We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hafenrestaurant

Hafenrestaurant
Hafenplatz 2, Zug CH-6300, Switzerland
+41 41 711 90 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 91 Restaurants in Zug
Cuisines: Seafood, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I visited with business colleagues (×7) and we all enjoyed the quality and choice of the food. Service was very good and the views would have been great if it wasn't dark and raining!
I would visit again next time in Zug

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    35
    33
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
549 reviews 549 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“Superb location, good food, high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have visited this restaurant several times.

The food was always good but not exceptional. The lake fish and the surf & turf brochette were good. The rinstatar was very well prepared although the garnison was not the best choice.

The service was gentle but could improve.

The location is great, same the inside room ( with a pleasant modern decoration) as the outside terrase, which is on the lake, with a nive view of the lakeside and mountains. This is the main reason that can -partly- justify their prices.

A bad point is that some tables are too close to the next tables. This happen too often in switzerland. Greedy swiss restaurants owners should deeply think about it. For this reason, i rate the place with 3* and not 4.

Prices rather on the high side, at least 60 sfr per person for a starter and a main dish. Then add drinks and dessert.

No problem to park the car 50 metres away, but don' t forget to bring some coins (zentrale parkuhr area).

I would return to this place if i get a table where ny neighbours are not oblige to listen to my conversation, otherwise i would leave the place and would go to a half this price restaurant to get similar food, although without the view.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perch was not bad; views are the best part”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant recently changed management and from what I hear, used to be terrible. Since then, the food has gotten better but service is still pretty bad. We waited over an hour to get our entrees. The food itself wasn't anything spectacular but it was not bad - especially after the countless terrible Swiss restaurants I had eaten at before. The restaurant has a terrace that sits right on Lake Zug and has a wonderful view of the Marina and Old Zug. It was definitely the best part of having lunch there.

Photos and more information here: http://stormypeach.com/hafenrestaurant-zug/

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great new decor spoiled by slow service, mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Hafen Restaurant recently underwent a much-needed redesign. As a result, the outdoor bar area is now very hip and comfortable. We stopped by for a drink, and a quick bite, in the bar area. The waitress took our drink order, delivered the first round, and then failed to check back for the rest of the evening. Every time we wanted something, we would have to flag down another waitperson who would then promise to ask our waitress to stop by. She never did. When the pasta arrived, an hour and a half after it was ordered, it was difficult to find a mushroom in the penne with chantarelle dish. The dish was tasteless except for the full clove of uncooked garlic at the end. We asked for the bill–not from our waitress but someone else, of course– and that took another 30 minutes to deliver. We thought of complaining to the manager, but he so studiously avoided "unhappy" looking customers that we knew only "positive" input was sought. Our advice on the Hafen Restaurant: Start your evening by enjoying a coffee/beer on the terrace and enjoy the beautiful views–then continue on to a different restaurant where the food and service are better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overall I left more satisfied than last time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lunch again, this time on the terrace with perfect weather. Still dont like the very narrow seating. One can hardly move and not bothering the neighbor, or disturb or get disturbed by just talking. Food and Service was very acceptable. Fish dishes are overpriced. Too much is charged for the location.....but the place was full.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hafenrestaurant also viewed

Zug, Canton of Zug
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Sempach, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Hafenrestaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hafenrestaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.