We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samses

Samses
Langstrasse 231, Zurich 8005, Switzerland (Gewerbeschule)
044 440 13 13
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,405 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $27
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Gewerbeschule
Strasbourg
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Good - easy to get to (just off Limmat Platz - we went before going to a concert at X-tra), you can eat à la carte or from the buffet or both, large choice of vegetarian and vegan options (even had vegan wine!), buffet quite large, food delicious and creative, waitress was charming, helpful and spoke English, food from the buffet was heated up
Not-so-good - ate too much to try the desserts :-(, slightly pricey (but good for Zurich), small restaurant (booking definitely necessary)
I'm not vegetarian, but I'm willing to give up meat if I could eat Samses food every day!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful, creative food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I found this restaurant by accident and loved it so much that I went back every other night that I was in Zurich. I had the veggie burger the first night, it was a bit messy but absolutely, incredibly, delicious. Other nights I had to have take-away since the restautant was fully booked. I sampled a little of everything I could fit into the box and each dish was wonderful... some Indian, some Thai and some Swiss flavoured, each was great. It is obvious to me that the head chef is creative and inventive and can make a complete vegetarian meal healthily. I can't imagine a better veg restautant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
“Deliciuos and creative veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The food is really good. That reminds me grandmother dishes. We fully recomend because the price is not that expensive. We enjoyed the fact that there are several typs and combinations of deliciuos and creative veggie food. It is not possible trying everything only one time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paknampran
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not more than average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Ok, the food you get isn't that bad but honestly how many times did you have inedible food in Switzerland. I went there because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and was a bit disappointed.
Like most of my companions i decided to go for the buffet where there are variety of oriental, mostly vegetarian dishes. The majority of the dishes i selected were alright but lukewarm. Not what I expected from "one of the best" restaurants in Zurich. The value for the money is also not more than average regarding the huge amount of good oriental restaurants in the district which are charging you not even the half of what Samses is asking for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Same recepes for sauces”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The waiters were very stressed. Two of them had to take care of the entire restaurant, this on a Friday evening. They were very friendly togugh and I felt sorry for them. Really not the way to treat staff.

The food was ok but not special. Even we ordered two entirely different dishes, the sauces seem to have the same base and it all kind of tasted the same. The Rice was overcooked.

All in all the food was rather poor than ok when considering the prices. Not sure if we will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samses also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Samses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.