We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best asian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
talstrasse 83, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 43 888 64 54
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #702 of 1,247 restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $18 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Asian fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the best asian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I tried this restaurant now for the third time (since friends wanted to go there), but even if I am really fond of Asian food, I was not convinced about what I got. The location is central, however, there are much bettet choices available close by.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    7
    39
    34
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrace???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Came on a warm sunny Saturday afternoon in Autumn (28 degrees outside) as we knew there was a terrace. It was even advertised on the front window. "Come in and enjoy our terrace" When we came in and asked to sit on the terrace the girl in charge told us we can't. After asking why it is closed on such a beautiful day we receive a very rude reply that the sun will go down in a few hours and people will want to move back inside at night??? It was 2 in the afternoon? and every other restaurant we passed that day had people sitting outside. There were only 2 other guests in the restaurant and there were at least 2 service staff there and they were too lazy to let us sit outside even though they had nothing better to do. No wonder the restaurant was empty.

We stayed anyway as we were quiet hungry. Food came across as mass produced convenience food...understandable as it is a chain restaurant. Not really authentic Asian but ok if you want something easy and uncomplicated.

The girl that served us was very attentive and friendly but the girl in charge was just rude and arrogant.

Definitely won't be going back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nicely located in city center beside a little river. We were sitting outside, excellent food, you know what you get, the fresh juices you should try. I liked it spicy and got extra chilly, will come again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not the Wagamama of London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

It's OK but nothing like the Wagamama in London or Johannesburg (ZA).
In fact it is always empty, so that you won't have to queue...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice location, food same as other Wagamamas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

In spite of the other reviews, we liked it here. The staff were really friendly, and all spoke English; the food tasted like other wagamamas (although the pickles you usually get on the side salads were missing); the prices were standard for Switzerland; and the location is nice. Will be coming back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 
Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagamama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.