We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chagall windows are a must see” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster)

Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster)
Fraumunsterstrasse | Münsterhof, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)
41-1-211-4100
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$167*
and up
Zurich Super Saver: Swiss Alps Adventure and...
Ranked #12 of 95 Attractions in Zurich
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This prominent 13th-century Gothic cathedral is perhaps best known for one of its more recent additions, stained-glass windows designed by Marc Chagall in the 1970s.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chagall windows are a must see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The blue spire can be seen for miles around and makes it easy to locate the church. It is reach the most easily on foot while strolling in the old city. The church itself is a typical stern construction from Zwingli influenced Switzerland but the 5 windows by Chagall are simply wonderful. Take the time to bask in their beauty int he viewing room.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    170
    52
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
545 helpful votes 545 helpful votes
“Chagall Windows... Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I love Marc Chagall's works, so any chance to see something as fantastic as the windows he did here is worth making a trip if you're in town. The rest of the church, architecture, etc. is nothing special, but the windows make it special. Highly Recommended

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Overrated...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Zurich was our fifth destination of Euro-trip on first week on June. We went to see Fraumunster, as we thought this is one of the best points of views in Zurich... It wasnt worth it... NOT recommended...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“pretty but touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

church is pretty enough and more impressive from outside than inside. outside is also the drop off point for large tour groups, who are guided by people on amplified speaker systems which is just not necessary. Walk away!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Chagall windows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

the church itself is rather dull both inside and out but it is worth a visit to sit in the chapel at the back and stare at the stained glass windows by Chagall. These are truly wonderful and worth spending as much time as you can just sitting and staring.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster) also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.