We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible gets worse every year” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Johanniter

Restaurant Johanniter
Niederdorfstrasse 70, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)
+4144 253 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #274 of 1,408 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
zürich, switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible gets worse every year”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've lived in Zürich for 30 years and have treid this restaurant every now and then. It used to be at least moderate quality but has goten worse over the years. I just ate there this week again because actually the dining area outside isn't bad. The liver and hash browns were so bad i couldn't eat it. The liver, sliced paper thin was like chewing leather. It swam in a lake of instant sauce that engulfed as well, the already too soft overcooked rösti (something like has browned potatoes, one of the best of the Swiss dishes when it's cooked well) They didn't offer to nock even a rappen off the bill. I had a burger at burger king afterward that was by far superior.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    114
    36
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still as amazing as it was 13 yrs ago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We came to Zurich 13 years ago and the Johanniter was a must on our to do list for this trip, as we'd been here on our previous trip. It really was just as we'd remembered it :) Excellent food and atmosphere!! And very friendly and staff. In particular, we thoroughly enjoyed the Geschnetzeltes Pouletfleish dish. We will definitely be back if we visit Zurich in the future :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
610 reviews 610 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Ok, basic German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Located in the Niederdorf on a well traveled path amongst a many dining and drinking establishments. I have visited here several times and on my most recent visit with a friend on the same night as the Champions League fussball finals. It was pretty busy as they were also showing the game live.

We ordered beef with pepper sauce and Rosti and the other dish was small cuts of chicken in mushroom sauce with butter noodles, a couple of beers and a salad. The food was average, but our waiter was friendly. I would return again for selected items on the menu or beers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Traditional Restaurant, Good Value with Great Atmospere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Restaurant Johanniter is near the start of Niederdorfstrasse close to Central Tram stop. It is like a beer hall converted into a restaurant and feels very Swiss / German.

The food is excellent and for Zürich, incredibly good value.

Overall the atmosphere is great especially in summer when the front wall is open to the street and you can sit in the evening enjoying watching the world go by as you eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food with Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wanted to take my family to a nice tradional swiss restaurant in Zürich centre, and this one fit the bill perfectly. Has traditional food, looks traditional and with friendly staff. Food was great as was the atmosphere. Would recommend as been there several times now and I have not been let down yet

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Johanniter also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Johanniter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Johanniter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.