We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Spice

Five Spice
Zweierstr. 106, Zurich 8003, Switzerland
044 450 13 85
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 1,245 restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“One of the best Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've discovered this restaurant when I moved to Zurich, with collegues we go there at least once a week, and it's always perfect.
Lunch time they have only three different menus, but it's enought ^^
It allows you to have a quick and tasty lunch,
If your are vegetarian, you'll love this place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    17
    17
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Simply good Thai food. One of those far east places where natives go to eat.
Large room, nicely decorated. In summer, you can seat outside in the back-court
They serve Thai wines, we tried their rosé, it was better than expected.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Not impressed so far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Located two blocks from the Wiedikon Bahnhof. I arrived after the lunch crowd, so the atmosphere was rather relaxed. The restaurant was detailed in red fabric,dark wood tables, bamboo (wicker) chairs with seat cushions.

I was only offered the daily lunch menu specials, so I had to ask specifically for my dish. I ordered a beer and the Pad Thai with tofu. My meal arrived very fast (?) and it was certainly a large serving. As far as the taste of the Pad Thai, I though it was rather mediocre. The staff was friendly and attentive. The restaurant and bathrooms were clean.

The question, as far as would I return again? Based on the taste of the Pad Thai, no. But I would be willing to try another dish and give them a second chance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Mixed experience. Soup with shrimps, however more spicy than expected, was really tasty. But sweet and sour chicken, which came half an hour later, had nothing special except that it was very dry and had such abundance of sauce around that it seemed almost like another bowl of soup. Rice was good enough. Interior has refreshing big plants and flowers but it is also very eclectic as out of a sudden you see cheap-looking foil-like decorative stripe stretching along the ceiling or big mirror with primitive frames. Anyway, if you are in Zurich on Sunday evening and have only a credit card to pay, this will be one of very few places to eat in the neighborhood. And one tip: don't forget to take a chewing gum or toothbrush with you as the taste of the food is quite noticeable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went there with my family and we had a good assortment of dished (appetizers, pad thai, sweet sour duck, super spicy beef with veggies, peanut coconut chicken). The service was great and also the food really really good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Spice also viewed

Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 
Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 

Been to Five Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.