We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, hotel so-so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux CH-1820 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Montreux
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, hotel so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is in excellent location if you arrive by train. Literally across the street from the station, so you won't walk more than 100 meters between train door and hotel entrance.
The hotel is, probably on purpose, kept in parts in early XX century deco. If you like it you will enjoy it.
I was not lucky and did not get the lake view room. But that I enjoyed from hotel-bar terasse. The elevator is as slow as the check out in the morning. The three receptionists + backup, could not cope with a handful of guests checking out at the same time. Other 4* hotels I was staying in worldwide work much more professinally. However again, maybe it's a part of the old style and last century ambience of the palce.
CHF 26 breakfast I did not have a pleasure (and time...) to try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    228
    71
    18
    14
See reviews for
105
236
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Beware booking this hotel. I booked 4 rooms for September and unfortunately had to cancel in early May. Even with 3 months notice for the peak season they refused to refund any of the room cost. Rather arrogant response and the impression given that they are "up themselves".

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clean, efficient, tastefully updated. The rooms are good quality with nice views over the lake on request. The bar is cold and functional but the staff try hard. The concierge services exist - but they have to be demanded and the welcome on arrival is not good. The restaurant food is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room. Book without breakfast - the cafe by the hotel (connected) offers much bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions in my time as a Continental Coach Tour Driver, the hotel is beautiful outside, as well as inside. On 3 occasions i was lucky enough to be given a lake view-which is totally wonderful, to have the sun beaming into your room as you prepare for the day is up-lifting, to say the least. The food is TOP CLASS!!...i have never ever thought otherwise!! The buffet breakfast display is a feast for the eyes-.....fresh bread....croissant, pan chocolate, fresh fruit salads, fresh cheeses, freshly sliced cold meats...salami etc, freshly squeezed orange juice, apple juice, pineapple juice......the choice is well presented and wonderful. You will not be dissapointed with your evening meal either-count on it!!! As a driver on Coach Tours, i was away most days at lunch time, so the staff insisted that i take some food with me for the day out-so to speak-that included wine and water, i drank the water!!! To be lucky enough to have a balcony several times was a great thing..... i used to sit on the balcony after i had finished driving for the day and before evening dinner, and drink a glass or 2 of the wine i had been given,(kept in the fridge onboard my coach), as i watched the paddle boats bring in and take away visits to the town.....people watching can be fun!! Even though i was lucky enough to stay free of charge in the hotel due to my work-i would have no hesitation at all to pay to stay at this wonderful old hotel......The views across the lake to France were fantastic....and please pay a visit to Chateaux de Chillon...(just down the lake a bit)!!....which is steeped in history and well worth a look-i promise!! The town is wonderful, but the surrounding areas are stupendous-take a look around, but if you go by coach-problem sorted-it is all done for you!!!!.....enjoy your stay at the hotel-i ALWAYS did. The long drive to get there made the arrival even more sweet to the eye...thank you, Hotel Suisse Majestic-i will return.

Room Tip: Ask at reception politely.......you might be lucky and get a Lake view room......so ask-no harm in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 3 young children December 2012 for 3 nights. We had a junior suite on the 2nd floor which was very comfortable and a fine size for our family. Large sofa bed for 2 of the children and crib for baby. The best thing about this hotel is the view of the alps and lake geneva from the balcony of our room and again the view when you are having breakfast is just spectacular. Breakfast was good for us as we like cooked and not just continental. Bacon, sausage, egg and the usual cereals, breads etc. The main reason we booked this hotel was for its location, train station on one side and the christmas market on the other side. Location couldnt have been more convenient for us and our room even overlooked the market stalls. We didnt really have any dealings with the staff as we ate out but for check-in etc i found them to be fine. The cleaning staff were excellent and every morning we would come back from breakfast to find our room spotless. Would love to come back to Montreuxs christmas market and stay in this hotel again if only to eat breakfast with that incredible view!

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed the Swisse Majestic in Montreux. After getting off train and 30 hours of travel it was a delight to my eyes and I was grateful that it was so close to the Montreux train station. Somehow once in the doors it far removed from the station. Check in was fast and efficient. Our rooms were very comfortable and the view of the lake was breathtaking. We stayed four nights just so we could acclaimate and get ourselves on Swiss time. The breakfast at the restaurant was very good and the view made it even better. The usual breakfast selections. Eggs, sausage, bacon, cereals, great fresh breads, fruits, yogurts. The restaurant for dinner was very good. The sole was excellent. Four of the 6 of us had the sole and enjoyed it. The servers were attentive and helpful with the wine selections. I think we would all be happy to return to Montreux and the Swisse Majestic.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Surely one of the best views from a hotel, anywhere. I didn't want to leave the room's balcony it was so stunning. And just over the road from the station which was perfect after a long journey. Lovely room, great service. Only criticism is the hugely overrated restaurant. Michelin rating for the view perhaps but not for the boring expensive food

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Address: Avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux CH-1820 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Majestic Grand Montreux
Hotel Suisse Majestic Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.