We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, good for Zurich Messe, but not close to the city.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Zurich Messe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wallisellenstrasse 48, Zurich 8050, Switzerland (Oerlikon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“New hotel, good for Zurich Messe, but not close to the city.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for business several times. Rooms are a good size, clean and well equipped. Free WiFi is available. Good showers.
There is a restaurant and bar downstairs, and a seating area outside.
Breakfast is expensive, but there are several places in Oerlikon where you can go for breakfast for less expense.
10 Minutes walk to the railway station in Oerlikon. Bus stop just outside.
Suggest some research into local restaurants as there are not many in the area. Mamma Mia pizza in Oerlikon is good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is good to hear that you have already stayed several times and that you like the infrastructure of the hotel.

We would be happy to see you again on your forthcoming trip to Zurich

Kind regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    141
    40
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
95
34
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Londra, Regno Unito
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice hotel with quite big rooms, near the city center, nice bar on the lobby, bus stop is just outside the hotel, nice qualified staff, free wifi, great breakfast!
it was offered me a free upgrade for the room.

There is no minibar at rooms which very disappointed for 4 star hotel, parking is very expensive about 24 francs.
Breakfast very rich but quite expensive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write down your comments on your recent stay.

We appreciate your positive comments on our rooms and especially on our staff. Your comments have been forwarded to them.

It is true that we are not located directly in the citycenter, hoever the public transport brings you downtown in only 20 minutes.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Zürich Messe on your next trip to Zurich.

Kind regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms are clean, friendly & helpful staff but not a great location for tourists. No room service, no good restaurants nearby. Location is far from central places. Good if you have any business in surrounding area otherwise look for any other hotel in more central location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write down your comments on your recent stay.

It is true that we are not located dirctly in the citycenter, hoever we have a tram stop a few meters away and a direct tram brings you to the main train station in only 20 minutes. Just for information: we do offer roomservice in our hotel.

We do appreciate your positive comments on the hotel and the staff.

Kind regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff. Very quiet, clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Good public transportation. Hard to find a good restaurant in the neighborhood. Good hotel to stay for a couple of nights, but probably not for vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much that you have chosen us fpor your recent stay and thank you for the coments on tripadvisor.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I will be more than happy to pass your friendly comments to our staff.

Thank you again for your very favorable review. It would be a pleasure for us to see you again soon in Holiday Inn Zürich Messe.

Kindest regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lod, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location . Near the hotel there is tram station to the center of Zurich and the banhofstrusse. The room was clean and nice with free wifi. The loby was a little bit noisy but very cheerfull

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much that you have stayed with us. We appreciate your very favorable review and hope to see you soon again in our Holiday Inn Zürich Messe.

Kindest regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very good quality, modern room to which you are welcomed by friendly staff. Breakfast was also good.
The hotel bar seems popular on Friday evenings.
Hotel is located at about 5-10 minutes walk from Messe train station. The surrounding area is not the most attractive for tourists. The same goes for places to eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for having stayed with us. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed our services and I truly appreciate the comments on our staff.

We would be very delighted to see you again soon in Holiday Inn Zürich Messe

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

i stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, good service, friendly and helpful staffs. the room is clean and comfortable, in fresh green and white color. but the design of shower in bath tub had a little bit problem, because that's no shower curtain!

there's quite convenience for it's location, not far away from train station or supermarket, only 2 stops by bus or tram between them. you can take a walk and enjoy the sunshine nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time you have spent writing down all of your detailed comments. Since it is our philosophy to constantly improve all details of our hospitality and to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible we appreciate your opinion.

We are very happy to count you to our regular customers and we appreciate your trust in us.

We are happy to see you again for your next stay in Zurich Oerlikon.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Zurich Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe Hotel
Holiday Inn zürich
zürich Holiday Inn
Address: Wallisellenstrasse 48, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Zurich Messe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Holiday Inn Zurich Messe is ideally located between the airport and the city center in an emerging business district. The hotels surroundings are embossed by the pulsating life of Switzerlands most famous concert and music venue hall Hallenstadion as well as the fair ground Messezentrum Zurich with its numerous exhibitions and the musical hall Theater 11 with its events of international appeal. All these top spots are right across the street within a few meters from the Holiday Inn Zurich Messe. Public transportation is conveniently available in front of the hotel with a direct tram which brings you to the city centre in only 17 minutes as well as a tram which brings you to the airport in only 15 minutes. The Holiday Inn Zuerich Messe is a non smoking hotel with an infrastructure of 164 guest rooms, 7 meeting rooms, a restaurant, a bar, a business center, a gym and a parking. All 164 comfortable non smoking rooms are decorated with the latest contemporary design and offer free high speed internet access and wifi as well as tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, a large work desk with ergonomic easy chair, phone with voicemail, air conditioning, safe and hair dryer. Executive rooms are available with additional space, larger beds and extra amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Zurich Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.