We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs atmosphere and a view - more OK than average but not "Very Good"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Zug

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parkhotel Zug to your Saves list
Parkhotel Zug
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Industiestrasse 14, Zug 6304, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zug
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Needs atmosphere and a view - more OK than average but not "Very Good"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

On business you see the hotel, airport and client office and that can often be it. This hotel works just fine for me - very convenient location - walking distance to the office and to the lakeside and has a pool (quiet and nice). It is very clean and generally everything, as per most of Switzerland, is very efficient. It just lacks a bit of soul and character - it's all a bit bland..so I'd think twice before staying here for leisure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    55
    19
    2
    8
See reviews for
7
15
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

It's great for the business traveler but having stayed there a few times I've yet to see any young couples or families with children. The small rooms are very clean and the internet access via cable isn't too bad. The people at the front desk are very accomodating...

The hotel is located on a quiet street, no lake view. It's walking distance to the train station, the lake, shops and restaurants.

I just find this place incredibly expensive... 4 nights, 2 days with internet and 1 buffet breakfast... and the total bill was $1098 US dollars. Unbelievable....I think we can better by staying in Lucerne and taking the train back to Zug.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

On walking into the lobby of the hotel in the evening I checked in, I was met with a strong smell of cigarette smoke. For Switzerland is one of the few countries in Europe where you can still smoke in restaurants and bars.

In the evening in the lobby there is a very smoky smell, and also in the restaurant. So not ideal.

The Park Hotel is a strange place. It is fine enough but lacks charm, warmth of atmosphere and feels a bit underwhelming. It is not a hotel one would seek out, it is functional and very much a business meeting and overnight stay place.

The room I had I believe was a "junior suite". It was large, in an "L" shape. It seems to have been modernised quite recently.

There is a large quite low height bed, that was comfortable. There was a seating area with 2 very modern looking and not especially comfortable chairs and a table. It felt a bit like an Ikea room setting.

There is a small desk, and TV that is not particularly good quality, but does have a lot of channels - including surprisingly 2 porn channels that are non-fee. So if you flick through channels you get more than just the news....

There is good cupboard space, and a tea/ coffee making facilities (a plus always).

The bathroom is large with not very nice moulded sink unit, no bath but a good sized glass walled shower.

I had room service dinner to avoid the smoky restaurant area and that was efficient but un spectacular. The breakfast in the restaurant was the same, with a fairly average buffet.

I did not use any of the pool or fitness, but good to know they have it.

The location is good as about maximum 10 minutes walking from the Zug train station. But overall a very average hotel, but the main one in the area. It lacks charm.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

The Parkhotel is a solid business-class hotel. It is centrally located in Zug and is a short hop to the train station and a close walk to most of the companies that are in town. The hotel is also walking distance to many good restaurants and the Old Town which is right on the lake, making for a nice stroll when the weather is nice.

The rooms are spacious, decor modern, bathrooms big, beds comfy. The rooms have hardwood flooring and simple, tasteful design. I had a week-long stay and had to switch rooms and got to experience both a standard and a junior suite, both of which were nice, the only difference being a small sitting area in the junior suite. My only complaint was that there's a dispenser for liquid that has a dual shampoo/body wash use. Nice if you're camping, not so nice if you're in a comfy hotel.

The hotel also has a nice bar area and the staff there is very pleasant. The food was also quite good (I recommend the tomato soup and brie sandwich), but expensive (as most of Zug tends to be). Still, its a nice place to unwind.

I'd recommend the hotel for anyone making the trip to Zug. It is a solid property that handles the business travellers with ease.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and was pleasantly surprised. The staff were really nice and very helpful. The food was excellent and the facilities are fine. The location is excellent; only about 5 mins walk from the railway station. The rooms are minimalist in design and comfortable.

The downsides now. The cabled internet was awful. VERY slow. Pay the extra and us ethe wireless network - this is Swisscom and as you might expect - fast! The leisure facilites are pretty poor also. Firstly, the hotel information folder in the rooms state that the fitness room opens at 09.00. If this is true then thats far too late for folks like me who like to work out beforte they go to work. Access to the fitness room is using your room card and so I suspect that you can actually get in to the room when you want.

The equipment is old and poor. The treadmill has an incline function but this doesnt work. There are no mats for floorwork and the floor is concrete so you cant just lie on the floor.

On balance, I would recommend the hotel. The mast two points are relatively minor

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Internet (cabled)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

From an American standpoint. We stayed there with my family for a weekend in June. Here are my thoughts

1. Modern, fully equiped business hotel, very safe with a great breakfast. Watch out for the free porn in the room if you have kids.
2. 330 franks per night weekend but jacked it to 460 on monday night so beware
3. The town is full of Italian restaurants...pretty awesome
4. Right near the train and Lucern is 30 minutes...great day trip
overall great choice
5. A double queen is actually two twins pushed together FWI

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Zug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Zug

Address: Industiestrasse 14, Zug 6304, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Zug 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new dimension of upscale decor. Come and experience the ultimate in urban design.As you step into the Parkhotel Zug you are welcomed into a small world of unique elegance and inviting beauty. Our lobby – actually more of a living room – is dominated by a classically elegant design with light colors and first-class furnishings which invite you to stay.The 112 rooms and suites of the Parkhotel Zug are perfectly suited both for business travelers as well as individual guests. The rooms are designed with a modern ambiance as well as the latest technical facilities and amenities of a Superior hotel – all designed to satisfy even the most experienced travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Parkhotel Zug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Zug Hotel Zug

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Zug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.