We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mother's day brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Schober

Cafe Schober
Napfgasse 4, Zurich, Switzerland (Old Town)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zürich
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Mother's day brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a table for 9 for a Mothers' day brunch at Café Schober. It was just perfect. There are several levels of rooms, all with a different decor and feel to them (including a really cute outdoors courtyard, which was, however, closed due to rain). The food was very good quality, just the right amount, and the service was very friendly and efficient, although they had lots of guests with just the same plan on the same day. We will definitely be back for some other occasion!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    82
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stäfa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very, very nice indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Though pricy (what isn't in Zurich), everything here is prepared with utmost care and service is also friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Special breakfast in an enchanted atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Back to last century, this cafe patisserie will delight you with delicious pastries and a very good cappuccino. The breakfast including eggs and müsli is a bit expensive but, given the bunch of bread and croissants, you can easily skip the lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“we are always lucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

after arriving in Zurich we decided to go sightseeing in the old part. I wanted - needed a cup of coffee and thought the first place would be ok just to have the coffee. My wife was much wiser and wanted to see more options. We found Cafe Schober. What a place, great cakes, great coffee and a building full of history. I did not want to leave anymore, just loved it so much. They have much more then pastry and coffee. They also serve foods that are lunch or early dinner. Casual enviorment in a plush place with old furnishings that remind me of my Grandmothers "Gute Stube"
You will not be sorry and I certainly will return when in Zurich.
BTW, the cheescake is delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quality Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Enjoyed some quality time there. The place is situated in the old town of Zurich, lovely place, great history, and good food/drinks... Service is good. Decoration is lovely...

Just go and check it out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Schober also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Cafe Schober? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Schober, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.