We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Restaurants & Bar

Carlton Restaurants & Bar
Bahnhofstrasse 41, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 12271919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 1,382 Restaurants in Zurich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Swiss Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I asked for a typical Swiss meal, I got the Zurich Schnitzel - it was very very good!

Nice bar too, although very expensive. Ask for on of the Swiss beers, they are very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germiston, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, ambience and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stumbled, hungry and cold, into this restaurant from the snow outside. Obviously a businessman's haunt we wondered if they would serve these scruffily-clad tourists. No problem! Had a superb meal with our first Swiss wine which the waiter recommended. Great first restaurant experience in Zurich.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul-Turkey
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
549 helpful votes 549 helpful votes
“Not a Satisfactory Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We went to this restaurant as a group of 30 people for a business lunch. Though we had called them 30 minutes before arrival to confirm once again our reservation, when we arrived on time, there was no one, literally, NO ONE, to greet us neither at the door nor at inside the restaurant. We sat on our own and we had to go to kitchen to let them know we arrived. It was terrible. The service was slow, disorganized: though we had informed them about our protocol table many times, they still continued to serve that table last. Some of the tables were having main course when some others were not even served the starter. As for the food, we had a set menu so, hard to make a general comment: the pumpkin soup was delicious, the chicken as main course too salty to eat, the dessert, comme-çi comme-ça. I am sure there are lot better places in Zurich, so you can pass this one.....

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
1 review
“nice people and music but very rude security men!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

after work, fun, food, music and dancing but the guards at 12 midnight
becomes agressive and rude to ladies!! Implement your
rules politely to ladies. the guard who told us: get out of here..
was even so proud to behave as such. what a rough security!
from a good hotel in bahnhofstrasse there has been deficiency trainings
to our dismay. never again carlton BAR and DANCING!! sigh!!!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great wine selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Carlton offers a well known bar, near the banking center in Zurich. The restaurant offers gourmet food and an excellent wine selection. If you plan an event with 10-20 people, ask for the cellar room which offers a special atmosphere. The quality is always good or very good, however the prices are equally at a high level (although within the range as it's in Zurich downtown).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlton Restaurants & Bar also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Carlton Restaurants & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Restaurants & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.