We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of la Rouvenaz

la Rouvenaz
1 Rue du Marche, Montreux 1820 , Switzerland
+41 21 963 27 36
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 96 Restaurants in Montreux
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian food and seafood restaurant
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Check the bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a late lunch in a Sunday- perhaps the time is why the service slowed to a stop by the end of the meal. The pizza was excellent- diavalo and calzone. The wine was good, but sims could catch attention for a second glass, and the ordered espresso didn't make it to the table after 15 minutes but made it onto the bill. We noticed the table next to us also had a problem with the bill, and spent a long time trying to get it. I can definitely recommend the food, would suggest trying to get a seat in the covered 'outdoor' area, and definitely check your bill.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    161
    52
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant is very popular and many tourists but also locals like to eat here. The seafood is quite special and always very fresh. The service was, however, quite average and staff not too friendly. The food was also good, but not extraordinary. Anyway, one of the better places to eat when in Montreux, with good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“first choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

many many visits and it never disappoints...even when our airline changed our flight times we still went and asked for our meal to be served at midady and it was as brilliant as ever!...i vote La Rouvenaz in my top 5 restarants in the world.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Whenever in Montreux for business we come here on lunch. This is nice Italian reastaurant, with very good choice of pasta and daily menu. Daily menu is different every day, always very good. For example, today we had salmon with pumpkin as a starter and gnocchi sardi as a main dish, both tasty and very good. Interior looks very nice, service is average, it used to be better, but it seems that they changed most of the stuff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not as extraordinary as I was expecting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went to La Rouvenaz after checking TripAdvisor (as always) and, maybe due to high expectations, I did not find this place to be excellent.

It is true that it delivers plates with a visual and taste above average, but still I did not found it extraordinary. I will grade it with a 4 stars score.

You notice that they put a lot of effort in the plates and somehow innovate from the normal lunch/dinner but it is missing something to turn it extraordinary.

The place was crowded all the time, therefore it is better if you do a reservation.

I will return there and try the "Moules" or the sea fish dish, to see if my opinion somehow changes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Rouvenaz also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to la Rouvenaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la Rouvenaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.