We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the booking mix up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jenatsch Apartments

Save Saved
You added Jenatsch Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jenatsch Apartments
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Jenatschstrasse 5, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Enge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Shame about the booking mix up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We needed three rooms for nine days in Zurich and were thrilled to find the Jenatsch apartments. The largest, with three bedrooms suited us perfectly and we booked it online and received confirmation in early February , looking forward to our holiday. About two weeks before our departure, we had reason to call the hotel to check accessibility and were horrified to find that the three bedroom apartment was unavailable. The situation was soon resolved by an offer of one two-bedroom apartment and one studio, which we accepted but this meant that we were rather more separate than we planned, the more so since the studio was in a different building.
Our two bedroom apartment on the third floor in Spluegenstr. was lovely, though a second WC would have been good. It was spacious, airy and worked well for the three of us. An elevator resolved our accessibility issues to a point - there were still half a dozen or more steep stairs to reach it from the front door, however. The kitchen was equipped fairly well, though we didn't test it by cooking anything much - merely ate breakfast and made drinks. The washing machine/dryer was very much appreciated.
The studio apartment in Jenatschstr was less attractive, though perfectly adequate. This apartment was a little dated, the small kitchen was an awkward shape and there really wasn't anywhere to sit other than on the bed. I'd describe it as more of a large hotel room with a kitchen and bathroom attached. Both apartments overlooked the same inner courtyard and with open windows on a summer evening, it could be noisy.
Our main gripe was of inconsistent housekeeping. We didn't expect a full daily service but it appeared that someone visited on most days. Occasionally we'd find a set of fresh towels, clean bedlinen on one or other bed (never on the same day) or plumped cushions on the sofa. On other days, we found a bag of dirty linen by the door, a dropped towel or a bag of rubbish - very disappointing and signs of a hasty exit, we thought. We happily washed up our own pots and would have used the dishwasher, had a couple of tablets been supplied. We'd have welcomed a slightly more generous supply of dishwashing liquid too, but managed to squeeze every last drop and make it last till we left.

The absolute plus point of the Jenastch apartments, however, has to be the location. First class in every way. We used the trams daily with our Swiss Passes, came home by service boat another evening, which stopped at the Enge pier. Easy and very convenient. The direct train from the Enge station to the airport is a real benefit too, making this the perfect place to stay. The area is fairly quiet but pleasant and out of the main bustle. It's safe and I'd not have any worry about walking alone in the district at any time of day.

We parked the car at the Ascot Hotel for a reasonable price and found the staff at the Ascot to be helpful whenever we needed them - hardly at all. We'd return to the two bedroom Jenatsch apartment but possibly not the studio, since there seems to be little advantage to a conventional hotel room in that case. If the three bedroom apartment had been a larger version of the two room one we had and decorated in similar style, it would have been perfect for us - five family and friends of different ages spending a few days together in Switzerland.

Room Tip: The apartments are located in different buildings and are not all decorated or furnished in similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The apartment was nice and the price right. Great location also. The problem was that the room was extremely hot. No a/c, not even a fan to get the air moving. We kept the windows open at night hoping for a breeze but still woke up sweating every night (and also has to contend with street noise). I would recommend this apt. but not in the summer.

One other small peeve: no dishwasher soap provided, so you'll have to buy your own (which is annoying as the smallest amt. you can buy is for about 30 loads). I recommend throwing a few of those washer tabs in with your luggage if you are only here for a week or so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great value for the money. Nice area. 2 minutes from lake, 10-15 min walk from Coop City supermarket and other shopping. 5 min walk from Kongresshouse. Safe area to walk around even after midnight. Lots of space in the apartment, well equipped kitchen. The only problem we had was the noise from the apartments next door and above. Walls are very thin and the building seem to echo. If you don't mind staying up late until everyone is finally asleep or noise does not bother you this is the place to be. From the airport you can take S2 tram (about 30 min) to Enge Station, across the Station check in at Ascot Hotel then a 5 min walk to the apartments.

Room Tip: Highest floor to avoid noise from above apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Part of the Ascot Hotel nearby (2min walking), the Jenatsch Apartments offers a very nice small flat (kitchen, living room/bedroom) of about 40sqm, 5min walk from Enge station and 1min away from tram stop

Been here on a business trip and I believe this is one of the best options in Zurich in terms of location and value for money.

The apartment was clean, good WiFi connection (free), no noise from outside and very good matresses. Only downsides: frigo bar completly empty (it's not a hotel...) and the bed was not a kingsize, but 2 single put together.

For breakfast and dinner I would recommend to chose other options (better and cheaper) rather then the Ascot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The apartments are just like the pictures and compared to some hotel room prices in Zurich they are fantastic, unbeatable value. They are close to the train station and you can walk to the old town in about 15 minutes (I didn't figure out the trams but they would get you there quicker.) The restaurants at the Ascot are absurdly expensive and nothing special though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Due to the large number of perfectly okay but completely uninspiring hotels i've stayed in for business over the last few years i've decided to only review places of note. In other words those that are good, or those that are [--].
Those that are [--], i will comment on immediately, but those that are good will have to wait until i stop going to them. Selfish, I know, but it's often hard enough getting a booking as it is.
The Jenatsch Apartments fall firmly in the "good" category.

I used to travel to Zurich every week for about a year and tried a variety of places (Ascott - who owns the JA, Lady's First, Glarnishhoff, Opera, Engimatt, and a few others. Engimatt probably the next best), which were all in that 220 - 300 chf range and all perfectly fine but completely uninspiring business hotels.
The JA were by far my first choice and where I stayed most of the time. For the same or less cost than a 3/4 star hotel room, you are getting 3 times the space and a set of keys to a beautiful apartment in central Zurich. The apartments are in an historic building a couple of blocks away from the Ascott Hotel, and are impeccably furnished, light and spacious. Personally, if i am staying somewhere for 3 nights or more I prefer to have a kitchen and these ones are fully equipped for cooking full meals. Most (the best) have a separate living room with dining table and superb wooden floors. The large apartment on the top floor has some pretty nice original artwork too. I felt good staying here. It's the sort of place I would happily have as my own.

Other things to note: Big flat screen TV’s in bedroom and living rooms with cable tv. A cleaner comes round daily and will do your dishes.
Minus points for no free wireless - a basic human right these days. If i could deduct half a point i would.

Room Tip: The apartments off the central stairway were better in my opinion than the ones out along the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

If you want a kitchen this is the place to be. It's just a short walk from the Hotel that owns the apartments. The hotel has a great tepanyaki japanese restaurant, a latenight bar, and a laptop to use free in reception. The reception staff are extremely helpful. The apartment is in a really quiet location, the windows open, the heating can be turned up or down, a flatscreen digital TV and DVD player are also there as well as a cordless phone to use. In the wardrobe there is a safe, and there's an ironing board and an iron.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jenatsch Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenatsch Apartments

Address: Jenatschstrasse 5, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jenatsch Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jenatsch Apartments - Your "Home from Home"If you are looking for a comfortable one-room apartment or a luxurious four-room flat, at the Jenatsch Apartments you will find your "home from home" for your longer stays in Zurich.The apartments are bright, comfortable and elegantly furnished with a mix of modern furniture and antiques. Each apartment has at least one own bathroom and a separate kitchen. The larger apartments even have an own washing machine and tumble dryer. Daily cleaning (Monday to Friday) as well as a change of linen once a week are included in the rental fee. For a small additional charge, the tenants may use the facilities (parking, laundry and dry cleaning service, secretarial assistance, breakfast buffet etc.) at the Hotel Ascot. The team at the Hotel Ascot is looking forward to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jenatsch Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenatsch Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.