We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for Zurich.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakini's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dakini's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Brauerstrasse 87, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Langstrasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Zurich B&B and Inns
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Just right for Zurich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thanks to a friend making a recommendation we booked at Dakini's B&B for our two nights in Zurich. After trolling through hotel prices and reviews we decided to save money on accommodation and knowing that Zurich is a relatively expensive city to visit we opted for a B&B.
Very gratful that we selected Dakini's as the best nights sleeping so far in our weeks of travel.
Homely as in home comforts, clean as we are quite fussy in such matters, convenient location in the city ...not out in the 'burbs. Really an excellent example of a B&B ... Bed great and so too the Breakfast ! Our room was spacious and light filled share bathroom was always spotless and having a full equipped kitchen available at all times allowed us to prepare our own meals.
Would not bother booking anywhere else on our return to Zurich.

Room Tip: First floor corner room is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The rooms are colourful. The furniture I would describe as a little dated yet with character. We experienced our rooms as homy. Everything was neat and clean. Great!
Just the pillows in our rooms felt a bit thin.
The breakfast was tasty, simple but fresh. Keep in mind that only one cup of coffee is included in your breakfast - in case you urge for a coffein shock.
Arriving there we felt welcome by the owner. This impression changed over the proceeding days. We regarded it best to basicallly listen to her stories to not raise her unpredictable mood and felt a real conversation was not intended.
If you don t mind to listen, then this is the place to be. Thumbs up for the rooms and the location.
(If you read about "Kreis 4", no worries about the mentioned red light district and drug scene. That is a joke compare to other cities. I ve lived in the surrounding for several years and never felt harassed.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I found this very interesting and reasonably priced B&B in Zürich through a relative who is an artist. Every room was furnished differently and in a very creative way and with style. Even the walls of staircase to go from floor to floor was filled with beautiful collage art work. And the rooms and bathroom were also very clean and and there was always a fresh scent in the air, my mother observed.
We wanted to spend some time together at a quiet and unusual place, since we had not seen each other in a while. I flew in from New York and my mother from Brazil, so we decided this was the perfect place to stay in Zürich where we would be able to sleep well after a long flight and where the creative environment would stimulate and fill us with positive energy....
The owner and host, a very friendly helpful talkative and worldly woman, treated us so well! We really appreciated this personal style and attention. At a hotel we would have been treated in a much more impersonal way.
The breakfast was also very substantial with homemade yoghurt and a variety of homemade jams and Swiss cheeses, served with croissants fresh Swiss muesli and whole wheat bread and of course with coffee and tea.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend a fun and relaxing time in Zürich at a great place that serves great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We found the host was most accommodating and helpful for our first time stay in Zurich. The rooms were kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and breakfast was given lots of care and thought. The host really enhanced our stay in Zurich and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay in Zürich, and reasonably priced. All the rooms were furnished in a simple but elegant style and super clean! The owner/host is very friendly helpful and talkative, I really liked this personal style, not like a hotel where you are just viewed as someone who pays.
The breakfast was also very lovely with homemade yoghurt and jams, served with fresh muesli.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I only can recommend this friendly place. It's a bit like home away from home and excellent value for your money. Suzanne is a great host and she will provide you with any information that you will need. Generous breakfast in a friendly atmosphere, clean and comfortable rooms, bathroom is shared and a very convenient small kitchen. The neighbourhood is very nice and interesting with a lots of small shops and cheap places for food. Close to transportation and main train station that it was easy to plan day excursions to any place in Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

When I had to find a place to stay in Zurich it was hard since the prices there are expensive, even if we compare to Sao Paulo, where I live! The B7B was just perfect to a traveller with a budget. The rooms ares cozy, charmin, clean. I do bnot want to seem rude, but I am Brazilian, so when I say "clean" I mean "clean" (as we have other pattern for a clean home, we clean it every day, with much water and soap). The bath is ok and Suzanne, the owner, is very gentle, speaks French, Spanish, Italia, English and -- of course -- German, so that I could choose how to comunicat with her. The breakfast is just delicious and as we have one table for all guests, we can have interesting and cosmopolite conversation.
If I ever go to Zurich again, as my budgets are often tight, I am sure to stay in the lovely burgundy house.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakini's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakini's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Brauerstrasse 87, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dakini's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakini`s Bed And Breakfast
Dakini`s Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakini's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.