We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux CH-1820 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Montreux
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for a business trip and having seen the rates, I'd have been disappointed if I had paid so much for a leisure journey. I thought the hotel was perfectly adequate. It is literally across the street from the station, no more than 30 seconds walk and another sixty seconds on the opposite side to the main part of town so location is about as ideal as ideal gets. The restaurant was nice, the room a little small and bland for a double deluxe, it had a grande feel and service as perfectly fine but for the rates they charge, I'd consider somewhere else if it was my own money I was paying.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    226
    71
    18
    14
See reviews for
104
235
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was very excited about Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, because I heard wonderful reviews about the hotel. I booked 1 queen (or 2 twin beds) at the hotel, and I didn't know that my booking was for one occupancy only, which is my fault. Despite what the reservation said about the room size, they put us in a room with one full-size bed, which cannot fit in a family of three. I was charged additional 60 francs for staying at a queen size bed, which was the room I reserved. I think the price was steep!!

The room was small, and the service was less than three star. The staff was friendly, but not helpful. I called in-advance asking for a baby crib, which they said they will take care of it. When we arrived at the hotel, the crib was not in the room. We also asked for toothbrush, which hotels would deliver to the room, but they asked us to get it from the front desk. When we checked out, we were charged for breakfast which we didn't eat. The staff was nice to take it off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Cindelala,

We hope that you had a safe trip home and that you spent some good time in Switzerland.

We are very sorry that you didn’t experience the usual quality of service that our hotel delivers. If you travel in the region again in the future, we would be more than happy to welcome you and to show you our actual standards.

In the meantime, if there is anything we can do to make you change your mind regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself or Mr. Eric Meier, Sales & Marketing Coordinator (e.meier@suisse-majestic.ch).

We stay at your disposal for any further information or request and we wish you a very nice end of the year.

With our best regards,

Andrés Oppenheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you like to sleep in a moving bed, this is your hotel.
If you like to sleep in the toilet, because your bed moved, when you turned around at night, this is your hotel.
If you like to stay hungry and thirsty, again, this is your place.
If you like a lady from the bar to hang up the phone, when she previously screamed, that she does not serve tea in the room, then, again this is your hotel.
However, if you get very very very annoyed, and you had called room service, bar, 10 times each, and you decide to complain seriously, then after all the efforts, you will be regarded with cold tea, from the receptionist. (For which I thank the young boy, but one bird does not make a spring.) And in a normal 4 * hotel, this would never happen I believe?
At the end, I need to mention that there are some good things as details in design. Lovely curtains, lamps, and corridors.
Again to mention at the reception there is one very young boy and one girl, with long blond hair, who are very courteous, and try their best. However, then comes some kind of short-hair blond reception female, who destroys all done before with her unique rudeness.
I honestly advise any of you who value service quality, and his/her nerves not to spend their money on this hotel.

Room Tip: request a bed, without wheels. Or choose another hotel. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Galena G,

We are extremely sorry that you didn’t spend a good time at our hotel. As you have probably noticed through the many good comments that we have received on TripAdvisor, this is not the kind of quality of service that we usually deliver.

If there is anything we can do to make you change your mind regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself or Mr. Eric Meier, Sales & Marketing Coordinator (e.meier@suisse-majestic.ch).

We stay at your disposal for any further information or request and we wish you a very nice end of the year.

With our best regards,

Andrés Oppenheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Very conveniently located just across the road from the train station yet it boasts breath taking view of the lake. Rooms are very well appointed although a tad small. The restaurant served excellent French cuisine at a reasonable price. My favorite hotel in Switzerland this trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibizamotters
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Really enjoyed my one night stay in this hotel, the rooms are beautiful if a little strangely designed - the door opened up onto the bed almost, although there was space to put the bed a bit further over.

The best bit about the room was most definitely the large, beautiful bathroom, really stylish, clean and crisp. The only critical point I could make on the bathroom is the toiletries. Having just stayed in a Sofitel with the same brand range of toiletries, this hotel is a man's hotel - plenty of soap, two shampoos, no conditioner and no body lotion! I had plenty of toiletries so it didn't bother me and I'm pretty sure they would have provided them if asked, so not a real negative.

Lovely clean wooden floor too, no carpet which is great for me.

The reception staff were helpful - I needed an adaptor and also a second internet code so I could use my iphone and ipad., no problem, very helpful.

I had breakfast and this was the only reason for 4 stars not 5. The breakfast was good but lacking in choice. Good for me as I had lots of fresh fruit and birchers cereal, but if you like a full cooked breakfast you may be disappointed. Coffee was bland but if you ask they will make a fresh ground coffee for you.

Overall a very nice hotel, certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Chose this hotel for location (close to station which it was!) views of lake and overall ambiance. A very warm efficient welcome, security very good with key needed to access floors in lift, chose a lake view with WiFi and this was perfect for us. Bathroom was excellent which is very important to women! Grand staircase so easy to go down steps each day. Didn't use mini bar but it would have been good to have welcome water, tea/coffee maker but we appreciate it is a business and there was a cafe next door and supermarche across the road so no problem. Beds were a bit hard which is only reason I wouldn't give a 5 star rating. Didn't use bar or restaurant as very pricey but along the promenade down on the main road are lots of options including 'Paradise' fresh buffet all day catering to coach tours if you want to have a reasonable price meal. Free tram travel card given on arrival for duration given - nice!

Room Tip: splurge on lake view - gorgeous and tranquil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Checked in at the hotel on the 2nd November, and had a standard double room which was well decorated and with wooden floors, which just makes it so much more pleasant, also from a hygenic point of view. All the rooms at the hotel have recently been renovated.
The bathroom was not big, but well lighted which unfortunately you dont find in many hotels today.
Great breakfast in a restaurant which overlooks the lake, with also beautiful mountain scenery. I have seen numerous complains about the breakfast, but as a seasoned business traveller, I can state that the breakfast is perfect with also freshly squeezed orange juice.

Parking is easy as there is a public garage right in front of the hotel!

All in all, a great hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Address: Avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux CH-1820 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Majestic Grand Montreux
Hotel Suisse Majestic Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.