We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss National Museum

Swiss National Museum
Museumstrasse 2, Zurich 8023, Switzerland
41 (0)44 218 65 11
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #18 of 81 attractions in Zurich
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated in an historic castle, this museum displays a collection of interesting artifacts from throughout Swiss history.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located adjacent to train station. Interesting displays. Great collections. Would place it on the not to miss list. Can easily enjoy most of the museum in two hours.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    94
    42
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canthox
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Eclectic but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I agree with some of the other comments that the museum feels a bit chaotic but found it an interesting place to visit with the reconstructed medieval rooms of the abbey with their remarkable marquetry and painted ceilings particularly compelling.
The other sections focus on one thing at a time so for example all the clothing from start to finish is in one area rather than being displayed on a chronological tour through the building.
I rather liked this methodology since you could go to a particular room and see all of the related items.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I wanted to really like it!! I really did!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Although there was some English, and there were guides (I found them difficult to decifer) I really didn't understand much of what I was seeing. There were so many interesting artifacts. It was a bit of a maze going from one topic to the next. The building itself is amazing. I left disappointed. Sorry

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'm not sure how to explain my feelings about this..... The museum is HUGE. There's a ton of information in a very large amalgamation of rooms. Someone else used the term chaotic - that's pretty close to what I felt. Instead of going by time period, the rooms go by subject/category; i.e. you might be viewing political information and history that ends with the current day political structure in one section, then the next section reverts back to the impact of industry on the country; again, starting in the middle ages, ending in current times. And this continued to happen from room to room, so for someone with absolutely zero Swiss history, it was a bit disorienting. In many rooms, there are English explanation boards that you have to pick up and hold from the beginning of the room's exhibit through the end. I'd say that covers maybe 60% of what you'll see, maybe not as in-depth as you want. I did not get the audio guide here, maybe that would help. Although, by the time I got to the Waffen Turm (weapons tower), I had about had it - was pretty bored and did not feel much enlightened about the Swiss. But I went up the tower anyway, and wow - what a great collection of old swords/lances, and an amazing number of old guns (think dueling pistols, the first rifles, etc), even uniforms through the ages -- don't miss this section! I did also enjoy the rooms that had been reassembled from old abbeys/monasteries/churches. I wasn't much interested in the furniture, but that was at the end and I really couldn't wait to get out of there. I almost hate to say how disappointed I was, because it's clear that a ton of effort has gone into the displays, and there is so much there. Perhaps my best advice is to skip what doesn't interest you and move on to the next room - there might be something in there that grabs your attention. I did not get to the two special exhibitions. Remember, if you use your Zurich Card, it's free.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Swiss National Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Well worth going to - just walk through Bahnhof HB and it is right there. It gives an insight into the history of the Swiss - some fab textiles too. Well designed and fab experience

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss National Museum also viewed

 
Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 

Been to Swiss National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Swiss National Museum to your Saves list