We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience - great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hirschen to your Saves list
Hotel Hirschen
Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful experience - great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed at the Hirschen in December - what a great choice! Small, family run hotel in the heart of the old town, just footsteps away from all attractions Zürich has to offer. Helpful and motivated staff 24hrs a day, delicous buffet breakfast with fresh products. Rooms are quite small and basic but charming and very clean. Don't miss out the historical wine cave! Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
73
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Hirschen while on a business trip to Zurich. Hotel is in a great location - about a 10-15 minute walk from the Zurich main train station. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Arrived eary on a Sunday morning after an overnight flight from the US, and they had a room ready for me for an early check in. I then asked for a room toward the rear of the hotel, and they were able to make the change. Rooms are small and not well appointed, but very comfortable and very clean. At CHF170 per night, a great value for the location, as most other hotels nearby are over CHF200 per night. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I work in Zurich during the week and have recently moved to this hotel from a large, higher star category due to the reviews and what I heard of the service.

My first room was to load, they moved all my things for me to another room, this one was to cold, they moved my things to another room for me...no questions asked and very eager to please.
I am served my coffee each morning, I try to pour it myself but the woman is so sweet, she insists.
Great breakfast room looking out to the old city, the rooms are quaint and comfortable, cable TV and all one needs.
I usually end up chatting with the reception employees when I return from work, such interesting and motivated staff is seldom and this hotel is not a chain, star rated or very well know...pretty amazing.
The hotel is the OLDEST B&B in all of Zurich, built around 1600 so you can imagine the inside, absolutely beautiful lobby and fixtures.
The best of all, it is over 100€ less expensive per night than the 3 star hotels I was staying in but they care!
If your in Zurich and you do not stay here, you are missing something.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask for the rooms on the back side of the house, away from the elevators and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in January. It was very easy to reach this hotel via train and tram from the airport rather than using a taxi which is expensive in Zurich. The staff at this hotel were great throughout the booking process as well as during our stay.
The breakfast was great, fresh meat and cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, croissants, bread, juice etc. The coffee was wonderful (not the pre-perculated stuff, ask for a latte or espresso & they make it fresh).
As other reviewers have stated, the room was spartan, however it was very clean. We had an outdoor deck, however as it was winter we had no cause to use this. Also, although they reset the wifi for us a couple of times, we found it to be very slow.
Overall, I would say this was a wonderful little hotel, good value for money considering the very central location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hotel Hirschen was a great value in the perfect location for visiting Zurich. The room was a little spartan, but very clean. Breakfast was quire nice as well. The real treat was the historic "Weinschenke", a wine bar in the basement featuring a 14th century well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The hotel is in Niederdorfstrasse, where there are many restaurants, within walking distance of the main railway station. The building is very old (mediaeval!) but renovated. Rooms are rather spartan but spotlessly clean and breakfast is good. Wifi available free. The hotel is family owned with friendly multilingual staff.

There's a great wine bar downstairs where you can get a good light meal at a very reasonable price. In summer they also serve food and drinks on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

Great value. Good location, friendly staff and nice room. Free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.