We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best family owned and operated hotels is Montreux, Switzerland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Grand-Rue, Montreux 1820, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockwood, Michigan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best family owned and operated hotels is Montreux, Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This unique Splendid Hotel is a true experience of its name!
You are in a treat for one of the best and warmhearted people, and generation of family's passion in service and hospitality to be around and being taking cared of in charming Montreux, Switzerland.
Right in the center of the city, walk across the main street and your at one of the most magical sites on earth, facing Leman Lake.
Very clean and impeccably well maintained, it's Swiss pride!
Historical structure, excellent service and value.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    92
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
77
147
37
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel Splendid was one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Montreux. From its location, at the city center, to its service, everything was up to my expectations and was affordable. Believe me, it is the best place to look forward to after a long day of traveling and shopping. I have already recommended it to my friends and family. Thanks a lot Yvan! I hope to stay there again during my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrineholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I think the hotel is good value for Money. The internet on our floor did not work in the room and that was disapointing. I hear they are re building the wifi net work. Check that it has been done.
Brekfast was ok. Rooms not that homey but still ok. Rooms were clean and beds comfertabel and the staff was helpfull and friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for lake view and higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've done several business trips all over the world, but no trip can hold a candle to how incredible my experience with Hotel Splendid was. Upon my first visit there, the staff went above and beyond to ensure our happiness, the rooms were extremely clean, felt brand new and were very pleasurable. I previously stayed at the Riviera a block down and have to say I prefer Hotel Splendid. The food was way better at Hotel Splendid, too!

The owner of the establishment, Yvan Mayfair, is definitely someone you must meet. Once he found out we were from the United States he made sure we checked out the coolest sights in the area.

Hotel Splendid is next door to the Mayfair House, the best bar in the city. There's no cover, the atmosphere is perfect, and drinks are affordable.

The hotel is in the best spot of town, right down the street from the famous Freddy Mercury statue, next door to great restaurants, and just a 2 minute walk from the lake. The view is spectacular, unlike anything I've seen in the States.

I will definitely go back to Hotel Splendid next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We decided to stay one night at Montreux for the view. Hotels are pretty expensive. This one does not escape to the rule. Rooms are over-used, furnitures like first price in Ikea, hairs everywhere in the bathroom, old & noisy bed... Only the view convinced us to stay. And also Mme Haufman. She's just amazing. A great "souvenir".
Otherwise, breakfast was... poor. Nobody to serve, half a dozen plates in a fridge... No music in the breakfast room.
About rooms, the "new" ones were too modern for us. Toilet are directly in the room, with only half a wall 1meter high as "separation". It looks more like a bar or american kitchen lol. A kind of joke?
Otherwise, hotel very well-located to enjoy the lake view. And that's all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed the place with the family. Great view on the lake, very affordable price for a family and the owners who welcome you are very friendly and helpful. All the family really enjoyed Montreux!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This small hotel, operated by the minimum number of employees has an amazing view that you can never forget.
Its all in the view, forget about the moderate facilities, or the very poor breakfast that does not match a 3 stars hotel, but the city is a place that one must visit

But they have a nice bed with a control unit to control the bed like hospital beds

Room Tip: Higher floors are better like 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 52 Grand-Rue, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical, family-run Splendid hotel in Montreux was built in 1904 and offers panoramic views over Lake Geneva and free Wi-Fi in all of the spacious rooms. The lakeside rooms have their own terrace or balcony. Delicious Swiss and international cuisine is served in the restaurant and the café is a cosy place to relax.The Splendid hotel is Montreux's only 3-star hotel on the lakeside. The conference centre and the train station are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Montreux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.