We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, efficient service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nagasui

Nagasui
Selnaustrasse 16, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
+41 44 288 38 88
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,382 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $1 - $78
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Uzwil, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“excellent food, efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As a regular happy client during lunch times i also tried the dinner menues and was happy with the choice. Awesome bejing duck, and great selection of startes. For dinner the restaurant tried to improve the ambiance by putting a candleholder to sperate parties on the long tables. That helps but Nagasui is not the place for a romantic dinner sitting on hart benches despite the excellent food and the friendly staff. During summer time the outdoor setting however has its charm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Friendly staff. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Friendly staff. Good service. Scrumptious food!
Love that it has an open kitchen. I always love to see chefs in action plus the transparency of how your food is being prepared.
The ambience is lovely. Price is definitely above average. However, you have several options for small sized bites.
I went around the kitchen to see what's cooking. The chef was extra friendly to me (well, I seem to bring that out in others :-)). I asked him to make me a real authentic spicy somtam that he would normally make just for the Thais. He did just that. It was simply delicious. Ok, I definitely have to return soon for that Som Tam again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodnewton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pan-asian choice with great staff and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Dropped in here a couple of night back with my partner and a friend who walks past the place every day when he's in Zurich and we were all really impressed. Very good food choice (Chinese, Thai, Indonesian) and excellent service. All the staff had great English (which is helpful for those of us that struggle with Schweizer Deutsch). Excellent Portugese red wine was a good match for the food and the desert was the best I have ever tasted in any Asian themed restaurant. By Zurich standards good value too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Asian variety on a high level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been dining in this restaurant, trying a variety of asian meals: chinese, taiwanese, thai. The food was very fresh and of excellent quality, made of fresh and tasty ingredients. Inside the restaurant you can overview the whole kitchen area through large windows - and see that the cooks (all asians) work with care and clean hands. Desserts are rather european or swiss style but delicious as well. The young and helpful staff rounds up the very positive impression. In Summertime, you can sit outside near a small river with view to the old botanical garden of zurich on the other bank. Only criticism: the purist and modern interior is not really my taste - and the seating could be a little more comfortable. But the place is very recommendable none the less.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chinese art of cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Services:
The staff were all very friendly and courteous. They went to the wishes of the guests. For each menu, they asked us if it had tasted, which was very thoughtful. All were very motivated and always have a smile on your face.

Menu:
Very creative and diverse. This restaurant stands out, especially because of the interesting menu descriptions. They specialize in the dish with duck, dim sum and sweet & sour. Very tasteful and intense. Variety of homemade dishes. The wait between courses was perfect around the belly to make a break.

atmosphere:
The light was due to the music in the background. The waterfall on the wall seemed very relaxing and soothing. Very pleasant.

Those who want to experience the art of Chinese cuisine, you should definitely make a visit to Nagasui Zurich.

Written by www.amusebouchesite.wordpress.com

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagasui also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Nagasui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagasui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.