We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than i expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss National Museum

Swiss National Museum
Museumstrasse 2, Zurich 8023, Switzerland
41 (0)44 218 65 11
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$61*
and up
Zurich Super Saver 1: Best of Zurich City Tour...
Ranked #21 of 96 Attractions in Zurich
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated in an historic castle, this museum displays a collection of interesting artifacts from throughout Swiss history.
Medan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“more than i expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

i was on the way back from Bern when I happen to pass this museum. i can enter free with my swiss pass and just do it to pass time before it close down 1.5 hours later. it is a very good and systematic museum, it has almost everything you need to understand about Swiss. the display and layouts are smartly done to make visitors flow and understand and absorb the switzerland history and story. I would advise anybody that go to Switzerland for the first time, make this your first stop and it will give you a lot of enlightenment about the country.
it was at world war history section, we are facing one part with not enough lighting and difficult to read description. both me and the other guy were look each other and wondering why this ection do not have good lighting. then I make a remark jokingly "maybe because this part describe the bad part of switzerland" (because the country has ambiguoulsy backing axis line,taking advantage economically of that and blocking the jewish from the country during the war, it went wrong decades later as Swiss has to pay a lot of fund to settle the issue). the guy just smile, then I ask what nationality he is. He is a Switzerland. Bad joke from me :)

This museum also have special exhibition that held separately, when I was there, it is exhibiting the creation of wealthy country evolution from Netherland time to current time China, it is interesting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    121
    52
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wetter, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good thing we DIDN'T PAY!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The building is magnificent from the outside. I was disappointed when we went in. I didn't understand the flow of the exhibition - it felt like they were put there accoring to which artifact they found first - there were too many things all jumbled up! Don't bother paying 5 chf for audio guide - pointless! Not for children as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A "must visit" place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed our visit in this Museum. You can see the History of Switzerland in a very educational way.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrific place to learn about Swiss history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a wonderful place to learn about Swiss history. At the start of the self tour, there is a computerized explanation of Swiss history to medieval times provided in several languages. I was impressed by the overview of information provided which made me spend more time looking at the exhibits. In addition to the 'fixed' history exhibit, others are also available. There was a modern art instillation when I was there. I did not attend because I don't care for modern art, but it would be worthwhile for those who are interested in that sort of thing. The history exhibits also provide information on how the Swiss government is structured. It was interesting for me personally to see the differences between how the Swiss exercise democracy and compare that to the US.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Visit if you have nothing else to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was covered by the Swiss pass and I am really glad we didn't pay to get in. The layout was clumsy and the attractions only partially understandable in English. It was extremely long and drawn out with either too much information or not enough as a whole. We went in October 2011

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss National Museum also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Swiss National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.