We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms, perfect location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hirschen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hirschen
Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Augsburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average rooms, perfect location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the station and in the middle of the Old Town. It's perfectly located to visit the complete city and to enjoy the bars and restaurants. The rooms are small but very clean. Of course the official pictures and the description don't fit 100%. The furniture is ikea and the walls of our room were dirty with footprints. The rooms are supposed to be all covered by wifi connection which is not the case for the 8th floor. And if you make them notice it to the receptionist called Sarah(?) she will first of all answer you that you can't expect more since it's for free and if you insist that it's not as described she will arrogantly send you away. All the other people at the reception were really nice. The breakfast is good and served till 11, so also the late birds are satisfied. So in general it's a good hotel and perfectly located but maybe a bit too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that do not have any window on the square side, on the w-e it will be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear GabGer84
Thank you for choosing the Hirschen Hotel and your review. We are happy that over all you did enjoy your stay with us. We know that some of the rooms need to be new painted and this will be done with other renovations in winter time. From Spring to December our occupancy does not allow us to close rooms for renovations. The WIFI is free for our guests and is working accurate in the reception area and the breakfast room. You are right that sometimes the signal can be weak in the upper floors. This is in fact a problem in a over 500 years old building. We are already trying to find an other provider which can fix this problem, but we have not yet found someone who can guarantee that the service is good in every room. We apologize for the bad experience you have made that day with one of our receptionists. This should of course not happen and is really unusal for us.
As we know that there are still some points (renovated rooms, better WIFI) we can make our guests stay even more comfortable, we often make special offers for our rooms with very attractive rates.
We would be pleased to welcome you again at the Hirschen Hotel.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    35
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
65
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I chose this hotel as it is described as being in the center of the old town and near the train station (about a 10min walk).

The hotel is definitely located centrally, close to the lake, the river, the old city and the train station but in my opinion that's about the best thing about it. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Onto the bad.

The rooms are quite outdated. IKEA style furniture and old TVs. Almost no wardrobe space. Bathrooms aren't nice at all, with a curtain not a glass screen which is quite unhygienic.

Rooms are also noisy. I had a "neighbor" who was cackling all night long. I didn't hear any noise from the street but it's the other rooms next to you which you should worry about.

Also the fact that the curtain is thin means you will be woken up by the sunlight coming into your room at sunrise.

There are no views from the rooms which don't face the square, unless you stick your head out and turn left or right.

The hotel is also quite expensive (in any other European country you wouldn't pay more than €60 for such a room in a similar location) but then again Switzerland is very expensive.

If you care about the location and can afford the price, but don't mind staying in a poor hotel then stay here. If you don't care about the location or don't mind taking a bus, check out another hotel farther away from the center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, with less neighboring rooms they should be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Alkis_H
Thank you for your review about your recent stay.
The Hirschen is located in a historic, over 500 years old building and so our rooms will never be equipped with modern furniture as this would not match. But there are some slight renovations planned in the winter months, such as new TV's, news carpets and wall painting and new black out curtains. As the space in our bathrooms is limited and all floor plans are different, we cannot install glass screens in most of the rooms.
We apologize that you have been disturbed by your neigbours at night. Our front desk is available 24hours to assist our guest whenever they need it, especially at night when guests are disturbed by others. We are sorry that you have not told us immediately so that we could make sure your neigbours stop disturbing you.
Zurich is not a cheap destination, this is a fact. But compared to other Zurich hotels in the same excellent location we still have reasonable rates.
We hope that you did enjoy your stay in Zurich and you have taken good memories back to Cyprus.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The ugly: Loud at night due to the alley downstairs, but simultaneously entertaining to hear the kids singing drinking songs.
The bad: small shower with an odd little curtain, but clean, with good water pressure and good hot water.
The good: I found the bed comfy, bright room with several opening windows kept it breezy. When we looked out our window, you could turn and see the river(who doesn't like that?!).
Also of note, the breakfast! I personally am a sucker for cheese and meats, and I found it to be completely adequate, and such a money saver to have inclusive breakfast, not to mention a good coffee. Free Wifi helped, too.

Not bad at all...it's expensive, but it's in Zurich, so that's the way it goes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Kjberms
It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your nice review. To be in the heart of the old town is a big advantage, all main attractions can be reached within walking distance. But on the other hand this means that there are a lot of people in the area and so it can be noisy at night, especially on weekends or during summer time.
We hope we will be able to welcome you again some time.
Best regards from the Hirschen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First of all, the destination is really great. The price was also convenient, so the several negative moments (like small room and bathroom) receded into the background. The service was really nice, for example, we were offered to drink a cup of coffee while checking in. The breakfast was not fancy, just some bread, eggs, cheese and ham, cereals and fruits. In my opinion that is quite enough:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Marianna_Smolina
Thank you for choosing the Hirschen Hotel and your review. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. We make our best to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. We are located in a building wich is over 600 years old. In this ancient time, the rooms were small and there were no bathrooms of course. So when the bathrooms were placed, the space was limited. So our rooms are small, but charming.
We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location is excellent being close to tourist sites and the central railway station. Spoilt by having no mini-bar, no flat screen TV (although hotel ad stated as providing such) only an older style that was faulty, and stingy with electric lighting - so bad could hardly read at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear AndyA43
Thank you for your stay in December and your rewiev. We always appreciate to hear what has pleased our guests and what we can do to make our guests stay even more comfortable. I have taken over the Hotel Hirschen in January 2013 and we have already planned several approvements. One project is to exchange the TVs, but as most of our guests spend the time outside the room to discover the city right in front of the door, we will implement other improvements first and the TVs will be changed by the end of the year. We will check the light situation in the rooms as it should of course be possible to read without any problems and I am glad you have called my attention to that.I hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future so that you will have the possibility to enjoy all the improvements.
Kind regards, Silvia Mohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Or Yehuda, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The place is noisy, dirty and below par.
People sitting chatting on the stairs inside the hotel and rowdies on the roads outside for most of the night.
The only redeeming feature is the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Shalom M
I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Hotel Hirschen last November. Our location in the heart of the old town is perfect to visit the main attractions of our lovely city and to stroll around, but this great location implicates that a lot of people visit our area and not all of them consider the neighbourhood. Inside the hotel all our guests are obliged to consider the needs of the other guests and should not make any noise. For all concerns of our guests our reception is available 24hrs. The cleanliness of our rooms is one of the most commended points from all our guests and so we are very upset that your room was not as perfect as it should be. I regret that you did not report to the reception that you feel uncomfortable in your room and you did not give us the opportunity to change you to another room.
I thank you for your review so that we have the chance to upgrading our service to make our guests feel even more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lübeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel location is great, 10 minutes walking from the train station and just in the center of Zurich. The staff were very gentle and kind to us, and the room was perfect, small, but clean and quiet. I totally recommend this hotel to people that just want a good place to sleep and walk around the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Andre B
It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay at the Hirschen Hotel. Thank you for your review. It is our effort to make our guests feel at home far from home. We hope we can welcome you soon again at the Hirschen.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.