We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here in the summer what ever you do!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Grand-Rue, Montreux 1820, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont stay here in the summer what ever you do!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place without airconditioning is so horribly hot in the summer months. Also my first day taking a shower was a disaster. The water didnt drain out of the shower and I found tons of hair stuck in the drain that was the problem, It really grossed me out.

The owner really wanted to please me and I know he tried because he wanted me to give this place a good review. He told me that! But I cant honestly give this place a good review. The only thing that was good about it really is the location.It is very central to the town and to all transportation. that is a plus,but honeslty I was thinking of checking out early and finding another hotel because I was very uncomfortable here in July. If the weather is hot at all find another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    92
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
77
147
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel in center of Montreux with a very good price. The hotel has an old-style retro image at the reception which is very nice.

Our Room was fine but it had no A/C and in the middle of August it was very hot. The Windows were not isolating from the main street so during the night we had some noise especially in the morning, this could be avoided with "new generation" windows.

Breakfast is included and fine also if I don't like the fridge with food where everyone should take what he likes. I prefer the traditional buffet with the food on tables

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great location, close to train station, beautiful view of the lake and across the street from the ferry stop. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with everything from restaurants to shopping to sightseeing. Our room was well appointed and very clean. Fun town and great place to stay for visiting the whole area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent four nights at the hotel :mother-daughter event. Very warm welcome from the owners and continued bonhomie throughout our stay. Every request of ours was dealt with promptly and with good humor. This is a three star hotel so don't expect five star comfort. The building is old but take the time to photograph it from outside -really lovely. Inside, the rooms were clean and spacious, bed comfortable, view over the lake superb, breakfast better than expected. The situation of the hotel leaves nothing to be desired - a few minutes walk from the train station, public transport right outside the door and boat terminal opposite the hotel, restaurants and shops easily accessible.Would highly recommend the hotel for people who appreciate personal and homely service.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

So easy to walk to from the train station. Location is splendid - on the waterfront. Staff very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast served in a lovely dining room with excellent coffee. Rooms are small but clean and well appointed. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the splendid for three nights and were extremely surprised by the superb service of the extremely friendly and attentive staff. Nice environment to relax opposite the lake Geneva our room had a balcony. The facilities are quite up to date, modern and clean, Located in perfect tranquil area in the city, the place is running by a family and you can feel this with the warm welcome ! we really enjoyed our stay and Montreux worth to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend spent at The Splendid and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting lovely lake views from large airy rooms at great value in the heart of Montreux. The welcome when we arrived, from one of the two brothers who run the hotel, was second to none, and nothing too much trouble. Great breakfast, friendly and accommodating staff and totally guest centred service. Free wifi throughout the hotel (faster than we have at home), no air con but very effective fans (it was 34 degrees and we were fine) and fantastically comfortable, adjustable, beds. It may not be the 5 star luxury of some of its competitors on the Riviera but for us it was great value, fantastic hospitality and a real find. We would return at the drop of a hat, and probably will.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a lakeside view (many have balconies as well) when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 52 Grand-Rue, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical, family-run Splendid hotel in Montreux was built in 1904 and offers panoramic views over Lake Geneva and free Wi-Fi in all of the spacious rooms. The lakeside rooms have their own terrace or balcony. Delicious Swiss and international cuisine is served in the restaurant and the café is a cosy place to relax.The Splendid hotel is Montreux's only 3-star hotel on the lakeside. The conference centre and the train station are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Montreux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.