We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bon-Port Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bon-Port Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bon-Port Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Theatre 4 bis, Montreux 1820, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Montreux
Montreux, Vaud, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service but average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I visited my parents here and decided to stay with them because they were visiting me during my studies in Montreux. We had a triple room on the first floor. I found that the rooms were definitely way too cramped for three people. The bathroom is tiny and the showers can barely fit one person as there isn't enough room to move around. I slept well mainly because I can get a good night sleep anywhere I have to sleep, but my parents didn't sleep well because the beds were too hard. (Of course bed preference varies from person to person.)

Although those were the negatives, I must say that this hotel maintains cleanliness relatively well. The service quality was excellent and very personal. I was warmly greeted every time I entered by the staff and reception. I felt that they gave the service experience on a more personal level.

The hotel is located on a quiet street right down the street from the Montreux Casino, which has a nice restaurant inside with a view of Lake Geneva. The small shopping area and amazing boardwalk is located about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    53
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
26
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in this little hotel with our grown up son when taking a break to drive into the moutains at Villars sur Ollon. What a friendly, clean and comfortable little hotel in the midst of the extremely expensive but beautiful Montreaux. Highly recommended as the staff were extra friendly and we could park the car in their tiny garage (albeit a little expensive to use the garage!) Great location and perfect to make trips to nearby Vevey (beautiful place) and other surrounding interests. Good breakfast although we felt we would rather have paid a little more for the room and have just a continental breakfast included in the price. Otherwise no complaints at all.

Room Tip: It might be even quieter at the back but we liked the front view - could almost see the lake and cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 days in Bon-Port Hotel. The Location was nice, 3 min from the center. The Room was exactly like on the picture in the internet page. There was free coffee and teas. The Bathroom was very nice and clean. Also in the Hotel they have a computer with internet free to use from everyone.
The only 2 thing i didn't like were that there was no restaurant in the Hotel, so no room service and also was very noisy in the mornings.

Room Tip: better not be on the first floor, its to noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Bon Port hotel was better than we expected. The location was very good! 2 minutes away from the lake and bus stop (plus they also give you Riviera Card which allows you to use unlimited public transport in Montreux). It’s also about 10 minutes away from many good restaurants & shops. It was also in a very quiet location, so you will get a good night’s sleep. Breakfast was ok. Reception was also very helpful in providing us with local information (how to get to Chateau de Chillon, etc). It’s a bit expensive though (but then, everything in Switzerland is expensive)Will return here if we visit Montreux again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for five nights in July during the Jazz Festival. Staff was very helpful. Good breakfast in bright, airy room. Easy walk to casino, lake, jazz venues. Longer walk (10-12 blocks or so) from train station but still doable. Room was spacious and clean with lots of natural light but furniture needed either repair or replacement (e.g. molding on several pieces of furniture - desk and clothes closet - had been haphazardly repaired in the past with the repair failing in the present...). Surprisingly inexpensive phone calls to the US from the room. Pretty good value (although still expensive given the USD exchange rate) considering the alternatives in Montreux.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterworth, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our final hotel we stayed on our 8 days trip to Switzerland before heading off to Geneva.Montreux is a very lovely town by the Lake which was beautiful.This hotel was just 5 minutes from the LAke in a very quiet location. We took a taxi from the station.
The room was an average size with a ceiling fan.This was the only hotel we stayed in Switzerland that provided a kettle in the room which was very convenient for us travelling with a little boy.
Check in was fast and they gave a pass for the public transport in Montreux.The hotel was within walking distance to everywhere.Nothing fancy, simple clean and very very quiet.
Breakfast was ok with the usual spread of bread and croissant.If you want a simple hotel , clean and comfortable this would be the right choice. I saw a Chinese Restaurant nearby.There were lot of shops within walking distance and small shopping complex with McDonalds and supermarket.All by the Lake.I did a lot of shopping in Montreux, local crafts and local brand hand bags which were reasonably priced, surprisingly.We took the train to Laussanne , visited the Olimpic Village and came back to Montreux via boat. How cool was that!
Being the final leg of our incredible journey to Switzerland I truly enjoyed my stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

+ve: good location 3 minutes walk to the lake and the bus stop and not very far from the train station, nice refurbished clean modern rooms. friendly and kind staff especially the morning time receptionist (the female). good price. breakfast is ok

-ve: It's pretty unconventional note night duty receptionist smells really bad as his intolerable smell spreads to the whole reception area. He came to my room trying to fix safe box that was broken down. He made our room smells bad as his smell!!
he has to pay special attention to his hygiene and cleanliness!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bon-Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon-Port Hotel

Address: Rue du Theatre 4 bis, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon-Port Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bon-Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Port Hotel Montreux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon-Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.