We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of la Rouvenaz

la Rouvenaz
1 Rue du Marche, Montreux 1820 , Switzerland
+41 21 963 27 36
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 96 Restaurants in Montreux
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian food and seafood restaurant
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The food is excellent, I had the lasagne and this was great.
The ambience is ok, nothing special.
The service is less than average.
Good value for the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    161
    52
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The food was better than expected, nice burgers and nice starters. The waiter was friendly but it was obvious that he is not trained to do the job. You had to call, clap or whistle to attract his attention. It's the type of waiters that avoid to make eye contact in order to avoid the workload. After almost 2 years in the country I am sure that this is something like a habit in the country..most of the stuff are complacent and they are showing that are bored to death serving our tables..this is a general comment that fits also for this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice venue, good food, sedate service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I reserved a table in the conservatory overlooking the lake, midweek, for an anniversary meal. On arrival we got exactly what I asked for. This is a classy, high-profile Italian restaurant on the main drag and consequently attracts many passing diners. At 7:30 PM the restaurant was already almost full thus vindicating the decision to make a specific reservation. After an excellent start the service became inattentive. Only by signalling the waiting staff were we able to order. This became the pattern for the whole evening. However, when the food arrived it was imaginatively presented. The spatchcock chicken turned out to be a generous and tasty meal. The cod was baked and served in foil with a selection of fresh vegetables, thus retaining the juices and flavours of both. Although this was an authentic way to cook it felt slightly odd to be eating from aluminium foil, almost like a supermarket ready meal before being served. Nevertheless, in the end, the occasion, the ambiance and the quality of the food won out over the niggles. Recommended? Yes, I if atmosphere is more important than attentive service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Some Great, Some Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was concerned about the service after choosing this restaurant based on the TA reviews. I can see why the personnel would fall into a little bit if arrogance if provoked. But this was not the case for us. We made reservations and were greated with courtesy and given a very nice table on the terrace. Around sunset, this is a very enjoyable to spend a warm evening.
Several persons came up without reservations and had to sit inside. By 8pm, many persons were turned away.
The service was provided by a few persons in their low 20's. Nevertheless, they were professional and effective. They had a little bit of attitude as young persons often have but it was mostly contained.
The wine was served promptly and the meal was served in proper sequence.
The mozzarella di buffala caprese was served with reduced balsamic vinegar. The fresh tomatoes, tasty cheese and light pesto was very, very good. The salmon tagliatelle with salmon was lightly savored with lemon; it was good. The fusilli a la rouvenaz (rosé sauce with chicken) was bland and very average.
After a week in Switzerland, the 100 francs for 2 glasses of decent wine, great appetizer and 2 main course and one coffee, i find the cost value relationship as being swiss, not cheap but in line with the offering.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant Grumpy Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We came in without a reservation around 7:00pm on a Sunday. We were seated right away in the backroom. Our server did not seem at all happy to be there. He unhappily took our orders brought our food and never came back to get us more drinks. Tracking him down for the check was not an easy feat. Food and drinks were good though, we had pizzas and aperols. Pizza prices were good as well.

If service isn't a big deal to you, I recommend La Rouvenaz. If we were still in Montreux, I would come back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Rouvenaz also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to la Rouvenaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la Rouvenaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.