We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the competitive advantage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schutzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location is the competitive advantage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location is the abolsute plus. Located only a block away from "Hauptbanhoff" is in the center of this beautiful city. It is clean and quite well furnished/decorated. The personnel was kind. On the negative side though my room was very small and no Air Condition (!!!!). Although in July, I was lucky and the weather was mild. If it was hot I would have to open the window to "enjoy" the smells of the lower floor Korean restaurant and the noise of the cozy side street... The "lobby" / reception is at the 5th floor (I really wonder if this would be a Guiness record...) while the breakfast is less than basic. For all those reasons I feel that the value for money factor is not in favor unless one is on a budget and city center location is a must ...

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Although, it makes us sad that you didn't seem to like much about our hotel except the fantastic location.
You might know already, that we do have different room categories which differ mostly in size. There are even 3 rooms with a private balcony and two of them are equipped with A/C. Next time, we would be eager to know all your preferences to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Furthermore, we would be interested to know more about your comment of our lobby/reception for a Guiness record:-) Please feel free to contact us via e-mail. Wishing you further happy travels and we would still look forward to welcoming you back some day.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    93
    26
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
96
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was brilliant. A short pleasant walk from the main railway station, super friendly and helpful check-in and finally a really spacious room with everything we needed. My first trip to Zurich but loved the city and this hotel so will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest
thank you very much for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse in Zurich. We are happy to read about your positive experience of your first trip to Zurich and to our small hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you further happy travels, kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel itself is conveniently located near Zurich central station. I found the staff to be helpful, especially as I was staying at the hotel for 2 non-consecutive nights, and was able to store my luggage with the hotel when I went to Geneva. The rooms themselves are quite quirky, great furnishings and loved the British theme. The bathrooms are rather small and pokey, however, the Molton Brown products were great! The one big drawback regarding this hotel is that both rooms I stayed in did not have air-conditioning. Whilst this may not be a problem for most of the year, the two days I stayed in late June were 28 deg Celcius and 31 deg Celcius, with rather warm evenings. The rooms were very stuffy and hot, and the small fan provided provided little relief. I kept the windows open throughout the night, which was somewhat futile as the noise from adjacent restaurants and bars made it difficult to fall asleep. So, needless to say 2 nights of poor sleep was not what I was hoping for. The rooms cost in excess of CHF 200 per night, so I would have expected air-conditioning to be standard given the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us twice. We are happy to read that you experienced helpful staff and that we could meet your needs concerning your luggage.
Rooms: we have 4 different categories, which differ mostly in size, also the bathrooms.
There are even 3 rooms with a private balcony and two of them are equipped with A/C.
In Zurich and throughout Switzerland it is quite difficult to receive the permit to install A/C due to strict regulations. Furthermore and unfortunately (as you already quoted) Zurich and most of Switzerland is not blessed with a long period of hot summer days whilst A/C would be a bliss to have. In Zurich, it is the heating which is most essential:-)
Nevertheless, we are very sorry to hear about your poor sleep. It's a pity, we didn't know about your wish for air conditioning. Maybe, we could have changed our room allocation. So we deeply hope to welcoming you back soon or if you prefer, again during the colder season.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Surprisingly Spacious room in a superbly located hotel, just a short walk to Zurich Hbf and the lake. Decor and furnishings a delight and staff very friendly and helpful. No AC but having the windows open was fine, if a little noisy.

Room Tip: Go for a back room, not street side as it can be a little boisterous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We would look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, close to the shops, main sights, and station (5 min walk with heavy rucksack), beautifully appointed room, comfy bed. The bathroom is small but has a lovely modern shower. Did not hear any noise from other rooms although it was a hot night and with windows open there was a lot of street noise. To be fair, there was a festival on at the time so I have no complaint to the hotel! Also, it's a city so I would expect some noise with open windows (noise level fine when closed). I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely come back if in Zurich again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest
thank you very much for taking your time to write this informative review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and at the hotel. Please contact us again for your next trip to Zurich. We would look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed only one night, but this hotel was very nice. Very quaint. Room was clean, albeit a bit tight. Location was great, less than a block from the main station and a nice walk to all of the ongoings in Zurich. Bed was really comfortable. Sink was outside of the bathroom which was unexpected but not bothersome. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing our 'quaint' Boutique Hotel Townhouse. It makes us happy to read your positive and informative review. Please note, that all our rooms are equipped with an ensuite bathroom / shower but of different size and type. Let us kindly know your preferences.
We would look forward to welcoming you back to the Townhouse anytime.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location, easy walk around town (shops are not open on Sundays). At Zurich Hauptbahnhof take the exit Bahnhofstrasse and its the first side street on your left Schützengasse (next to a Korean restaurant). Nicely decorated rooms. Friendly and helpful reception. Only stayed one night. Recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing our Boutique Hotel Townhouse.
It is correct, that on Sundays the main shopping area in Zurich is closed. Nevertheless, there is an option to go shopping even on Sundays at our 'shopville' located at the main station, Stadelhofen, and at the airport. We wish you further happy travels and hope to welcoming you back one day.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Address: Schutzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 2 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. Check-in takes place in our living room on the 5th floor. This is also the place where you can relax in comfortable couches, browse through the latest magazines, or help yourself to a drink from our honesty bar. The refrigerator is stocked with healthy snacks and you can make yourself a tasty Italian espresso at the coffee machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.