We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice exterior and location...not so great indoors...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City-Hotel Ochsen Zug

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added City-Hotel Ochsen Zug to your Saves list
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
Am Kolinplatz 11, Zug CH 6300, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice exterior and location...not so great indoors...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for a night on a business trip the location is great near the old center...the interior is supposed to be "traditional" but in all honesty it's just very, very simple. The bed is hard and somewhat uncomfortable...the TV is tiny and the room feels like a box, the bathroom is tiny with a small shower...I typically write long reviews getting into details of the hotel...in this case it's simple: you know you are in Switzerland because you pay 250+ dollars for an incredibly simple and below-par accommodations...

I would stay in Zurich if you can...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your review.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It's true that our Superior hotel rooms dispose of a simplicity, a high quality simplicity though with only natural materials (wood and stone). Our beds (the duckboard and the mattress) are specially designed to provide a good and healthy sleep, they are so called "Hüsler-Nest Betten". We are sorry that this bed was too hard for you. We made a note in your file to provide you with a thicker and softer mattress during your next stay.

Despite these issues we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our historic hotel and we remain with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
14
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights for business. Lovely location by the Old Town and close to the lake. The train station is walking distance and also an easy bus connection.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. A solid if unspectacular breakfast was served, although it seems service only starts at 6.30am. Like another reviewer, I had problems with Internet connectivity, although in my case, it seemed to be network issues rather than wifi reception as often I would be receiving a strong signal yet be unable to access the Internet.

Internet issues aside, this is a charming hotel to stay at in the Zug area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review and your time!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Just one small comment to be correct ;-): our breakfast is starting at 6.15am and if you tell us the evening before, that you have to leave earlier than that we'll be able to arrange a packed-breakfast for you as well.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the Hotel Ochsen Zug again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good hotel for business trips and centrally located. Close to the lake area where all of the main resturants and bars are located. Typically styled attractive swiss building and decor. Very efficient service and comfortable well appointed rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MA, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is very clean. Service is prompt. Very effectively managed. New chef and his dishes were very good and served to order. Close to the lake which had lots of outdoor dinning. Train station is about a 12 minutue walk. Lots of places to shop.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor facing the street. Room was small but comfortable. This was my first sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falsterbo, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After a rather long trip, we felt very relaxed to reach Zug and check in to your hotel.
Very friendly and helpful people at reception, our car was taken care of a parked in a garage and delivered to us at the time for check out. The quality of the equipment is very good, the only small problem we had was to get a strong signal to the internet, perhaps because of the thick walls.
After a nice breakfast we left for Sweden.
We will definetely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Charming hotel and typical Swiss frontage (think flower boxes and wood) in a nice part of town near the lake. Internet and aircon worked. Nice fruit at breakfast. The only downside was the sound of the nearby clock tower throughout the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

All in all, a very pleasant place to stay: tidy and spacious double room decorated with wood, good breakfast, a convenient double bed, sitting area, a kettle and tea, free wi-fi in the room. Excellent location: in the old town, close to the lake and the train station is just 10 minutes walk away. Staff was friendly and helpful.
What seemed somewhat strange to me - it was shower. There were actually both a bath and a shower in the bathroom, but there was no shower cabin and one had to stand right on the floor when taking shower. But I can't say it's a great disadvantage - just a bit weird to me.
Another point, it's not a cheap place at all, but that's Switzerland, a country with a 'Swiss surcharge' for everything.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 304 - it was a rather spacious double room decorated, I would say, in a country sty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City-Hotel Ochsen Zug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City-Hotel Ochsen Zug

Address: Am Kolinplatz 11, Zug CH 6300, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Ochsen Zug right in the old city, personally run by the owner – with naturally finished rooms full of charm and free Internet. Superb wine list and restaurant with market-fresh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your City-Hotel Ochsen Zug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.