We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food average, service poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Catalana

Taverna Catalana
Glockengasse 8, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)
044 221 12 62
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $22 - $87
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Food average, service poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

food quality within expectation and at a reasonable price. service very poor. we will not go again and do not recommend to eat at this place if you estimate a good service quality and friendly treatment.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chur, Switzerland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Typical Tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Only postive aspect: nice, quite place in the middle of the city.

Worst issue: food is ok, but not more. I never cooked that boring in my whole life. And extremely overprized, even for Zurich. Just a typical tourist trap.
Unfortunately I learned about the excellent review of its neighbour Lumière too late.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spanish flavour in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Another little surprise amongst the innumerable restaurants of Zurich. When most of the restaurants go for swiss cuisine, here you have a bold statement of spanish flair. Many of the guests are spanish and this is already a good sign. The service is also relaxed but professional and the food is excellent both for connoisseurs and not. Seating outside is very relaxing overlooking a charming square but also the inside is warm and cosy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ordered shared starters then Paella for four. it was delicious and huge, came in two servings we did not expect the second so no room for desert.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Eat in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have eaten here (last time 3 years ago). This a family run restaurant in a quiet olde part of Zurich which permits one to eat in a small square at outside tables. CLEARLY it is a favorite of Zurich residents as we have never seen (heard) other English speakers eat here.

Both visits we have had fish dishes which have been delectable, in fact, some of the best fish we have ever eaten. The sauces are subtle and delicious and the fish perfectly cooked. You will eat slowly if only to make the meal last longer. After telling the owner how much we enjoyed our 2nd visit he sent a gratis digestif to our table. We simply wanted to linger all evening listening to the church bells of Zurich and sipping the last of our wine. Of course everything is Zurich is expensive; we spent about $165 for three courses each and a nice bottle of wine but we have spent much more than that for lesser meals in the USA. If you get to Zurich and want a lovely fish dinner you should definitely go here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Catalana also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Taverna Catalana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Catalana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.