We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That rare combination of amazing quality and good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Deli

Bellevue Deli
Bellevueplatz, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Hochschulen)
0442524152
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 1,411 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hochschulen
Description: At the Bellevue Deli – owned and operated by two former flight attendants – which is centrally located in Zürich, offers a wide range of sandwiches (over 40 varieties are made daily Monday through Friday – a reduced menu is offered on weekends) based on recipes garnered from the owners’ travels and layovers around the world. Complementing its extensive assortment is a selection of salads for those who prefer a lighter meal. And best of all… it is renowned for its reasonable prices. One has the option of sitting at outdoor tables, crossing the street to picnic lakeside, jumping on a ship for a leisurely lunch or dinner cruise, partaking of a meal along the picturesque Limmat River, dining al fresco on the steps of the nearby opera house, finding a quiet spot to nosh on one’s takeaway in the Old Town, or kicking back and enjoying it back in a hotel room. Weekday lunches also offer homemade chili con carne as well as other Tex-Mex fare. It is well known among the local English-speaking expatriate community.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“That rare combination of amazing quality and good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the outside it looks modest but the Bellevue Deli offers some of the best, and best value food in Zurich. Due to a change in work I've not had chance to go for a while but, will head back as soon as I can.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's my first days in Zurich and when I was having a walk around the city I decided to stop in this place to have a coffee. It's not one of the best coffees I have ever had, but it wasn't bad either. The sandwiches seem to be very tasty, but I wasn't hungry at all... Next time I will try one of them

What I liked the most was the staff, very friendly and kind. If you are in the Area it's a good place to have a break and sit in one of the tables outside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great selection, and overall high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I don't know how this place is able to offer such amazing sandwiches for the price. Zurich is a very expensive city and as a student visiting from the USA I needed to find some affordable eats and this place was perfect. A lunch at Mc Donalds costs more than a lunch here. Besides the low prices, the food is very delicious and tasty. The food is obviously very fresh and made with pride. My favorite sandwich would have to be the Thon. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the brownies! They really must be homemade or something because I've never had a brownie so good in my life. Thanks Bellevue Deli!! I will definitely come back on my future Zurich visits.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“A great cheap eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have visited the Bellevue Cafe twice over the last couple of months and I rate it amongst the best cheap eats in the Bellevue area. I have sampled the chili con carne served in a cup and it's a nice, filling, cheap meal on a cool Zürich winter day. They provide cheese if you prefer in your chili and it's got a bit of a spicy kick to it. Also provided are slices of bread, napkins and they always properly seal your meal and put it in a bag so it will not spill! A variety of soups and cheap sandwiches are presented well along other snacks and beverages they offer. For a quick meal to go it can't be beat. They do have a few tables located under their roof as well. The staff is very friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“By far the best sandwiches in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I live in Zurich and buy something most days from the Bellevue Deli. Their food is always fresh and delicious and beautifully garnished and displayed (we eat with our eyes!)! The sandwiches are different to anything else you'll find in Zurich, full of goodies, wonderful combinations and various delicious breads. The home-made soups, chilli and burritos are great, esp. in winter when a bit of comfort warm food is needed! In summer, grab a sandwich and salad (the choices!), go down to the lake and relax in the sunshine. It is obvious that the owners and their team really care about the food they make, and it shows in absolutely everything sold there, as well as the friendly service. I can only recommend it. It's been going for 30 years under the same management and that says something as well.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellevue Deli also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Bellevue Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.