We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the main tourist area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of stattHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added stattHotel to your Saves list
stattHotel
1.0 of 5 Inn   |   Schneggengasse 8, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Zurich B&B and Inns
Hat Yai, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in the main tourist area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was fascinated by this hotel from the moment I tried to enter the building (took some finding from the street!) with the 'key code' and self-service method employed.

The room was smallish and the cleaning schedule inconvenient, but it was worth the cost and the location cannot be bettered. The ladies at reception were extremely helpful and go out of their way to help out, from directions, to providing the 'curious' electrical plugs necessary in Switzerland.

There are numerous good restaurants in the area, so food isn't a problem. There is a Micros (supermarket) a couple of blocks away, so basics are easily found.

With the tram system of Zurich being one of the best public transport system I have come across and the Rathaus stop being just outside the hotel, it is a simple matter to move around Zurich (I used the system to get from the airport and go back). Most of the time I went to the Train Station and ate at the restaurants there, particularly the Nordsee.

I will recommend this little hotel to anyone who doesn't need all the frills of the chain hotels.

Room Tip: No real tips as the hotel is very small. The noise from the street is well controlled with the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    56
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
13
38
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location and the lady at the reception is very nice and helpful. The rooms are stylish and clean and the atmosphere is great. The location is excellent as it is just a short distance from the Lake. There are also plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.
I look forward to staying in StattHotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel 'stattHotel' is located in the heart of Zurich old city, which provides excellent opportunities to reach the most of important things by feet. The hotel is rather a small one, which provides pleasant atmosphere and privacy. The rooms are beautifully designed. Reception is provided for certain day time, afterwards self-service and key are organized in an excellent way, I didn't miss anything; being an independent guest, I enjoyed this easiness and privacy very much. Very tidy, clean (am very critical with regards to the hygiene), the rooms & bathrooms are prepared in a professional way with an eye for detail and pragmatism - everything one needs. Enjoyed very much, that there were no carpets and no automatic air condition, considering both to be harmful for the health. Convenient beds. Everything one needs for a stay is provided, i. e. hygiene products in the bathroom, slippers, Nespresso cafe machine, incl. in the room price. It's not selfunderstood for Zurich hotels. The price is ok for Zurich considering very good service provided and often attractive offers. The location around might be a bit noisy in the early weekend evenings for those, who needs absolute silence and goes early to bed, but the windows are good isolated and there is no issue re. security.
I'm glad to have found this 'hidden place' in Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braughing
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location, attic suite is awesome - outside terrace, loads of space, full kitchen (with coffee machine, and free coffee!)

All the sights are just a short distance away, a trip down the lake on the ferry to Rapperswil is highly recommended (get the 9hr transport ticket for just 23CHF).

Was a bit noisy, but only due to the Neiderdorf festival.

The painting equipment with easel and canvas was a great addition and we hope to see our picture hanging up when we visit next.

Room Tip: Attic Room for families is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's a gem in Zurich! The place is very near Zurich HB, 5-10mins walk. Zurich sights are just a short walking distance away. There are plenty of shops & restaurants around the hotel which can get a bit noisy at night (it's tolerable especially when they provide you with earplugs!) But our room was pretty nice and cozy. It's clean and got everything you'll need --- free WiFi, travel adapters, earplugs, slippers, nice sheets and towels, a Nespresso machine and Lindt candies! You should read their "black book" upon checking in your room. It has EVERY information you'll need. Such a sweet hotel! We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Perffectly situated, clean and very friendly reception. It could become loud in the evening, but I had a court-side room. Enything I needed. Will certainly return there.

Room Tip: I would ask a court-side room, it more silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribe, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I just want to go back, nice hotel, nice peoble , clean and there was everything I needed...I am sure to go back there.

Room Tip: I was in room 32, and liked it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to stattHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about stattHotel

Address: Schneggengasse 8, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — stattHotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your stattHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage stattHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.