). The stay was flawless – from our pickup at the airport, our stay, and back to the airport again.

The positives for this place begin with the fantastic service from the warm, friendly staff. Everyone knew our name no matter where we were in the hotel. There was always a greeting or an offer to assist in some way or another, for example, a towel and bottle of water waiting for me at the front entrance after returning from a run. (A running map was in the room so I had new options each day for my run.) The location in Old Town/Altstadt is ideal whether you are here for shopping, history or museums. It is just a block off Bahnofstrasse (the main shopping street), a five minute walk from the main train station or a five minute walk down to Lake Zurich. I assume it has a good location for business as well since there were definitely business people staying at the hotel. In addition, there are some good restaurants close by but not so much foot traffic that makes the room noisy. The gym is open 24/7 and is a bit small but had everything necessary. The wi-fi is included with your stay as well as the mini-bar (water, beer, juices). We enjoyed coming to the room each afternoon to have a cold drink and some nuts and chocolate before we headed out to dinner. A bit of a side note, my wife was particularly impressed with the quality of the hair dryer and the amenities in the bathroom.
We enjoyed the Widder bar as well, also with great customer service. The piano player provides a great atmosphere to socialize and relax. The bar features an extensive collection of whiskeys and scotch which we enjoyed sampling.

The negatives…there are none. We don’t have a single bad thing to say about this hotel.

Overall, a classy place to stay with great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
85
19
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent service; excellent job on the architecture and interior design combining heritage with modernity, cozy and romantic rooms (though depending on expectations a bit small, we were lucky to get a room with an oriel and a little sitting area in it, which was extremely cozy); superb location in the heart of the city being right behind Bahnhofstrasse and being part of the old town. And best of all, the Widder Bar is right downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely few days this spring at the Widder Hotel in Zurich. Located in the heart of the historic district, the Widder provides access to the many charms of Zurich. Breakfast was served in a brightly lit conservatory with a wide arrangement of lovely food and beverage. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before on one and two night trips. This trip was a one night stay for business meetings. Rooms clean, well appointed with complimentary bar in room, with water, beer, pop, nuts and chocolate - nice touch. Good outdoor lunch patio restaurant and very nice breakfast restaurant with great service and food. I was a little surprised at size of my room - smaller than usual with a single bed but I usually get a larger room and full king size bed - late arrival so I wasn't going to start complaining but rate was same despite room. They said they were fully booked so likely part of the reason. Great location, for restaurants and shopping.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely old hotel that has been updated with modern features. I had the spa suite. I think they did an excellent job of pairing old with new. The room was simply charming and quite spacious for a European hotel. Service was first class. I loved the bar area and we kept going back after moving to another hotel as we found they were booked up for the final leg of the trip ( we moved to London for a few days in between). Location is everything, and I loved being able to walk to shops and restaurants. Only drawback was the bed was actually two small beds put together with a topper. Linens were first rate but I would prefer a proper king size bed.

Room Tip: Spend until it hurts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The entrance is unimpressive as is the small street that the hotel is located on, but from the service at check-in to the decor, size of rooms and every aspect of my one night stay, I was incredibly impressed by this hotel. The room (303 in my case) was very large with very cool decor blending classic wooden beams with contemporary furnishings and colours. The bathroom (very importantly) was excellent - sizeable and well stocked with plenty of LARGE towels and toiletries. The minibar was all inclusive which was a nice treat. At breakfast, the buffet spread was limited but the a la carte menu covered everything I was looking for. I was on a business trip and needed to work so the spacious desk with ample lighting and plug points was much appreciated. The in-room dinning was as expensive as one expects in Switzerland (nothing more) but of very good standard.

Room Tip: I was in 303 which I highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is member of the leading hotels of the world chain. It consists of several smaller buildings build together. The style is contemporary and the interior is very nice. A true 5 star luxury hotel in any way, with great service and fantastic food. The bar is a GEM with great service and even better ambience. The location is very central and it will not let you down even if you are well travelled and picky!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Widder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widder Hotel

Address: Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#5 Business Hotel in Zurich
#11 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Widder Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Widder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widder Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Widder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.